We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I and 2 friends stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in late September.
The location of the hotel is ideal. 100 metres of so from Piazza Tasso & a 5 or 10 minute walk to the railway/bus station, for doing local tours.
We shared a room on the 5th floor and as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, is was more than adequate. We just wish there had been a couple more power outlets though.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel, going out for dinner to nearby restaurants for our evening meals. The breakfast range was adequate. We had recently been spoiled by a hotel in Budapest.
Our room faced Via Fuorimura but nor the ocean side.
The best value for money hotel in Sorrento, in my opinion and as I said before, the location is ideal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpiderB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
There are newer reviews for Cesare Augusto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very pleasant experience,Christine at desk with a huge smile making everyone feel at home.
Very good breakfast and a pleasant evening dinner. Not so close to Bay but nice walk down one level to square and one more down to water. Took taxie's back up to hotel. Extra clean and attention to guest needs.Highly pleased. We were a family of seven,from Colorado,on our 50th anniversary celebration.....one to remember always

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank campingary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here on are Honeymoon on September the 24th till 3rd October 20013,We thought this place was pretty old fashion,The place was very clean and all though it lacked entertainment and mod cons it was pretty much as good as it gets for Sorrento as the whole place was pretty old fashion. The service at meal times was so quick from sitting at the table to finishing took no more than 25 minuets,The place was full of American guests and while they were very friendly they were very loud too,We was disappointing with are Rome trip canceled due to lack of response so are romantic Honeymoon visit to Rome was a real let down as it was what we really wanted to do most..We had to pay when we left a room tax of 21 euro which we was not told about then also notice some extra food items that was charge to us by mistake so this was a lesson for us but we didn't have to pay good job I noticed.We noticed are bath had a hair line crack in it where it was so old and i was worried it might break as we are both a few ounces over weight but this bath really needed replacing in room 301, The place its self is really beautiful, full of people with cameras,Not for children as there is very little for them to do, while it is a nice hot place this is not a beach holiday it is more for sight seeing, the center of Sorrento has not really that much to see if anything a bit boring once you have walked around there is very little entertainment.The trips were good sitting on coaches/buses there is a red open bus that took us all around Sorrento for 12 euros each takes 1 hour 20 mines,good value as you can get on and of in the price, The food isn't as expensive as we were lead to believe, Pizza and coke sat out side a cafe was 8 euros,the pizza was the size of a dinner plate,chips 3 euro,We really did get out the fast lane while here as it was a Beautiful place but once you find your way around there isn't a great deal to do The roof pool was so cold it was like getting in a cold .The best I can say about this place it would be ideal for old people as it is only a short walk to the center of Sorrento square if you like people watching as that's all people seem to do.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms, better view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyholiday42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have just spent a week at this hotel half board. The rooms are spacious with decent sized balcony, and kept very clean.Bed linen changed frequently and towels daily if required.Breakfast was typical continental fare.Fruit, rolls ,bread, jams, cakes ,croissants.with addition of boiled eggs,hotdog sausages,bacon,and scrambled eggs.which we found adequate. The evening meals had a choice of 3 starters,typically soup, pasta,salad dish. Choice of 3 mains e.g. fish,meat or vegetarian option. Sweets were usually choice of several cakes and gateau , or fresh fruit slices,or fruit salad.We enjoyed most of the evening meals and certainly didn't go hungry.
This hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring Sorrento itself or for the train and bus station (5 mins from Hotel) to visit further afield -e.g. Pompei,Vesuvius,or Herculaneum and only a few minutes from the Harbour to visit the Amalfi coast.or Capri and Ischia, by boat.
The hotel has a rooftop pool and bar area, and also serves light lunches up there. Fantastic views from the rooftop!!
We found the staff to be very polite and helpful at all times, and we would be happy to stay here again.
Must just mention the very generous packed breakfast they provided for us on our last day as we were departing at 6.30am.(Enough to feed a family)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel with a tour group and at first I figured it was par for the course for a tour,but...it grew on me. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and breakfast was edible. The best part other than the fact that its located 50 feet from the center of Sorrento, is that they have a nice little piano bar. The bartenders are nice and they make a nice martini. If you don't mind hanging with an older tourist crowd then its perfect. We were there 6 days and spent little time there other than a night cap late at night before crashing out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my mother (70+) and my sister (30+) in September and it was the perfect place to stay for us. The location is definitely a big plus - close to the main square, the train and bus station which was great as we used Sorrento as a base to sightsee. The rooms are clean, the lift was just by the room which was great for my mum; the pool was a bit small but its location is stunning - high on the rooftop above Sorrento with spectacular views of the coast and hills. The decor might be a bit dated, but totally outweighed by the exceptional service. The concierge service was superb and provided us with really useful advice on when to visit Pompeii and saved us from a visit to a cable car which has been closed all season. I would definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to friends and family.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Lowrijones68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We arrived in Sorrento not knowing where to stay, the first three hotels we tried were fully booked then we arrived at the Cesare Augusto they only had a room for one night. We took the room and explored the area, the hotel was well placed for exploring the town and harbour. When we got back we were fortunate as there was a cancellation and we could have the room for three nights.
We were on the 5th floor will a garden view, the room was clean and comfortable with a balcony with a table and chairs and just about had a view of the bay of naples. The fittings were old and worn but all serviceable.
Breakfast was busy, with a good selection it was also entertaining watching the waiters flirting with the guests.
The hotel mainly catered for organised tours with tompson having a rep based there. The price was comparable with other hotels in the area.
Parking was included in the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancsprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £112 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing