We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel!”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice interior. Staff are friendly bad approachable. Free wifi although it could be better. Breakfast was good with a good international range of foods. Hotel is 5 minutes or less walk from the main town square. My brother and I stayed in a twin room (402) and the road that is behind the hotel is loud because of all the motor bikes. Garage parking is available at a cost.

Overall great hotel and I loved staying there.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    225
    94
    28
    11
See reviews for
127
253
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As soon as you walk into the reception foyer you are taken back to he days when service counted.
From the check in staff to the cleaners, they all have a smile and are helpful. The rooms are clean, roomy and quiet.The winner for me was the dinning room. The waiting staff attend your every need, and the service takes you back to an era where quality was the norm.The decor is late sixties,(my opinion only) and you could imagine Cary Grant ambling in for a cocktail back in the day. Probably the best hotel we had in 21 days in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for a friends wedding in the resort in July 2014. Travelled as 2 couples and were given adjoining rooms. First impression was that the place was clean and the rooms a good size. We were on the 5th floor and the road outside was not a problem noise wise. The ir con worked perfectly and room cleaning was daily and done to a good standard.

We chose to eat out a few times and dined in on 3 occasions. The tables were immaculately presented with fresh white cotton table cloths and polished quality cutlery. Dinner was waiter service for starter and main and there was a small choice but it was fresh and well presented. Good variety desert option wise ( the pannacotta was amazing ) and desert is self service.

Pool area was clean and well attended. Even though the hotel was full we didnt struggle to find a sun lounger although we were up there by 0830 on the days we chose to relax by the pool. The local beer is Nastro Azzuro ( brand of Peroni ) which in the UK would be about £4 a bottle in local bars and it was served ice cold at 3.5 euros, so about £3 which I didnt mind. In fact out and about in Sorrento there were some small bars serving it at the same price so the stories about the place being expensive can be true, but a beer around the pool here wont cost a second mortgage. Towels were provided and plentiful and there was some evening entertainment provided which we saw for half an hour and was OK ( solo guitarist ).

The hotel caters for parties touring the area, most dont go to sunbathe, which is understandable as the place is amazing. Dont book the ferry to Capri using the countless agents in the town, wander down to the marina and you will easily find a sailing with one of the few complanies operating there.

The best bit about this hotel is the location. Walk out of the back door through the well cared for garden areas and down the steps and you are in the Plazza Tasso and everything is on your doorstep.

Would I go again ? Definately

Room Tip: air con is great and with the doors closed if you are facing the road, dont worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location of this hotel is brilliant - just 5mins from the main square & bus and train station. The Hotel décor is a little dated but spotless clean and very comfortable, all staff are very obliging and friendly and the food and drink and restaurant staff are very good - I sear my hubby ate his own body weight in pasta the week we was there.
Lovely little suntrap & pool on the roof top terrace with a snack bar were you can get plenty to eat & drink and reasonable prices.
This hotel is excellent value for money and we would definitely stay there again - there was a couple there that came every year so enough said really!

Room Tip: ask for one on the 5th floor - great views from those rooms on the garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very clean hotel throughout.
Excellent location. Within a few minutes walk of the towns main square and the train station.
Rooms starting to look dated but the triple we stayed in was comfortable with a large single and king size double bed.
Hair dryer provided but not very good at its job.
Small fridge in the room.
Hotel entertainment not so good.
Breakfast was the usual continental buffet with hot choices limited to boiled and scrambled eggs then either streaky bacon or small hot dog style sausages.
Dinner menu very limited, consisting of a 3 course meal with 4 choices of starter, 4 main courses and a buffet desert. However, the food served was of a good standard.
Restaurant staff very helpful.
Roof top pool is small but views are very good.
Staff where all helpful throughout our stay.
Very nice quiet hotel but could would benefit from an improved menu.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the main road through Sorrento. Other rooms have views over the bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northeastpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was the last 2 nights of our tour of Puglia and Southern Italy. What a gem!!!!
Rooms were large, clean and very trendy. Just 2 block off the main street of Sorrento.
Staff helpful and friendly.
Would choose this hotel if we are in Sorrento again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned after a 7 night stay. Never usually book package holidays but a week half board (Thomas Cook) was quite a bit cheaper than booking flights and hotel separately.

First impressions were good, hotel reception was clean and spacious and check-in was swift with luggage delivered to rooms. Lifts were tiny but very quick and were like this all week. Room was spacious with the usual twin beds but also with a sitting area with easy chairs. Lots of wardrobe space and drawers, also in there was a free safe. Bathroom was large but rather tired, definitely in need of updating but saying that, it had everything you needed with a powerful shower and lots of clean towels every day. Small balcony with furniture. All in all, a comfortable, airy room with just the right level of air-con, perfect to come into out of the heat. A corner room on the 4th floor overlooking the busy road but once the doors were closed, the traffic was just a hum. Great to sit on the balcony and watch all the scooters whizzing about.

Rooftop pool area which is fantastic, however the pool is small, but the rest of the rooftop makes up for it with the fantastic panoramic views. Not crowded either when we were there. There aren't many loungers but we always managed to get one whatever time of day we went.

We weren't actually expecting to eat here but thought we would try it first night, fully expecting the usual troughs of poor quality food. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was actually waiter service with a proper menu! Four choices of starter and four of mains with help yourself dessert. Have to say, the food was excellent as well as the service and we ended up eating here every night. A jug of iced water was on the table and a wine list was offered where drinks would be charged to your room. Breakfast was help yourself and plentiful and the usual continental fare.

Location is excellent with this hotel, just a few minutes walk to the main square, via steps down the side of the hotel - which are a killer going back up but manageable (she says gasping for air) however could be tricky if you have mobility problems, but you can get in through the front of the hotel, it's just a bit longer walk.

A very comfortable hotel, everything you needed. Yes, it maybe looks a little dated in places but it has an old quality charm about it, made special by the wonderful, courteous and hard-working staff.

Would definitely stay again.

Main square, Fauno Bar is the place to be. We had lots of lunches here and evening cocktails and they bring you lots of nibbles. Quality of food and drink is excellent and it's great to sit and soak up the wonderful atmosphere.

Lastly, just to mention a boat trip we went on along the Amalfi coast to Amalfi and Positano cost of 45 euros. It took roughly 2 hours to get to Amalfi, which is quite a long time when the water is rather choppy and you're travelling on a small powerboat. I, along with several others, was quite seasick. It would have been better to stop at Positano on the way. As a result, when we got off the boat at Amalfi, my legs were like jelly and it took me a while to recover. My husband insisted we went back to Sorrento by bus, so it was a complete waste of money for us. We later saw a trip for half the price were you tootled along the coast stopping several times for swimming, which would have been a lot better in hindsight. Just to give you the heads up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#74 of 100 in Sorrento
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Property: Cesare Augusto
Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing