We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to Stay in Sorrento”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was the last 2 nights of our tour of Puglia and Southern Italy. What a gem!!!!
Rooms were large, clean and very trendy. Just 2 block off the main street of Sorrento.
Staff helpful and friendly.
Would choose this hotel if we are in Sorrento again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned after a 7 night stay. Never usually book package holidays but a week half board (Thomas Cook) was quite a bit cheaper than booking flights and hotel separately.

First impressions were good, hotel reception was clean and spacious and check-in was swift with luggage delivered to rooms. Lifts were tiny but very quick and were like this all week. Room was spacious with the usual twin beds but also with a sitting area with easy chairs. Lots of wardrobe space and drawers, also in there was a free safe. Bathroom was large but rather tired, definitely in need of updating but saying that, it had everything you needed with a powerful shower and lots of clean towels every day. Small balcony with furniture. All in all, a comfortable, airy room with just the right level of air-con, perfect to come into out of the heat. A corner room on the 4th floor overlooking the busy road but once the doors were closed, the traffic was just a hum. Great to sit on the balcony and watch all the scooters whizzing about.

Rooftop pool area which is fantastic, however the pool is small, but the rest of the rooftop makes up for it with the fantastic panoramic views. Not crowded either when we were there. There aren't many loungers but we always managed to get one whatever time of day we went.

We weren't actually expecting to eat here but thought we would try it first night, fully expecting the usual troughs of poor quality food. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was actually waiter service with a proper menu! Four choices of starter and four of mains with help yourself dessert. Have to say, the food was excellent as well as the service and we ended up eating here every night. A jug of iced water was on the table and a wine list was offered where drinks would be charged to your room. Breakfast was help yourself and plentiful and the usual continental fare.

Location is excellent with this hotel, just a few minutes walk to the main square, via steps down the side of the hotel - which are a killer going back up but manageable (she says gasping for air) however could be tricky if you have mobility problems, but you can get in through the front of the hotel, it's just a bit longer walk.

A very comfortable hotel, everything you needed. Yes, it maybe looks a little dated in places but it has an old quality charm about it, made special by the wonderful, courteous and hard-working staff.

Would definitely stay again.

Main square, Fauno Bar is the place to be. We had lots of lunches here and evening cocktails and they bring you lots of nibbles. Quality of food and drink is excellent and it's great to sit and soak up the wonderful atmosphere.

Lastly, just to mention a boat trip we went on along the Amalfi coast to Amalfi and Positano cost of 45 euros. It took roughly 2 hours to get to Amalfi, which is quite a long time when the water is rather choppy and you're travelling on a small powerboat. I, along with several others, was quite seasick. It would have been better to stop at Positano on the way. As a result, when we got off the boat at Amalfi, my legs were like jelly and it took me a while to recover. My husband insisted we went back to Sorrento by bus, so it was a complete waste of money for us. We later saw a trip for half the price were you tootled along the coast stopping several times for swimming, which would have been a lot better in hindsight. Just to give you the heads up!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in July 2014 for 11 nights for our summer holiday. Our first impression of the hotel was great. Staff are all very friendly and always say hello with a smile. The rooms were big and clean, a little dated but still lovely to stay in. Air con and safety deposit box both free of charge and very easy to use. The location of this hotel is fantastic as it is a 2 minute walk from the main square in the town which meant we could go into town every night for a walk. 10 minute walk from the lift which takes you to the port and beach. We stayed half board and wouldn't recommend it. Breakfast was fine, your average continental with plenty of choice. Dinner was ok but not great and there were so many restaurants within walking distance that we found ourselves going out for dinner most nights. The pool area wasn't luxurious but always clean and there were always sun loungers available. Overall we would definitely recommend based on the location but would only recommend for bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Main road to one side of the hotel so if you are a very light sleeper perhaps ask for a garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Laurb1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked this hotel on a recommendation from a friend and after reading the reviews on TA. Overall we enjoyed our stay here. The room on the 5th floor was large and always clean. The balcony with a small table and 2 chairs overlooked the garden and a busy road which provided some entertainment watching the mad drivers. The balcony doors kept out any noise. On arrival we had taken a route out the front of the local bus station and that was a mistake as we almost completed a full circle before arriving hot and bothered at the bottom of a steep set of stairs. With 2 suitcases each it was a struggle to get up. If we'd left by the back entrance to the station it would have been much easier although, unless we wanted to negotiate a busy narrow road, we would still have been faced with some stairs up to the street. After our daily trips out and, again, each evening after dinner in the town centre we dreaded those stairs. The hotel is situated very close to the centre (did I mention the stairs?) and has a nice relaxing garden and a rooftop pool. We only had breakfast there - which was the usual adequate continental fare so cannot comment on the evening meals. The World Cup was on while we were there and we were a tad disappointed to find that we had to watch it in the hotel lounge and nothing was available on the TV in our room. It was exceptionally interesting when we were surrounded by Germans on the night they played Brazil ! Still, I suppose Italians don't get much choice over here in the UK when they are visiting. If you're fit enough to climb the 60 odd stairs to get up to the back entrance then the Piazza Tasso is only minutes away. The other option is to take a longer walk via the bus/train station and only have to manage say 15 steps up. Many of the guests were on group holidays and were picked up and dropped off by coach each day so I expect they didn't have the same problem.
The staff were helpful and friendly (broken fridge fixed within minutes of our arrival) and the breakfast bags that were provided to us on our last day (as we were leaving too early for breakfast) were outstanding and fed us for the day on our journey home to Scotland.

Room Tip: We can only comment that the 5th floor was a good choice and, although we were to the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WeeFergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at Cesare Augustus for two weeks. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room on the fourth floor, no complaints about noise or cleaniness. There were always sunbeds available on the roof terrace which had amazing views. Couldn't knock the breakfasts or evening meals, there was always plenty of choice. The breakfast was standard but catered for all tastes. The evening meals were waiter served from a different menu each evening which we really enjoyed. The wine was reasonably priced. Overall the hotel had a cosmopolitan feel and was ideally located for the Circumvesuviana and Tasso Square. Trips can be arranged through several local Agencies at reasonable prices or done by local transport. Would highly recommend a stay at this hotel if visiting Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent 3 nights here - excellent experience. I chose it for location and the good reviews and am very glad I did. Its less than 5 min walk from Sorrento Circumvesuviana railway station and less than 5 min walk from the main centre of Sorrento. Use Circumvesuviana to get from Naples (less than 5 euros each - for 1hr 10 min journey time) then use Circumvesuviana to go to Pompeii and Herculaneaum for day trips during your stay spending evenings in lovely Sorrento. Lots of tour guests in hotel but we travelled independently and had a great experience.

Room Tip: Our room was to front on the road but still very quiet so not worries about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Perfect location, 5 minutes to the Circumvesuviana train-station and bus stops for Amalfi-coast (however I don't recommend anybody to take these buses...). Staff was nice, good English, helpfull.
Room is large, balcony with sea view, AC works perfectly. Pool is small, but usable, with sunbeds, good place to relax. Beach is 10-15 minutes walk, and must be paid cc.30-35 euro/2 persons for a day (sunbeds etc). Shops and supermarkets nearby, restaurants as well. Nice garden in the backside of the hotel, peaceful and silent to take a break.

Sorrento sites reachable by walk.

Wifi was not working in the room, only in the reception area, and when we told to the guy at the receptin, it seems he knows it. After 3 days, miracle happend, and the wifi started to work in the room as well:) Breakfast is POOR for a 4 star hotel: no vegetables at all, poor offer of bread or "light" products. Breakfast room needs some cleaning and is outdated, with some communistic outfit... Pool area is not cleaned at all...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £100 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing