We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorrento a dream place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sorrento a dream place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

After my tenth visit to this hotel I am still amazed by the cleanlines of the rooms and hotel in general.The food is always five star with the chefs always finding new recipes to whet the appetite.There are always new changes to the hotel it just does not stand still and rest on its laurels.The position outside of Sorrento is ideal because its quiet and so relaxing you feel ready to face the world again after a holiday here.looking forward to going back for more five star treatment.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giudici206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,626
    222
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
487
1,161
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Some hotels say the comfort and service of their guests are paramount. This hotel really means that. The staff in each department of the hotel must have been trained extremely well because we were made to feel special and so welcome by every one of them. Hotel La Solara had everything we required for a lovely relaxing holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a sea view room
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LPM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Faultless professional service and standards of the highest quality. Restaurant, food and staff fantastic. We've stayed in Sorrento before and wish it had been at La Solara. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a front sea view room on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw71167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Spent a week here. Quieter as outside Sorrento. Hotel bus free,hourly and quick .
Large pool garden with lemons and olives.
Ping pong (or wiff waff if you are Boris)
Excellent food ,large choice and large quantities if you want them.
Best of all - the staff. Nothing too much truble,but also excellent senses of humour. Even fond of Fawlty Towers.

Room Tip: A balcony doesn't equate the a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wifwaf1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

La Solara more than lives up to its wonderful reputaion. This was our second visit, we were welcomed by everyone, with a bottle of wine and a delightful picture to take home.
Marcello and his team in the restaurant are second to none, they really do all they can to ensure your visit will be memorable. The food is just scrumptious, the gala dinner served on Sunday evening was a feast of delicious food, with the staff making it a real occasion.
The hotel sparkles with cleanliness and is a delight to visit.
Judith & Robert Butson

Room Tip: Front and pool facing rooms to aim for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamb082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My fiancé and I stayed here in May 2011. We had booked this hotel because of a) its No. 1 Ranking on Trip Advisor, and b) the price and availability.
Here are the positives about La Solara: 1. Great, friendly staff - very helpful and cannot do enough for you. In fact, when the barman discovered that my boyfriend proposed to me on this holiday, he gave us a free bottle of wine from the bar; what a lovely touch. 2. Free bottle of wine in our room upon arrival - who doesn't love that? 3. Free shuttle bus into the centre of Sorrento - otherwise it is a lengthy downhill walk into the town (and an even more difficult steep climb on the return) or a pricey taxi ride (approx. 30 Euro). 4. Our sea room with its own balcony had the most gorgeous view over the Bay of Naples. 5. The room is large and comfortable.
Here are the negatives: 1. This hotel is far from 4 star. It is a basic 3 star - with very basic amenities. For example, in the bathroom you are provided with a tiny bottle of shampoo/ shower gel and a tiny bottle of body lotion. There is no conditioner. In addition, in the 3 nights we were at the hotel, our empty bottles were not replaced with new ones. This is a very basic service. 2. The walls of the hotel rooms are very thin so expect to be woken up early by other guests leaving their rooms or the maids cleaning. 3. The breakfast was very basic and we only tried it once because it was so unappetising. 4. The pool is nice and large but again it is a no-frills approach; one over-washed and fraying towel is all you're allowed for your sun lounger. 5. The air conditioning in our room did not work the whole time we were there.
All in all, I would not stay at this hotel again. The staff and the fantastic view were the only saving graces for what I would term a distinctively-average hotel.

Room Tip: Book a sea-view balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GildaNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
We thank you for your suggestions and for the positives about our hotel.
We hope to have you again with us to make also the negative to positive.
In the high season it can happen that something goes wrong.
Please speak with the concierge and all goes ok (positive)
Greetings from the sunny Sorrento
Ugo di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Very nice, clean, good value hotel. For some reason I was expecting the most incredible place ever as all the previous places I had stayed on the basis of Trip Advisor have been brilliant. It was nice, but not excellent - As I said, I wasn't sure what to expect.
When we arrived the staff were friendly (ish), we were travelling with my wifes parents and they gave them a much larger room and a bath even though we had a baby. We asked to be moved which they did do the next day but I did feel it was a little inconvenient for them. That aside, some other members of staff were brilliant, especially the people in the restaurant/breakfast room who were vey friendly and helpful. Pool is very nice, rooms very clean, I like the chocolate by the bed touch too! Please note the hotel is out of town so you will have to get the hourly bus service ending at 11.15 pm unless you have a car which we rented and parked in town every night. DRIVING IN ITALY ISNT THAT BAD!! Don't be a nervous driver but don't be put off by other people reviews, its just windy but there are no cliff faces or anything like that!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing or pool facing when checking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarikwindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
1.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing