We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I chose this hotel based on reviews on trip advisor and I was so glad that I did. The hotel is typically Italian, certainly not a sterile 5 star establishment, it has all the charm of a family run hotel and the staff are excellent, so very friendly and helpful at any time of the day or night.

On arrival at the hotel after a very early start, I was slightly concerned with the hotel location as it seemed so far away from the centre of Sorrento and I was worried that we would have to spend a fortune on cabs into town every day, but I was soon proven wrong as the area of Marina Grande has excellent transport links as well as a well trodden path (if rather hard going on a bad day) into town. The local buses that run from Marina Grande are always on time and it is a short hop into the Piazza Sorrento. Me and my husband soon got into our stride of catching the bus into town and then walking back down at the end of the day or evening. The buses also take you directly to the station where you can catch the buses or trains to Amalfi, Positano, Naples and Pompei.

Marina Grande itself is full of charm and has a number of excellent bars and restaurants, take particular note of the Azurro restaurant where the mussels are to die for and the small fisherman owned restaurant where the sardines cannot be beaten. The friendliness of the local people is awe inspiring and within a day me and my husband where treated as regulars, to the extent that on the day we got soaked in a thunderstorm, we were ushered into the fisherman's restaurant and provided with coffee and towels in order to dry off and warm up. They even offered to drive us to our hotel - how amazing is that.

We absolutely loved our stay in Sorrento and we are already talking about a return visit next year - and we will most definately be staying at the Hotel Del Mare.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

How nice of you to proffer such overwhelming review about your overall experience at the Hotel del Mare and Marina Grande, thank you. We can’t wait to receive your dates for next year, we’ll be thrilled to welcome you once more. On behalf of everyone here please accept our ‘Arrivederci’ until then
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The great advantage of this hotel is its location - literally a stone's throw from the Marina Grande. It's lovely to wander down there at any time of the day and be in a genuine fisherman's village. The great disadvantage of this hotel is also its location - all the shops are found in the town, along with the train station and departure points for Capri and excursions. Sometimes we walked to the town - a romantic walk up steps and through small alleys - but this is not always suitable.

The staff of the hotel were wonderful and were always helpful. They booked excursions and taxis in the morning and made tea and sandwiches in the evening. The staff in the breakfast room were also very helpful: not eating meat, I found it very off-putting to have cheese placed in the same container as ham. After a quick word with the catering manager explaining the problem, I was served every morning with a special plate of cheese along with scrambled eggs.

There is free wifi; connecting with a computer was slightly problematic (but the connection was good, once made), but this defeated our attempts to connect with a smartphone.

We had a room with a balcony not facing the sea; a sea view costs 10 euro/night extra and probably isn't worth it. I'm not sure that the balcony was worth the extra cost either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words you have had for Marina Grande and our hotel.
We take in serious consideration all our guests reviews, we try to improve ourselves listening to what our guests may suggest.
Arrivederci
Kind regards
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This lovely little jewel of a hotel as always delivers wonderful service.We have stayed in many hotels in Sorrento over many years,a lot of the more prestigious ones,but this hotel always comes top of our list.Many hotels may provide more facilities but they cannot compete with the personal service and charm that Gianni and all his staff continue to provide.Its always spotlessly clean and the buffet breakfast is all you need to set you up for the day.Away from the noise and bustle of main town the Marina Grande is the perfect place to unwind. As always, highly recommended!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moron2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I am just speechless, thank you. Look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Arrivederci
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

What a great little hotel down on the Marina Grande(only beach area in Sorrento), away from the main busy part of Sorrento but only a 1.30€ bus ride to the main area of Sorrento.
We were lucky enought to get the best room in the Hotel on the top floor with views over the Marina and Versevius.
Rooms are not huge but good value, staff are excellent and very helpful.
Breakfast is all you could want, any type of eggs were available if requested, meats,pastries and cereals as well as fruit were available.
Area is great like being in a small village, with many restaurants, right on the Marina & beach.
We would stay here again in a minute.
Great little family run hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToPPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you very much. Your honest, personal opinion will enlighten other visitors by giving them a trustworthy account of what can be expected when visiting this area.
Kind regards
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

it is located in the smaller port on the south end of Amalfi. 20 meters and you are on the small beach where you can rent umbrella & chair or use your own towel for free. On this small sea front you have many restaurants, a mini market, a tabacchi. HOtel has a roof top where you can sunbath, sit, admire the view on the vesuvio. There is a street passing by the entrance of the hotel but it is not very busy so no problem with the traffic sound. To reach it from the port of Sorrento by foot is feasable if you are willing to climb up 150 steep steps and then walk for another 20 minutes. Best option is to get to Piazza Tasso (little busses take you there for 1.20 euro) and then from Piazza tasso you catch another bus to Marina Grande (around 2 every hour). If you walk there the coastal road will lead you through fancy hotels and finally to a descent where the locals live. Wi-fi works well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tajikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you very much . Your description is clear and full of details, surely very accurate for those people who are not familiar with the area. Please come and see us again, should you ever plan to come here in the future.
Kind regards
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We read favorable reviews before booking this hotel for our last 4 nights of a two week "first time to Italy" trip. Unfortunately, our experience was definitely NOT favorable. The room we were given did not facilitate 4 people so we had to get a different room with (of course) a higher rate! We were charged for extra towels. We had chosen the "including breakfast" option throughout our trip and the Hotel Del Mare's version of breakfast was extremely lacking. Probably the worst experience was when we requested the schedule for the ferry to Almafi and for a taxi to pick us up. We got up early, paid for the taxi, only to find out at the ticket counter that the only ferry that day was 3 hours later than the hotel had told us. So we paid for a second taxi back to the hotel and then a third taxi 3 hours later to catch the ferry. When we let them that the time was incorrect so they could change in their data so not to misinform others all they said was is that it's not our fault over and over. Not once did the say that they were sorry for our inconvenience or offer to pay for one of the additional taxis. All in all, I can say that Mairianna at the front desk was helpful and friendly (the only one who was) and that the rooftop terrace was nice - otherwise, our stay at the Hotel Del Mare was a disappointment.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Lezlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your review whose content is very unfair and lacks of many other aspects which you have omitted and we would like to put right.
The room you booked was a standard room, we gave you a balcony room without a supplement, you were not happy and we upgraded to our best sea view room; all our four bedded rooms are the same size. This particular room, obviously, was more expensive and a supplement was due. It is not true that we charge for extra towels, beach towels are the only towels we ask a small charge for of € 1.50 for beach use only. It is very unfair and offensive that you should blame us for a mistake in the local magazine which showed a wrong departure time for Amalfi . This was clearly explained to you , you saw that the timetable was wrong, you just did not want to listen , you simply denied the evidence, so why should we be blamed for somebody else’s mistake ? Nonetheless, you keep accusing us of wrong information. This is intolerable.
Regarding our breakfast we can only ask you to read other guest’s reviews.
On the brighter side we are happy you found Marianna and the roof top to your liking.
We are also disappointed with your comments because they are most unfair and untrue.
Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel located at marina grande... The rooms are small but clean.. The shower cabin is terribly tiny ... but overall the service is very good and the staff very polite and helpful.. The main market is 10 minutes away and if you plan to go to Capri, this is the ideal place to stay...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talwardivya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for your honest review, we are very grateful to you for your overall impressions. We shall be delighted to welcome you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.2 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £98 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing