We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Foodie lovers”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

How wonderful to come back to a place 10 years on (!!) and it still be as good as you remembered especially as my husbands Mum & Dad came along with us following our recommendation of a fabulousromantic holiday!! But thankfully it has stood the test of time and as people have previously said the staff make this holiday exceedingly wonderful,they simply cant do enough for you. I guess the reason it has scored so high is that it is a relativley small hotel compared to some of the bigger more impersonal hotels that cater for hundreds of guests..That and the staff are of a more "mature" age (yes many still there after 10years!) and therefore they give a little better quality service. But this is definately one who likes their food .. sooo much choice..excellent quality and lots of it. The drinks can be a little expensive but thats Sorrento full stop. Highly recommend a romantic stay here. Well done La Solara

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassyclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,675
    225
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
506
1,192
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshie=re
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This was our first experience of a holiday in italy and how spoilt we were to find such a gem of a hotel,I have never stayed in such a clean and friendly hotel.. when we arrived we were given a welcome glass of bubbly and thought how welcoming it was from the second we got there.The food was fantastic lots of choices and something to please everyone.The swimming pool was a lovely big pool and kept spotlessy clean and tidy The position of the hotel was beautiful and quiet compared to the hotels in Sorrento i was a little worried that been so far out it would be a little bit too quiet but the courtesy bus went every hour and that was great.Having two teenagers i hoped they wouldnt be bored but they loved it too, All the staff were brilliant from Angelo the head barman who was very patient with my son when he was ordering drinks in italian to all the waiting staff reception and domestics, many thanks again and i would love to return one day

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simps78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We have just returned from 11 nights at the hotel La Solara and cannot praise the hotel enough. All the staff are attentive and the service is excellent. Rooms are kept spotless as are all the facilities available. The food is very good especially the salad bar at evening meal. The courtesy bus is very reliable and enables you to get out and about to Sorrento centre and further afield if desired as it drops you close to the train station.
Thanks to all the staff for a great holiday we will definately return to hotel La Solara.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruckert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2011

An excellent hotel which I recommend to anyone who is going to Sorrento, although it is 3km outside the town it is not a problem as there is a complimentary bus to and from Sorrento every hour. It is also a lovely, quiet and relaxing place with fabulous views of the bay. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Sunday Gala Evening was a brilliant idea and one we all enjoyed, even my teenage children! We were sad to leave this wonderful place and hopefully will return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peanuts011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and myself have just return yesterday (3rd June 11) from the 'La Solara Hotel' in Sorrento after an eleven night stay. We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary there, and it was lovely of the management to have a bottle of Sparkling Wine and bowl fruit in our room on our arrival. We had stayed at the La Solara nine years before in 2002, when we went to celebrated my 50th birthday, which to me was really special, but they seem to celerate birthdays more than anniversarys. Our 40th Anniversary was on the Gala Dinner Evening, which was really nice, but we felt it was nothing special as it was on my 50th birthday, so we were a little disappointed. Veal was the main meal on the menu for the Gala Dinner, which we don't eat and we weren't offered an alternative, it would have been a nice gesture!.
Our room was quiet nice, but yet again not as good, as when we first went to stay in 2002. It was functional, with a small balcony and limited sea view. The mattress was very hard which they did change and it was a little more comfortable(but not as comfy as when we had stayed before) and they upgraded us to that room with it being our Anniversary. It was noisy at night time with doors slamming,( just a note, that the doors could do with hinges 'oiling' our bathroom door was awful) adults singing along the corridor & children running down the corridor shouting, and above us someone kept moving chairs across the floor, which one night went on for an hour and when someone used the bathroom next door we could hear everything! The corridors could do with a notice saying 'Please Respect Other Guests by being Quiet'! However,my husband was ill with an upset tummy in the second week and was suffering with S&D, please let me apologise now to anybody next to us for any 'unfortunate noises' coming from our bathroom as I know the walls were thin! I also heard a number of other guests had been affected with the same tummy bug! We know the hotel was very busy in the second week with it being half term, and the team on reception tried to change the room for us again and apologised to my husband that they couldn't with being so busy. We accepted this, but yet again we were a little disappointed! Also for 4*/5* hotels normally have Tea & coffee facilities in the room as standard and it would have been nice; we know you could ask for them, but weren't sure if there was a charge for the service.
The swimming pool has been changed from the last time we stayed and was a big improvement, beautiful to swim in and kept very clean by the pool attendant with the moustache(sorry forgot your name) who work very hard everyday to keep it spotless! He was very friendly and helpful too! Nice man.
The breakfasts were good, but the eggs were overdone! We've stayed in other 4* & 5* hotels where the chef cooks the eggs in front of you so they are fresh, just a thought for the future! The evening meals I must say, were average and not as good as we had experienced in 2002! The pasta dishes were good, but the main meals were disappointing. The salads and desserts were excellent!
The Restuarant staff on the whole were great........Marcello (Head Waiter ,Thank you Marcello for the football chats and making us feel very welcome, you are a Master at your job and your professionalism shines through, the La Solara are lucky to have you! nice to see you again) Nello,(thank you Nello for the chats, you are a lovely person and work very hard and it was great to see you again, thanks for everything you did for us, you are a great asset to the La Solara) Franco( Great waiter very attentive, we called him ' To Me to You' after the Chuckle brothers HaHa) Little Guiseppe and Antonio( Thanks for the laughs and the double act you both do on the bar you were great!) You were all FANTASTIC! Some of the other waiters, weren't as good! Last Wednesday night, we went to dinner at around 8pm and it was busy, but our waiter Savernaro (I think that was his name) older chap, was quiet rude! Nello was busy taking the orders working so hard as he always does and we had been sat waiting for a good 10 minutes for the menu's. Savernaro walked past us twice without saying ' Good evening' and as he past us again I asked him for the menus he retorted 'In a minute'! I watched him walk round to the other side of the restuarant doing nothing totally ignored us, then eventually came with the menu's which he virtually threw onto my husbands plate, and said 'There you are'! We couldn't quiet believe it! He seemed in a bad mood, and never said anything much to us at all that evening! Not Good customer service Savenaro!
The entertainment was ok and the dance on the Gala Evening was enjoyable but it got a bit boring after every other night with 'Carlo & Lello' churning out the same songs, and on alternative nights it was a video concert on the television!
All the reception staff were helpful and Giavnaro(sorry if name is spelt wrong) was always very pleasant and helpful, he too was there in 2002 when we first visited. The bus drivers were lovely and helpful and always dropped us at 'Luckys'! Thank you for that.
To sum up our holiday, it was a nice rest ......the first week was the best and if we ever return we won't chose school holidays again! We may even try another hotel such as the 'Imperial Tramantarno' or 'The Royal', so we are near the centre.We love Sorrento, with its local charm and cobbled streets its wonderful! I enjoyed the Market got a few bargins. we missed out on the'Blue Cruise trip' due to my husband being ill and the thunder/lightening and the down pour of rain we got on Wednesday, very unusual apparently
Thank you all at the 'La Solara', nice Holiday, but as my title says with a few changes at the La Solara, you could be a Sparkling Diamond instead of a Shining Gem!!
Liz & Pete Doherty
Lytham St Annes UK

Room Tip: best sea views at front, beds more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

High in the hills above Sorrento, the location of this hotel is spectacular. As others have said, there's a regular minibus service into the town, so no worries about getting to the centre or climbing back up.

We usually avoid Best Western hotels but this was excellent value for money. The service was very good and the food fantastic on most days. Although billed in the brochure as catering for vegetarians we did have a couple of meals where meat appeared (once we had pieces of ham in peas!), but this was soon rectified. The gala meal by the pool was special, but slightly let down by slow service - having to wait for an hour for the food to arrive.

The room was comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the pool. I would definitely recommend Sorrento and the Hotel La Solara to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The service was excellent, friendly and attentive to our every need.
The rooms were clean, well maintained and well designed
The staff were always pleased to see you and made you welcome
Although out of the main town and uphill, this was readily overcome by a regular free mini bus that runs every hour into and out of Sorrento
All in all a great hoilday

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor had a vast balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing