We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good All Inclusive Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 for 11 nights at the Atlantic Palace on an 'All Inclusive' basis in June 2014.

Location:

The hotel is located above Sorrento next to a busy road without any pavements. It has a roof terrace with fantastic views across the Bay of Napes to Mount Vesuvius. I would not recommend walking into Sorrento from the hotel due to the busy road. We used the 'free' hotel shuttle bus to get back and forth to Sorrento (but 1 euro return after 8 p.m.) as it has a regular timetable. The shuttle bus does start running until 9 a.m. (which is too late if you are going away for the day on your own trip). It is best to book the hotel shuttle a day in advance at reception. The local buses stop outside the hotel, but are unreliable, infrequent and overcrowded (bus tickets can be bought at reception).

Hotel:

The hotel is clean, comfortable and airy, with friendly helpful staff who all speak excellent English. There is free Wi-Fi in the hotel which was a real bonus. Before travelling we emailed the hotel and asked for and were given a room at the rear of the hotel, which cut down on the amount of road noise at night. The room was of a good size with comfortable beds, a bath with a shower above which had good water pressure. There was a free safe, a small fridge and a flat screen TV, which only had the BBC World Service in English. The only issue with the room was with the air conditioning not working and taking 3 days to sort out, which was not ideal in temperatures of 30 degrees+. There is a small pool at the side of the hotel, with a pool bar, sun loungers and seating area next to the bar. There is also a grassed area behind the pool with sun beds and hot tubs (which we did not use).

Food and Drink:

The food and drink at the hotel was excellent.

Breakfast - a hot and cold buffet with an extensive choise of cereals, fruit, bread, pastries streaky bacon, eggs and continental sausages. There was also a juicing machine which squeezed fresh oranges. Coffee and tea was served at the table (the coffee was very strong and we diluted it with hot water from an urn).

Lunch - a hot and cold buffet served outside, plus a BBQ (meat and fish) and wood fired pizza oven (chef will make pizzas to order for you if you ask him).

Dinner - a buffet starter, plus another 3 courses served by the waiters at your table.

Drinks - At dinner you get a wine list with a choice of 5 red, 5 white and 2 rose wines by the bottle, which are included in the 'All Inclusive'. The local wines, beers and spirits (branded and non branded) served at the two bars are of a good quality and there was also a choice of cocktails.

Overall this was a good 'All Inclusive' hotel, with friendly helpful staff and I would happily return (just for the pizza at lunch time if nothing else!). The vast majority of the guests were British and of all ages.

The only issue we had was with young children being allowed to run wild in the lounge bar from before dinner until after 11 p.m. at night. It was rather annoying and drove us back to our room early a few nights for a peaceful drink on the balcony!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really not what I expected as a friend and a cousin stopped there last year, and gave it good remarks. Firstly when we were booking we were concerned about the suitability of the hotel for my disabled wife. The travel agent kindly phoned the hotel, she was told it would be fine as all rooms have a shower and lift to all floors. So imagine our disappointment when we discovered we were booked in the annex. However thinking this is where the disabled rooms were we went along up the hill to our room. When we got there we found we are on the second floor near the end of the corridor room 515. We could not get any further away from the amenities and a shower over a bath. So I went back to reception to be told by a very unfriendly person that there are no disabled rooms in the hotel and as we were booked in a room with no balcony we would have to upgrade to get in to the main building but he said with glee we are fully booked so we would have to stay in the room. When I informed him how my wife would have to struggle he just shrugged his shoulders.
So we made the best of it, not sure what other Trip advisors are used to but we found the food bland, poorly prepared and very samey, as most other guest were saying. Two examples, I asked for the Hake one evening to be served what would best described as two undercooked battered fish fingers; that when you pressed the fork on oil seeped out. I left it and returned to the salad bar. Another night I asked for calves’ liver, I got lambs liver in a stodgy Chinese looking curry sauce that tasted of olive oil and pepper. I asked what the sauce was to Peppe, the so called head waiter “I don’t know the chef cooked it, it’s OK good” and walked away before I could say anything. Breakfast was very poor, same thing every day. Cooked breakfast was watery scrambled egg, chopped up hot dog sausages, very fatty badly cooked bacon and baked beans. You could ask for an omelette but this was only asked for once as it took so long to cook.
Lunch was probably the best meal, but again always the same. Pizza, BBQ fish, sausage, chicken wings but once we had prawns. The only potatoes on offer were chips. You also had a selection of
salad and cold pasta once the flies had taken off.
Entertainment on the first night was quite good, the guy on the second night was awful, he was just as bad the next night and the following night in fact he was bad all week he was the only choice as he worked every night. No one danced or clapped when he finished a song.
Gala night was the same as every other night except we were forced to sit outside to eat but we did get the same singer outside this time (just as bad).
The pool was very small and on the first floor and dangerous with unmarked steps, several people tripped on these. There drain cover in the pool was off most of the week, There was also building work in progress for a new spa and in the garden where they were building a seating area and kitchen because this is where they are going to serve lunch in the future, this also is up two flights of uneven steps.
This hotel has got a lot to learn, definitely not for those that have an issue with walking.

Room Tip: No disabled facilities, despite being told there was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Folkestonepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

an absolutely fantastic experience at a lovely hotel, the food was excellent and top quality and exstensive, lunch was like a feast a choice of wine or prosecco by the bottle to accompany any meal, and all other drinks were of good quality, the staff were excellent and very attentive but not intrusive. the hotel rooms were modern and cleaned daily the pool area and Jacuzzi area were clean and well maintained and caletto who runs the bar was brilliant and a good laugh sorry to have left just before the opening of the new garden area, but have a sneaky feeling we will see it in the future thanks again to every one at the palace for a great stay, Tina and Les

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank christina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel we were informed had been refurbished this year.
The rooms were very nice but lacked tea/coffee making facilities which is nice to have although we did manage to get a kettle with 2 plastic cups that were dirty we did borrow cups from the bar it would be nice for all hotels to put this in all rooms.
The mattresses on the beds were very lumpy and you would have thought that they would replace them as part of a refit also badly stained.
the hotel in its self was very nice and the food was good with your main meal and starters being cooked fresh for you which meant that the food was nice and hot you had a different menu every nite so the choice was very good.
The entertainment was a bit boring as it was the same person every night.
we did 2 excursions mount Vesuvius and Pompeii and Herculaneum which were both brilliant and the guides with us were excellent on the hole a lovely holiday.
PS the Staff were very good as well

Room Tip: We were in a back room looking at wall and patio with garden above wall with jacuzzi s was quite but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked this hotel on an all inclusive package via Thomas Cook and having been impressed by the reviews on here. This is not a hotel we would return to as there are too many downsides. Firstly, this is not a 4 star hotel in our experience. We knew the hotel was undergoing a refurb and they have completed a modern and pleasant bar area plus an excellent raised grass terrace with plenty of sunbeds, three large spa baths and views across the Bay of Naples and to Vesuvius. We assumed the bedrooms hadn’t been done yet but were surprised to learn they had. The rooms are quite old fashioned with cheap furniture and only modest storage. The bathrooms are old with fittings well past their sell by date. Not up to 4 star standard at all. Thin towels, cheap soap – nothing that we would consider the norm these days and certainly nowhere near the standard of the budget hotel (Hamptons) we used the night before we flew at Gatwick. The cleanliness of the room was excellent. The hotel is very noisy, not helped by thin walls and tiled floors. We had a room on the 2nd floor at the front so heard plenty from our neighbours and the rooms beneath and above us. There is a very noisy (although entertaining to watch typical Italian driving!) road at the front of the hotel. We could just about see the sea through the trees opposite. Rooms at the back had no view and any room on the 1st floor would have added noise being directly above the bar and restaurant. Front and third floor would be the best choice.
Breakfast was ok – a limited hot selection and no egg station as is the norm in other hotels – although I am sure the excellent Pepe and his team would ask the kitchen to prepare something if asked but that’s not quite good enough. Plenty of cold meats and pastries. Lunch was excellent – pizza from the woodfired oven, a BBQ, plenty of salad, buffet style hot meats and fish. Dinner was fine. A first course of salad from a large buffet selection followed by two courses from a menu that changed every night – typically pasta or soup followed by fish or meat. Some very good dishes here – others so so. A reasonable selection of deserts although no Italian classics like panna cotta or tiramisu.
Front desk staff were great when we needed a doctor but in the week we were there were unable to get the safe fixed and it seems we were not the only ones with this problem.
The location of the hotel means that some forward planning is required to get into Sorrento. It’s a 25 minute walk along a busy road or the reception desk will sell you bus tickets for the local bus which stops right outside and runs every 20 mins or so –we made a lot of use of this. The hotel shuttle needs to be pre-booked and we found was sometimes full the day before. Its certainly not a frequent hop on hop off service as it should be. There is no service in the afternoon and after 8:30pm each trip costs one euro, only 30 cents cheaper than the local bus and not as convenient. For this reason alone we think there are better choices in Sorrento.
A few thoughts on the must do trip to Pompeii. The pre booked tour via First Choice is expensive. We caught a bus to town and took a train. They leave every 30 mins and the journey takes around 30 mins for 7 euro return for a couple. Get out at Pompeii and turn right at the front of the station and the main entrance to the site is a minute away. Ignore the people selling tours outside the site. We paid 10 euro each to join an official tour with a guide for stroll round the site that took about 90 minutes – great value. We’d also recommend the City Sightseeing tour bus from outside the station for the Amalfi coast tour – good value and flexible service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MidSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was very clean and the service, especially the restaurant, was first class. It is a little too far from Sorrento to walk there, and, with driving as it is in Italy, a bit dangerous due to the lack of footpath. The swimming pool was good, as was the grassed area above it, with three spa units.
One thing that was lacking was the lack of a card facility at reception, meaning that you could not get Euros via card.
All round a very pleasant holiday.

Room Tip: Renovated for 2014, all rooms good, but sea view must be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely hotel. All of the staff are friendly and welcoming. This was our 2nd time staying here and we would definitely stay here again.
The food in the restaurant was amazing and very well presented. Couldn't fault it! Breakfasts were buffet style, cereal, hot english breakfast, continental foods plus fruit and yogurts. Everything you could want!
Lunch was again buffet style. Hot and cold pasta, salads, freshly cooked meats and pizzas. Again, more than adequate choice.
The evening meal was always something to look forward to. You choose your starter and main course from the menu, there is also a huge salad buffet bar where you can choose salad, vegetables, bread, some fish and meat. You really don't go hungry! There's also cakes, ice-creams and fruit for dessert.
The pool was quiet and never a struggle to find a sunbed. The pool bar opens 10am - 6pm. Friendly and good service. You can also get towels for sunbeds here. Maybe the small pool (used to be a jacuzzi) could do with the interior walls and floor re-painting. Also the large pool could maybe have black painted lines to highlight the edge of the steps.
The new garden area has 3 jacuzzis which are free to use. Lovely to sit in and chill out.
There is a roof terrace with some chairs and sunbeds, but the bar is 3 floors down. There is a lift though!
The bedrooms have been newly painted this year and the lounge is also newly done up this year. Bright and modern.
All inclusive bar 10am - midnight. Wasn't strict on 1 drink per person.
The hotel is 20 - 30 minute walk into Sorrento but there is a shuttle bus from the hotel at different times of the day.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank sunshiyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
3.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace

Address: Via Capo 76, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £497 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Palace Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing