We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just back from a week's holiday at La Solara with my partner and one year old daughter. We were a little apprehensive as it was our first holiday abroad with her, but we needn't have worried. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly, and the restaurant staff in particular went out of their way to help (& entertain - thanks especially to Franco, Nello & Giuseppe!).

We liked our room, decent sized balcony with a table, 2 chairs and 2 deckchairs, plus plenty wardrobe space and enough room to hold comfortably fit in a cot. The restaurant was good, with continental breakfast buffet & then waiter service for dinner - a salad self service buffet, then a choice of starters, mains & desserts. I'm vegetarian and was delighted at the choice available.

The hotel is a bit out of Sorrento, but no bad thing as Sorrento really is busy and noisy. We used the free shuttle bus every day, and it was always right on time - departing on the hour from the hotel, and picking up just outside the centre of Sorrento at quarter past every hour, journey time was about 15 minutes.

If I returned to Sorrento (although so many places to see in the world so probably won't...) I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,626
    222
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
487
1,161
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Rooms very clean & comfortable, spacious & tastefully decorated. We had a lovely view of the bay from our bedroom. Staff were all very friendly & helpful. Food was out of this world, with plenty to choose from. We used the free hotel shuttle bus every day & evening to take us directly into Sorrento town. Prices in the bar were €4.00 for a large glass of wine & €3.50 for a beer, which was also the same as in the town. We stayed at Easter and on the Sunday morning there was a lovely easter egg for everyone. Also bubbly and nibbles were in the lounge area upon our arrival. Rooms cleaned twice daily and each evening the beds were turned down and a chocolate left on the bedside. All in all a wonderful holiday, thanks to all the staff at the Hotel La Solara!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireOatcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed at the hotel for one week over the Easter period because our son was getting married at Villa Fondi. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff were very attentive nothing was too much trouble,they even supplied us with a kettle so we could have our tea fixes. Everywhere was clean and the only negative was a cockerel at a nearby property which disturbed our sleep. Most of our party had rooms with balconies which had views over the pool or sea. The staff put on an excellent wedding reception and the cake was to die for.The bar staff even sang. One thing that amazed us was the mini bus driver's ability to reverse up the driveway. The bus ran every hour into Sorrento which was very handy. The hotel was ideally situated away from the noise of Sorrento but still handy to make trips to the attractions in the area. Our only regret was we did not have enough time to do everything we wanted (what a shame we will have to return hopefully soon.)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscarLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We booked this hotel after reading the excellent reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were very friendly and the customer service was excellent. The food really was first class, certainly of the quality you would expect in a top class restaurant. They had a Gala dinner on a Sunday which was fantastic. The maid service was extremely good and a lovely touch was the turn down service and chocolate left in the room each evening and the towels were changed quite often twice a day. The hotel courtesy bus is a great service as the hotel is about 10mins ride outside of Sorrento and the bus runs regularly from about 8.00am until 11.00pm at night hourly so we made good use of this. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the La Solara and it is our first time to Sorrento which is a beautiful place and there is so much to see and do. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Just the best hotel I have stayed in. The staff where smart, helpful and friendly. The rooms very clean and lots of attention to details. Which made a really lovely stay. Our Son was 14 while we were on holiday, the staff made a cake and sang happy birthday to him. So lovely. I have never have so much lovely food and so much of it. Lunch by the pool was great with local wine. We want to go back soon because hotel gave us the rest we really needed. Thank you

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mark1Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We have just got back from a lovely week at this hotel.

The hotel on arrival carry your bags up the drive and we got chamagne and nibbles! Then they bring your bags to your room for you. Our room was superb very very clean. the maids came twice a day once in the morning then again in the evening and left a chocolate! We asked for a room overlooking the sea and that is what we got it was beautiful :)

The food is amazing the salad bar was a favourite with us you could have as much as you want and the choice differed slightly each night and there was things id never tried befre and like. The dinner was lovely obviously prepared to a very high standard. the starters are like mains so i was quite full up most of the time!

The weather was very nice for most part of the holiday! The pool was lovely and warm once you got in it and wasnt very busy at all. There are plenty of subeds to go round. When the weather nice you can eat lunch outside on the terrace by the pool. Deffo go for the hawaiin pizza its was to die for its big enough to share and save some pennies.. !

The shuttle bus was very reliable and took yu down to the town starting at 7.50 then every hour on the hour from the hotel then pick up in sorrento and 15 past the hour till 11.15. We are so glad we chose this hotel. some may think its a problem out the way of the main town but all the hotels in town didnt have a patch on this hotel and we were pleased to be out of the busy traffic of sorrento!

All the staff were polite friendly and helpful. We would love to return one day and explore more of what sorrento and surounding areas have to offer as we didnt have enough time for all of it :)

Room Tip: sea view room £70 xtra with thomson- worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstreview91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We were dubious about being outside town but the shuttle service was punctual and efficient and there is a service bus stop close by.

The food was good, some was excellent and the dining room and bar service was fantastic - and very friendly.

Our top floor room was spacious, quiet and lovely with a large terrace overlooking the pool and with a lovely view of Ischia and the Bay of Naples. The rooms were prepared twice a day so no worries about wet towels. We have seldom if ever been in such a clean hotel.

We had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday and would recommend this small hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
1.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing