We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Atlantic Palace is a good, clean, well run, hotel with excellent staff making it a good base for visiting the Amalfi coast treasures.
Meals are varied and plentiful (too much sometimes) and of a high quality. At lunch time freshly made pizza was a particular delight.
We were exceptionally lucky to have a room on the top floor of the annex which allowed us great views, all day sunshine and, not just a balcony, but a terrace with our own sunbeds!
Despite the lack of a footpath for the first 200 yards of the walk into Sorrento, if you kept to the left we found no problems. The added bonus for walking is the fantastic view of the bay also the Marina Piccola and its fishing boats.
Without doubt if/when we return we will again stay at the Atlantic Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    302
    79
    40
    27
See reviews for
170
869
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After our recent stay at the Atlantic Palace. I Must say the two best things was the food / drink, and also the staff.

We stayed as all inclusive guests, and like I say the staff were great, they couldn't do enough for you. If you didn't like any of the food on offer you could just order with the waiter, and they wood do all they could to make you happy. They do like the male guests to wear long trousers at the evening meal.

The room we had was on the 3rd floor, we paid extra for a sea view, but it was not worth paying for, you could hardly see the sea, also the sun didn't get around till almost sunset. However the room was lovely, clean, and the bed really comfy.

The hotel has a shuttle bus down the hill into Sorrento, but you must book it at reception, however there is a local bus that runs every 20 mins from right outside the hotel. You must buy the tickets before you get on the bus at the hotel reception, and authenticate it, in the machine on the bus.

We would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TonySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunfermline
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a good hotel as a base to see Sorrento and Amalfi coast.I would say this hotel is suited mainly for British holiday maker's as opposed to American or Euro'sWe arrived at 11pm and the waiting staff were waiting to serve us food in the restaurant which was a good touch after our flight and transfer.The rooms are standard with twin beds small balcony our's looked out to the road and bay but could not see bay for trees on other side of road (1st floor of annex building).The safe is free to use.T.V. has bbc world in English.The restaurant at breakfast is standard usual streaky bacon,sausage ,beans,scrambled/boiled egg's cereal, salad and pastries and fruit,you can get the chef to make you an ommlette to order.There is also a fresh orange machine where you put the oranges in an get pure juice out.The coffee is not good a bit black tarry and never piping hot ,you may want to take some sachet's with you. The lunches are better with fresh pizza maid all the time and to order if you ask, bbq sausage,chicken etc salad's,fish,pasta,chips,and 8 different flavours of home made ice cream and cakes.In the evening dinner starts at 7pm till late there is a salad bar then waiter asks your choice of starter and main meal then you help yourself to sweets.You order drinks from waiter at meals if you order wine you get the bottle to drink.You will be greeted by Pepe at meal time and he strut's up and down hall shoulder's back patroling dining room and is very friendly.Never had a problem with sun beds at pool as a lot of people go out sightseeing.The pool bar was good as was the "barman " very nice man.Beer ,tea,coffee and ice cream served here.There is also beds on top of hotel roof top for a bit of peace and quiet.The main bar serves some brands e.g. Smirnoff,pernod,martini,campari most other spirits are local brands.The hotel has a coutesy bus but this can be fully booked at popular times,the driver gets 2 euro per couple if you book the bus after 8pm there and back.The walk into Sorrento takes 20 mins but the fist 9 mins there is no pavement and you have to walk in single file.On trip's out we got bus in town to Amalfi and it was 6.80 return each.Train to Pompei was 4.20 return and 11.90 entry.The boat to Capri was 27 euro return.Be very very aware if you go to Naples for pickpockets and people wishing to "help you".I would use this hotel again as it's how to visit Italy on a budget with the A.I. set up.It is not a big distance from Naples but the coast roads are quite narrow and takes time as does the trip to Amalfi as it is narrow coast road all the way but quite something to see.I found all staff to be freindly and answered all questions asked.Any questions feel free to email

Room Tip: annex seemed quietish to me (small block)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Billymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have just spent a week here with my family for a wedding.
In a nutshell - Don't go, don't book with First Choice.
We arrived late at night on the 23rd May to be met by a very rude manager. We emailed in advance requesting a cot to be in the room, in which the hotel acknowledged. The duty manager said "I get you a cot in the morning. - after a heated discussion he agreed to provide us with it that night. We then arrived in the room to find TUI UK (First Choice) had passed on the wrong information to the hotel and had to share beds till the next day. We also were told by TUI that one room was different, this wasn't the case. After getting to sleep we were woken to rather loud building works, TUI never told us about them before going. We complaint to the TUI rep who told us TUI didn't know about it, but 2 days later the male rep (outstanding) advised TUI had signed them off - so poor service from TUI. Back to the hotel the bar and restaurant staff are a credit to the hotel and are the only thing that put a smile on our faces. Federico was so pleasant and helpful - fantastic at his job. The reception staff could smile a wee bit, make it warm and inviting for guests. The shuttle bus into town is ok, taxi us about €15-€20 so book the bus. The walk the rep would advise you is ok but we ended up walking down the road heading kl to the traffic and was safe. The hotel has little for children to do other than the pool, a park or something would be gd. The food in the hotel us ok but I would rather stay in another hotel and eat out with a better choice. Drinks are ok, don't ask for a cocktail - unless the hotel send their staff on a course. The bar area is nice, restaurant is to Italian standards and the rooms - redecorated ???.... Patched up with a fresh lick of paint and a few pictures would sum that up. To add to out experience we bought a trip to Pompii and Mount Vesuvius by the female rep from TUI, didn't tell us it wasn't suitable for a pram or children. TUI pathetic service (other than Carl) which unfortunately has had an impact on the review we give if this hotel as we booked with them. Won't be back in a hurry £120 more and I would happily stay at the Azzuro hotel opposite end of Sorrento. This is my experience but having travelled all over the world my standards and experience might be different to others. Just end in saying don't expect a high standard - you won't get it (other than friendliness from the hotel staff - priceless).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went to the atlantica in August 2013 we travelled as a family one 15 year old and an 11 year old. Two adults .I have travelled to sorrento on two other occasions and stayed at other 4star hotels . Luckily we only ever intended to use this hotel as a base as we were sightseeing . On arrival the entrance had a rather dirty mat and ash trays overflowing. . The stairs looked as though they needed cleaning (I did tell them this and someone promptly began hoovering ) not something a guest arriving should have to do ! Our room was small very dated with one bed poking out beyond the French doors . I have read that the hotel has had a make over ,I hope so . Other areas were ok but not in my opinion 4star . The food was fine and varied ,pool area small ,but we only used it twice as we were out sightseeing it was clean . The worst area were the hotel loos ! One basin with Tap out of order and paper on floor and not to clean , we went back to our room if we needed the loo while downstairs . The staff were helpful ,Sorrento is lovely lots of small streets called Drains ! To wander around and the hotel did provide a bus in during the day ., and at night . Sorrento buzzes with life and the views are amazing . August is hot for sightseeing when we went in May it was quieter and cooler. Pompeii was loved by all our guide Peppi was wonderful take water and a hat there is no shade . Also. If you are a pensioner or child take a passport most sights let you in free or a reduced price.we took the trip to Capri a lovely day out and we took the opportunity to wander on our own, in the afternoon we took an optional boat trip around the island the views from the boat were lovely well worth the money especially on a hot day .. The day in Rome is long but it gives you a taste of the eternal city . you could either visit the Vatican wich we had done before or Trevi fountain ,Spanish steps and wander back . There was a chance also to visit the colloseum. .every one enjoyed the day . We did spend one day down on the sister hotels beach it was ok don't expect fab beach ,the day was restful and again the views getting there amazing ! The whole family enjoyed the holiday sorrento is well worth a visit with older children who can appreciate its history . No I won't be back to this hotel Yes I will visit sorrento again .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is ok and staff are very friendly and helpful I felt that it is a victim of its very high trip adviser ratings I was expecting a very high standard . The food was adequate but average and the beds were very hard the staff were an asset to the hotel and the waiter service was good .The overall impression was if you don't expect too much you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and well kept, rooms cleaned daily.

The Restaurant staff are great and Pepe runs a very tight ship! The food was excellent with menu service in the evenings. There is a wine list to choose from on the all inclusive and they do lovely ice creams if you ask. We enjoyed every meal but fussy eaters or children may struggle.

The bar staff are great and the choice of drinks extensive, but the bar gets very busy in the evenings and there is often a long que.

It was a little disappointing that the renovation work had not been completed as we were told it would be when we booked it. They are building hot tubs and what looks like a bar and terrace area.

The pool area has limited space and it is a shame that the terraces on the 3rd -4th floors don't have a bar as the views from there are stunning!

The hotel overall is a good base to explore the area and the walk into Sorrento is not as bad as other reviewers have stated.

The rooms are noisy and I would advise a room on the 2nd floor up. We were on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel and did not find the road noise a problem.

The trips through the rep are expensive and it is very easy to do them yourselves. Pompeii was only 4 euros return on the train and the station is right outside!

The reception staff could be better and were on a few occasions unhelpful.
We were lucky to make our flight on the way home as the receptionist sent our transport away!

We would return to Sorrento but would stay in the town next time.


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tripper1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
3.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace

Property: Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
Address: Via Capo 76, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Palace Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing