We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My sister and I stayed for a week in June at this wonderful hotel. The hotel was a joy to stay in. It looks fairly modern on the outside but inside is quite traditional. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, from when we arrived at the reception desk we were made to feel very welcome. All the waiters in the dining room were friendly and efficient, no hanging about to be served with food or drinks, Pepe the head waiter was lovely, he walked you to your table and welcomed everyone with a hand shake and an enquiry as to how your day had been. The food was excellent, you always had a really good choice, breakfast and lunch were buffet style but dinner at night was waiter service. The room we stayed in was on the front, first floor above the main entrance, it was very clean and the towels and bedding was changed regularly. Ok we didn't have a sea view but we'd sit on the balcony(drink in hand) and people watch as families on a motor scooter went up and down the main road, the whole family including children and dogs!!! Plus all the pedestrians trying to walk up and down the road trying to avoid the traffic, it isn't easy, we walked down into town a couple of times and it's like playing chicken. Then we found the path you can take to avoid the road, if you go out of the hotel and turn right just past the courtyard there is a path to the right going up the hillside, follow it until you get to the fork and take the left path- it is sign posted at the top to Sorrento.
We enjoyed it so much, my sister had not been to Sorrento before and we didn't get to see and do everything we wanted, so we have booked to go back next year to the Atlantic Palace and we can't wait.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,389)
There are newer reviews for Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here for the last week of the summer holidays with my two children, aged 12 and 17 and we all had the best time. I have never done an all inclusive before but was more than happy. There was always plenty of food, breakfast was help yourself from fruit to cheeses and ham to a cooked breakfast, lunch was buffet of pizza, salad and meats and then a waiter 3 course evening meal. The children had loads of choice. The rooms cleaned daily to a high standard. The waiters were great and always helpful making a fuss of everyone. Wifi was only in the bar and reception so the teenagers had to go there to connect. The pool is small but sunbeds and space was not a problem, bearing in mind I went the last week of the holidays. I never had a problem with booking the shuttle bus and the driver was lovely. We walked a lot and found a walk into Sorrento going round the back of the hotel and also the cove a short walk away. The road is busy and looks a lot worse than it is due to the Italian driving! All the staff were helpful and cheerful, from the poolside cafe to reception to waiters to the shuttle driver. Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoneage_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay with Thomas cook on an all inclusive basis at the Hotel Atlantic Palace. The hotel is about an hour and half from Naples AIrport. The hotel is situated on a busy road but it does state this in the description and it is out of Sorrento town but again we new this before booking. The hotel runs a shuttle bus and there was 10 of us staying as a group and we never had a problem booking this, we found it very useful especially having four children in the group and not wanting to risk walking on the busy Italian roads ! Our room was at the front of the hotel - room was large but we had a double bed and two single beds in there. The room was kept very clean. Double bed was comfortable but the single beds were rock solid. The walls are so thin that you could hear people snoring and having a conversation like they were in the room with you ! Food was not great not Italian at all, awful packet scramble egg and greasy bacon for breakfast and little frankfurter sausages that sometimes ended up on the pizzas at lunch ! Bread was stale. Lunch was better as they had a grill on and fresh pizzas - the grill had prawns, lamp chops and sword fish. Salads were ok but same every time. Dinner was waiter service and was hit and miss - omelette was always good and you can ask for one at breakfast. You would often see the food again the next day reused. spirits were in brand bottles but they definitely refilled with cheaper brands. We think they did this with the coca cola, fanta and sprite it never tasted the same as when we went out for drinks. We went out for dinner a couple of times to taste the lovely Italian food that you come to Italy for ! Staff were lovely and very helpful the pool barman Catello was very friendly as we're the waiters and reception/managers. Would recommend you go to the sister hotel Hotel Conca Azzurra - the bus takes you there - it is down a windy road but they have three pools that are salt water and a beach it was like going back in time, we all really enjoyed it as the hotel pool can be very busy at the hotel atlantic. Children still really enjoyed it there though and we never had a problem getting a sun lounger - perhaps this was because we went the last week of the school holidays. Also go up onto the roof terrace it has amazing views of mount Vesuvius - really lovely watching the sunset with a glass of wine.

Don't want to put anybody off going - you just get what you pay for - we had a lovely holiday :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBurksfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We traveled to the Atlantic Palace with Thompson as an all-inclusive package flying in to Naples, please be aware that the transfer says approx. 1.5 hours however the roads are so small and congested at busy times it takes longer (inwards ours was 2.5 hours after landing around mid day) but a lovely coast line to see once your through the not so glamorous industrial airport area.

Sorrento is located on top of some cliffs and has stunning views, there are two main “beach” areas one linked to the port. These can be reached from the town area by a road or steps in to Marina Grand (the smaller – fishing village style port) or to Marina Piccolo by a lift, road or steps t (attached to the large port where the ferries and boat trips depart) “beach” is an Italian word for you can get in the sea here, yes there are a few pebble, rough sand areas but very view most “beach” areas are wooden platforms/ piers where they have lots of sunbeds and deck chairs these are all chargeable. These were all very busy but we was there in high season, the better option we found was to go to Sea Club which is a sister hotel to the Atlantic Palace, here you have the options of the Sun Loungers but also three swimming pools and two areas to get in to the sea, The complimentary hotel shuttle bus takes you door to door at no charge (just book it the day before at reception).

The shuttle bus became most useful to us, as the location of the hotel is not in the heart of Sorrento, some 15 to 20 minutes walk (up hill on the way home!) and its not the distance nor the hill it is part of the route has no foot path and whilst we did walk the route and drivers in the main were aware of us it’s tight bends do make the walk a bit nerve racking – so the shuttle bus is well worth booking.

The orange and blue local buses also stop right out side the hotel and pick up just along from where the shuttle bus drops you off, you have to purchase tickets in advance before traveling and then validate them on the bus in the machine. Tickets can be purchased from the shop or bar up the road (out of the hotel turn left – walk up the road and the bar is on the left after the garage and the shop is opposite the bar down a small road – this small road leads down to a roman villa and a rocky area that is also called a beach) the bus tickets were 2.50euros each way per person and were orange in colour, confusingly the locals can buy the same ticket that is blue for 1.25 euros per person – buses were busy but your only on them a few minutes. The same ticket takes you right through the middle of Sorrento and to the train or bus station.

We went to the train station to get the train to Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius – bought tickets at the station from the little shop and paid about 2euros each way per person to go to Pompeii Scavi (rather than doing the Thompson tour) it was so easy – the train starts from Sorrento so is empty and we got seats no problem, it was a bit like the underground in London lots of stops and lots of time with the train cutting through tunnels so not excessively hot although not air conditioned.

On arriving at the station in Pompeii you exit the station and the entrance is right in front of you to enter Pompeii – we turned left and there was a stand selling guided tours for 2 hours, this worked out to be great value (12 euro each per adult and kids free – excluding the entrance fee to get in that was 11 euro each) as it was so hot is was well worth seeing the best bits in a short time and also the guide ticket queue was a lot less than the other lines. Pompeii was well worth seeing.

We chose to return another day and take the 4 x 4 bus to Vesuvius – again we took the train to Pompeii and turned left and the same company sells trips for 12euors adults. You wait opposite against the Pompeii wall and a coach collects you and takes you to like a base camp on the edge of the national park, these coach’s go every hour on the hour and were very full but again only for a few minutes whilst a guide explains in Italian and in English about the trip. We swapped on to the 4x4 (A team style buses) and headed up the volcano, they park with about a 15 to 20 minute hill to climb on gravel with amazing views – we had 1.5 hours at the top and enjoyed the pack lunch the Atlantic Palace had made for us on top of the world it felt.

We did a day cruise from the Harbor to swim off the rocks in Capri, and then visit Possitano (the boat goes on to Amalfi should you wish to stay on) but we loved this tiny fishing port and the children enjoyed the beach here. Again we booked this direct with the operator cost 28euros per adult and was a full day out, just take the shuttle bus to town and then use the lift down and turn right to the port.

We went to Capri on the fast Ferry, it is advisable to book in advance as we was limited to the times to travel when we booked on the day. Capri is for the rich and famous and the price tags go with it! If I returned I perhaps wouldn’t bother but if advising a first time traveler it may be worth doing the Thompson excursion as the queues were massive to use the cliff railway to get you to the top – we walked but this isn’t advisable if your not feeling like a session at the gym!
In the evening Sorrentos historic area of the little roads with shops and bars has a lovely feel and by the Cathedral street artists give it a Covent Garden feel.

The highlight of the holiday was the hotel, it’s people and food. Yes it’s quite old fashioned, yes the pool is fairly small, yes there was no entertainment for the children, yes it’s not the best of locations however they seem to have looked at these and made up for it with service- service was top notch – especially Pepe who runs the restaurants – he runs his area with charm but top efficiency and when he says anything you would like just ask he means it.
(Special mention to Lello – great waiter). The bed could of been more comfortable.

At the pool bar Catello serves Peroni on tap, and takes pride in his area even freezing wine glasses down to ensure they are cold. He is help full and a really nice guy.

Chef Alfonso offers a great variety of food cooked to a good standard and the evening meals are restaurant style (not buffet) with plenty of choice on the menu plus all the salads etc you won’t go hungry – they make pizza every day from scratch and taste amazing.
All the drinks were named brands not local replicas and the local Lemonchelo is a must to try.

We had a great time in Sorrento – great people – great food – great Atlantic Palace

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing the road have a great view over the bay
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

everything about this hotel was brilliant. pepe, the head waiter made a 'fuss' of each individual. we stayed here in may 2013 for 2 weeks on all inclusive. would certainly go back.
davies family ,south wales

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brianandruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel was exactly as described in the brochure - it is on a very busy road and there is no footpath so you take your life in your hands if you attempt the walk into Sorrento. The hotel is very clean and the staff treat you very well. However there are a few things that let this hotel down:
The walls are paper thin and you can hear above, below and next door. The mattresses are very hard (there were 10 of us in our party in three different rooms and all were the same). The food was a real let down, the same buffet is put out every evening and then you get a choice of menu to order. Sometimes it was ok but most of the time it wasnt even as described! (veal that was really pork!). The pasta dishes were OK. Lunchtime was usually better - they had a pizza oven and grill were they cooked fresh chicken and fish in front of you, this was the best meal of the day its a shame this wasnt the evening meal. Breakfast was watery scrambled egg, dodgy beans, little frankfurters and greasy bacon, stale bread which was very disappointing. We decided to eat out twice and the meals were amazing.
As others have said the pool is quite small for the size of hotel and can get overcrowded at times.

If you are going to stay in this hotel - highly recommend trying to find the little cove which is a little way down the hill turning left outside the front of the hotel. It is a steep climb down and worse back up but so worth it - it is surrounding by rocks and Roman ruins and there is a little arch were you can swim out into the open sea. Another must is a visit to the sister hotel and beach which is like stepping back in time, with 2 large salt water pools and steps into the sea and lovely rock pools, also fantastic views to Capri. The staff in the hotel are very accommodating and are very attentive, its a shame their hard work goes to waste when they are serving such awful food.
However as we paid only £2000 for a weeks all inclusive in the school holidays this was still very good value holiday and we had a lovely holiday and i believe this hotel is being updated so if they put up prices without improving the food then it would not be such good value.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floor front rooms have amazing views of vesuvius
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPS2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a wondereful family of four 2 weeks all inclusive break at the Atlantic Palace. Staff excellent, especially Pepe the head waiter. Hotel clean with comfy beds and a must air conditioning. We will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#19 of 100 in Sorrento
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace

Address: Via Capo 76, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £132 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Palace Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing