We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So what is it about this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So what is it about this place”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We have had a great holiday at this hotel and area and did choose the hotel in view of the reviews here and elsewhere. This is without doubt a well managed, well maintained, very clean hotel, with staff that are invariably helpful and cheerful and often make that extra effort that can make a holiday. I must mention Marcello and Nello in the restaurant, the head barman who has a great sense of humour and Antonio on the reception who are some of the best staff we have encountered anywhere.
Reflecting on the hotel itself then let’s be honest the bedrooms are no more than average, beds firm to say the least and the bathrooms a little tired, shower in the bath is a fairly small space but with good water pressure, always clean. The balcony’s offer great sea views at the front – worth paying for. The reception and lounge/bar is spacious and very comfortable, the pool is terrific, spotless and loads of space for sunbathing with a good bar area. The dining room is also a little tired but as everywhere else is very clean. We were half board, you can swap dinner for lunch and again being honest we felt the food was fine but never exceptional. Breakfast is as usual a buffet but it was repetitive really. Evening meal varied, very good salad bar, meals were absolutely acceptable but not exceptional. The Sunday Gala dinner was very nice and good fun. The hotel bus mentioned in many reviews is very useful and there is entertainment 3 nights, a local duo who again are good fun and good to listen to with a drink.

So what is it about the place that really scores? We had lovely weather, Sorrento is a great centre to visit or travel from and the region is not only very beautiful but there are loads of things to do some of which are very special. So I guess it’s that combination of a good hotel, great hotel staff, wonderful weather and a terrific area to visit that made this a great holiday.

Some suggestions:
Use the local train to Pompeii and Herculaneum, inexpensive, easy, and convenient. At Pompeii we used the audio guide which was fine; 4 hours walking only did about half the site! Water, good shoes and a hat required, but fantastic.

Use the local bus one way for the Amalfi coast trip and get the fast ferry back to Sorrento from Amalfi or Positano – both are very memorable particularly the ferry. Again inexpensive and convenient. The local bus is busy so expect to queue and if you can get there early 8.30 – 9am is not a bad idea.

The hotel bus is very good but there is also a 20 min local service into Sorrento, 1 Euro.

Sorrento is well worth exploring, and the further you are from the main square then the less expensive the food and drink. However if you like Latte coffee the Fuano bar on Tasso square is worth a shot – 4 Euros but great and watch the world go by.

Saturday evening is a good time to visit Sorrento, they close the main streets to the traffic and the locals come out and promenade. Great atmosphere.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, floors 3 - 4 best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salochin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,732
    232
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
522
1,229
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at the Solara for one week 6th-13th May. This was without doubt the best hotel we have stayed in for years. The staff were friendly and so helpful without going over the top. There was a complimentary bottle of wine in our room on arrival.We were delayed and did not arrive until 1am but they had kept a meal for us for when we arrived. The same on leaving we had an early flight and they opened up for breakfast at 6am,fantastic.
The food in the restaurant is superb with 4 courses every evening all of a very high standard. Although this holiday was booked through a package deal it felt like you were treated as special by the staff. We cannot recommend this hotel high enough.Brilliant..

Room Tip: front two floors have huge balconies,superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathNKeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Excellent position for quiet but steep walks to little harbours and Roman villa. Reliable hourly shuttle to Sorrento. Lovely pool with all kinds of sun beds and loungers with shade or in sun. Staff excellent. The only minor niggle was the small wall safe in the room, too small for iPad let alone laptop.

Room Tip: Ask to change if you are at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just back from a week's holiday at La Solara with my partner and one year old daughter. We were a little apprehensive as it was our first holiday abroad with her, but we needn't have worried. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly, and the restaurant staff in particular went out of their way to help (& entertain - thanks especially to Franco, Nello & Giuseppe!).

We liked our room, decent sized balcony with a table, 2 chairs and 2 deckchairs, plus plenty wardrobe space and enough room to hold comfortably fit in a cot. The restaurant was good, with continental breakfast buffet & then waiter service for dinner - a salad self service buffet, then a choice of starters, mains & desserts. I'm vegetarian and was delighted at the choice available.

The hotel is a bit out of Sorrento, but no bad thing as Sorrento really is busy and noisy. We used the free shuttle bus every day, and it was always right on time - departing on the hour from the hotel, and picking up just outside the centre of Sorrento at quarter past every hour, journey time was about 15 minutes.

If I returned to Sorrento (although so many places to see in the world so probably won't...) I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Rooms very clean & comfortable, spacious & tastefully decorated. We had a lovely view of the bay from our bedroom. Staff were all very friendly & helpful. Food was out of this world, with plenty to choose from. We used the free hotel shuttle bus every day & evening to take us directly into Sorrento town. Prices in the bar were €4.00 for a large glass of wine & €3.50 for a beer, which was also the same as in the town. We stayed at Easter and on the Sunday morning there was a lovely easter egg for everyone. Also bubbly and nibbles were in the lounge area upon our arrival. Rooms cleaned twice daily and each evening the beds were turned down and a chocolate left on the bedside. All in all a wonderful holiday, thanks to all the staff at the Hotel La Solara!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireOatcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed at the hotel for one week over the Easter period because our son was getting married at Villa Fondi. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff were very attentive nothing was too much trouble,they even supplied us with a kettle so we could have our tea fixes. Everywhere was clean and the only negative was a cockerel at a nearby property which disturbed our sleep. Most of our party had rooms with balconies which had views over the pool or sea. The staff put on an excellent wedding reception and the cake was to die for.The bar staff even sang. One thing that amazed us was the mini bus driver's ability to reverse up the driveway. The bus ran every hour into Sorrento which was very handy. The hotel was ideally situated away from the noise of Sorrento but still handy to make trips to the attractions in the area. Our only regret was we did not have enough time to do everything we wanted (what a shame we will have to return hopefully soon.)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscarLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We booked this hotel after reading the excellent reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were very friendly and the customer service was excellent. The food really was first class, certainly of the quality you would expect in a top class restaurant. They had a Gala dinner on a Sunday which was fantastic. The maid service was extremely good and a lovely touch was the turn down service and chocolate left in the room each evening and the towels were changed quite often twice a day. The hotel courtesy bus is a great service as the hotel is about 10mins ride outside of Sorrento and the bus runs regularly from about 8.00am until 11.00pm at night hourly so we made good use of this. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the La Solara and it is our first time to Sorrento which is a beautiful place and there is so much to see and do. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing