We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All hotels should be like this one!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
“All hotels should be like this one!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

A great hotel. Room comfortable, clean and well equipped. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Food excellent - well prepared, varied and plenty of it!

Quite a long way out of Sorrento but the setting is lovely, it overlooks a wooded valley on one side and the sea on the other.

Had a great week. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1261950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    231
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
514
1,218
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The hotel is situated high above the road to Sorrento on the outskirts of Massa Lubrense. Rooms with a sea view are directly above the road and it is busy from 6am to 6pm. Air conditioning is only in operation from Jun-Sep so if you get a warm night in Apr-Jun you may have to open the balcony window & that will allow extra the traffic noise in. Pack some earplugs if you're a light sleeper. We came prepared & it hasn't been a problem.

The beds are VERY firm. I have a bad back & contrived a better night's sleep by using several pillows, otherwise a trip to the osteopath would have ensude on my return home.

On the plus side the hotel is spotlessly clean, bright & airy. Some rooms have baths with showers over, some only showers. There is also a difference in the size of the balconies - some only big enough to have 2 small chairs & a table, others accommodate an extra 2 reclining sun chairs (very comfy!)

Eating out in the part of Italy is very expensive. The half-board arrangement works well enough if you don't mind being 'tied' to the hotel for the evening. Breakfast is plentiful & good quality. Dinner is more formal, served 6.45-9pm and the dining room is deserted by 9pm so not much in the way of atmosphere. Dinner is 4 courses: salad, choice of 7 starters, 5 mains & 4 desserts. IMHO the starters are more successful than the mains, and of the mains the fish dishes better than the meat.

If you're staying for lunch it is pricey: pizza/sandwich €12, beer/soft drink €3.50. On the plus size portion sizes are big & you can get away with sharing a pizza side salad for €18. Some nice little touches tho - if you order a coffee it comes with biscotti/biscuits or a coke/beer you get a bowl of crisps/nuts to accompany. Lunch also comes with little appetisers. The high prices mean you're paying for them tho!

Entertainment 2 weekday nights with Leilo & Carlo? (we called them Lemon & Cello) was not our cup of tea but it would appeal to our parents (in their late 60s/early 70s).

The staff are mostly very friendly & welcoming & go out of their way to be of service.

A word of warning about the excursions organised by Thomsons - they are extortionate. It is pretty easy to do the trips yourself with a little help from TripAdvisor before you go! e.g. 1/2 day trip to Herculaneum would cost €130 for our family; we did it for €16.80 by taking the train. Just make sure you time your trips on the courtesy bus to coincide with the ferry/train departure you need!

Make the most of your time here & get out to see what's on the doorstep: Pompei, Veusvius, Herculaneum, the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank othersideofthewold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2011

a wonderful hotel. beautiful location and everything was done with such attention to detail. each and every member of staff took each day as a special day and every little job was performed with such care. my only personal niggle would be that I found the beds a little firm. everything was wonderul and my week went far too quickly. I shall return. Sue Smart, buckinghamshire, uk

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We booked our seven day holiday with Thompson and stayed on a half board basis. My elderly Father, my Wife and our two teenage daughters. It was a long days travel from North Wales via Manchester and Naples but we were given a lovely welcome when we arrived and our luggage was taken care of while we were given a glass of Prosseco in the lounge near reception. We were hungry so we asked if we were too late for any lunch. We were informed that they would be more than happy to accommodate us and suggested that we go up to our rooms, freshen up and then come down to the pool area for (late) lunch. We all enjoyed our food and a had a beer. the waiter Angelo was great. He asked us where we were from and on being told he said a few phrases in Welsh and said his fourth wife had been Welsh!! He was a real laugh and nothing was too much trouble. That goes for all the staff.

The food everyday was excellent. If you like a five course breakfast or just a cup of coffee it's up to you. Whenever we left the dining room after breakfast we were always looking forward to reading the new menu for that evening's meal. The Gala dinner was fantastic, the food was superb and the Mrs and I had a couple dances.

We all loved the pool, fresh towels and more than enough sunbeds for everyone. The rooms are very nice too with lovely decor and nice bathrooms. Our room overlooked the pool (418 I think).

We walked down to Poulo bay on the Sunday It's a bit of a walk but worth it. It was an Italian holiday and when we got down there it was fairly empty. We hired our sunbeds and settled down. Within an hour the place was heaving and you could hardly move. Normally I would have been a little irratated but I thought to myself "what the hell, when in Sorrento". I think we were the only non-Italians there so we just did exactly the same as everyone else. We had a lovely meal (Fish) and a good few beers and stayed nearly all day. after a long walk back up to the Hotel we were exhausted and gasping for a drink. Angelo to the rescue, he ushered us into the bar very concerned and served us drinks while mopping all our brows with his tea towel - brilliant.

Just a quick note about Allessandro the Rep. He was very good and nothing too much trouble for him either.

The Wife and I have booked another week on our own for our 25th anniversary on the 22nd of July 2011 and we can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cymro-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We booked this hotel for our 10 year anniversary. We had searched for many Sorrento Hotels, varying in price from expensive to really expensive. We were arriving late at night and had hired a car from Naples airport since no trains were available at that time. So we needed somewhere with parking. Lots of central Sorrento hotels had parking but would charge you for the privilege, and we'd already heard that parking in Sorrento is a nightmare.

When we looked on Trip Advisor for reviews this hotel was coming out on top. We were a little worried about it being out of Sorrento, but were reassured by the hotel shuttle bus service (every hour) and we had a hire car. Other than that, the reviews pointed to an excellent hotel with good service.

When we arrived at Naples airport it was raining very heavily. We picked up the hire car and I had satnav to get me to the hotel. I had received many warnings about driving in Italy and the states of the roads, but that didn't prepare me for what lay ahead. The standard of driving is shocking, the roads poor and you have to be a confident driver to tackle Italy, especially at night with a storm overhead.

We arrived at the hotel past midnight and the friendly receptionist offered to re-park our car in a better position. We asked for a sea-view room and that is what we got, although it was in the distance as the hotel is not on the coast.

The room was beautiful, with tiled floor, huge bed, high ceiling, large balcony and very tastefully decorated in an Italian modern style with traditional furnishings. The bathroom was very clean with bath and shower. A large LCD TV was on the wall with some UK tv channels. We slept well that night and were ready for our weekend break.

The next morning we had breakfast in the dining room. This was a selection of cold meats & cheese, cereals, Italian pastries and several hot items (Italian sausages, eggs, potatoes, beans). The waiters were very attentive and friendly.
There is a large outdoor pool, although we didn't go for a dip (too cold!), we did sit around it and have a coffee. Italian coffee is on another level and even in the hotel they made an excellent cup.

Getting to and from the centre of Sorrento was by using the hotel's shuttle bus. This left every hour from about 8am til late evening. The journey took about 10 mins and dropped you off on the main road that runs at the top of Sorrento (you walk down the hill to get there). The shuttle bus was free and we used it several times during our stay.

We made good use of our time during our stay and visited Sorrento day and evening - the shopping is very good. We took a drive to Positano and parked at the top of the hill on the road and walked down. Warning - it is one hell of a walk down and up but the views are amazing and the chance to walk through the narrow streets passed the houses perched on the hillside is amazing. You can park down in Positano itself, as there are car parks there, but I expect they fill up quickly in peak season.

We dined once at the hotel on the Sunday evening for the gala dinner. It cost about £30 each and included 5 courses of Italian cuisine over candlelight and a piannist playing too. The meal we had during the gala dinner was without doubt the best we had during our stay. The food was cooked perfectly, well presented and tasted superb.

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every one of them. The hotel is very clean, all the staff are friendly and it contains all the facilities you would need. We shall definitely return to Sorrento and when we do the La Solara will be the place we go.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ATaylor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
771 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 817 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The ideal hotel in Sorrento would give you lovely views over the town and the Bay of Naples from your room balcony, tasty Italian food, the convenience of walking easily to the town centre and peaceful days by the poolside. Looking at TA for guidance and Thomson’s brochure I concluded that I could not find one offering all of the above so a compromise was required - hence La Solara.

Other hotels had the location - but nuisance traffic noise was mentioned, or the food was not so good (in Italy?!), or there were unreliable shuttle buses, or guests had complained of fellow guests reserving sunbeds with towels, or charges were made for sunbeds at their own hotel!

La Solara is situated in a relatively quiet area and looks over the sea but doesn’t have those spectacular views of Sorrento town. It does have a courtesy shuttle bus which runs hourly throughout the day, operating to a reliable timetable and the driver was helpful in dropping us at unscheduled stops - once to get those views over the town as you approach and once to catch a train to nearby Pompeii. As mentioned by others the road into Sorrento is too far and dangerous to walk.

Our arrival at the hotel was later than expected due to traffic hold-ups from the airport and not surprisingly a road accident! The scooters and motor bikes zigzag between other vehicles in kamikaze fashion in Sorrento and one of them had crashed. Despite the time, and being the only late arrivals, we were served a three course dinner in the dining room, the staff having waited on later to do so. This was to be an indicator of the general attitude of all the staff - they always aim to please. It was appreciated since we hadn’t booked meals on the plane and nowadays they appear to strictly enforce that option.

Our room, #316, had a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the swimming pool and surrounding hillsides. It was very spacious, had lots of storage and was furnished in a traditional style. The bed was actually two beds pushed together to form a king size and although it was as hard as rocks on first impressions it was, in practice, comfortable enough. The ensuite was also spacious and had a bath with a shower over it (with decent pressure) and included a bidet.

We were provided with a courtesy bottle of red wine on arrival - and in case, like us, you had forgotten to bring one, a corkscrew was stored in the mini-bar together with the usual expensive fare. The mini bar had space to store a wine bottle if you needed (we got some on a visit to a winery). A small wall safe (big enough for passports, cash and essentials only) could be obtained for 50 cents per day. There was a flat screen television but with few English speaking channels available we didn’t have it on too often.

We were on a half board basis which allowed for a switch of dinner for lunch provided you gave some notice to the staff - this could allow you to eat elsewhere in the evening if you wished. The hotel restaurant has windows overlooking the front of the hotel and depending upon your table you may have a nice view - the tables are reserved on day one for throughout your stay and are based on individual parties i.e. there is no need to share with others as is the case in some Sorrento hotels. Breakfast was buffet style with a selection of cereals, pastries and some hot foods (e.g. scrambled egg) and the staff provide the coffee/tea and cleared away. In the evening it was waiter service apart from salad starters which were self-service. The dinner menu is posted daily and there were a number of choices for each course to suit most tastes. As with other reporters we would agree that the portions were large and on most evenings the food was very good though maybe not “fantastic” as some have suggested. I particularly enjoyed a varied selection of the fish dishes. We also had lunch by the poolside on a couple of occasions (waiter served) and this too was very nice albeit fairly expensive. The Sunday Gala evening was dining al fresco by candlelight at the poolside whilst being entertained by the “almost” resident musicians. Many people made an effort to dress up a little to add to the occasion and we found it was very enjoyable - we even had a dance (I say dance….you may have seen something similar on “Strictly” by those who departed early in the competition or John Sergeant).

A feature of the Solara which has its good and bad points is the fact that everything you order - from snacks, drinks, wine at dinner and even ices by the poolside is signed against your room and an itemised bill produced for you at check-out. For us this was very convenient and because we kept our own tally we were aware of the tab we were running up - but for some it could come as a surprise. Our “extras” came to EUR420 over 10 nights - and with the exception of a small mini-bar item charge this was entirely accurate.

The staff are the big plus point of the hotel. Although we thought Marcello, the head waiter, sometimes could display mannerisms only taught at “Italian Head Waiter School” or your local drama group (e.g hand on hip, chest out and eyes gazing to the stars) - the restaurant ran very efficiently. From reception, to the cleaners, the waiters, poolside and bar - all the staff were exceptional in their efforts to please their guests - full marks on this point. Some of them even sang - to varying effect - along with the entertainers in the evening. We included a gratuity in the final tab as day-to-day no one looked for a tip.

Poolside sunbeds and towels are free and we had no difficulty getting one in late August/early September - staff assist if required.

There is a computer next to the reception which is free for guests to use.

As far as excursions were concerned we booked Thomson’s “Select Vesuvius 4x4” and “Select Amalfi drive” and both were very good - pick-up/drop off at the bottom of the hotel driveway. We made our own way to Pompeii by train and joined a guide on site (very good) and also did our own trip to Capri (excellent). It’s best to set off on the first shuttle for the self-tours to try to get to the places of interest ahead of the crowds. We also went down to the local beach at Puolo. You follow the path next to where the shuttle parks, cross the coastal road and head down a steep path to the village. At first sight it’s a bit run down and it’s narrow stone beach wasn’t tempting. However we enjoyed lunch at a café, wrote some postcards and relaxed. It is a major hike back up to the hotel in the heat - the pool is an easier option!

In summary we had a decent room view, good food, a reliable shuttle to access town, lazy days by the pool and still easily enjoyed some of the local attractions. It’s a hotel which ticks many boxes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This is the second time in 3 years we have stayed at La Solara Hotel and we will go there again. This is the only hotel we've ever stayed at more than once.
As one of us does not like meat or fish and usually has real problems finding suitable meals when holidaying abroad, this was the perfect place, as the menu is so varied. The staff were very attentive, friendly and good-humoured. The hotel was spotlessly clean. It is a bit out of the town, but the views more than compensate for this. There is a small local beach which is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel through lemon and olive groves.
As the hotel is away from the town, perhaps there could be more varied entertainment in the evenings for people that do not want to venture into town.
We look forward to going again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonokent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,055 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing