We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with all the positives - and some of the negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Agree with all the positives - and some of the negatives”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We absolutely LOVED this hotel. But yes - it isn't quite as perfect as some reviews would have it. We found the comfort, cleanliness and staff helpfulness second to none. We liked the location and the courtesy bus was super reliable.

The pool and general pool area was fantastic. Spotlessly clean, loads of sunbeds, a beautiful pool to swim in - the water was crystal clear and the pool's hygene obviously taken very seriously.

Food was lovely, plenty of it and the pasta dishes and salad bar were to die for. Best rissotto I have ever had in my life. Main courses of meat and fish not quite up to the pasta standard, but very tasty all the same. Excellent service in the restaurant from a great staff.

We were very lucky as we had a fourth floor side room which had a view of the olive grove to the front and the sea to the side. We found this absolutely perfect and we got the sun in the late afternoon, which made for a lovely pre-dinner G&T. It was quiet - away from the road noise - and peaceful. You really felt in a rural location. However, rooms are a bit of a gamble at La Solara. We spotted rooms whose balconies and views we would NOT have been happy with for a fortnight's holiday, under any circumstances, with views of brick walls or the car park. One or two even looked out onto a prison style metal fence covered with fake ivy.

The hotel is also not as isolated as the professionally taken photos would have you believe. It is on a busy main road and I reckon some rooms on lower floors at the front would suffer from this.

Our room was small but very well thought out and beautifully appointed with loads of storage space. We found the beds very comfy and I slept brilliantly. In fact, I haven't had a decent night's sleep in my own bed since we returned!

Yes, the walls are thin and you will get disturbed by early risers going on trips or checking out. This happened to us on about 4 or 5 mornings out of our 14 - not too bad. We never got disturbed by peole coming back late though.

Yes, the restaurant is a little cafeteria-like, in both atmosphere and decor. It needs upgrading with better lighting and eating inside every evening on balmy Italian nights was a bit of a disappointment. The gala dinner on Sunday is held outside by the pool, on the terrace though, which was wonderful and felt very special. We asked Marcello if we could move to a window table after our first week on the fourth 'row', next to the buffet and this was no problem. He was used to people asking and moved us to a lovely table, which, I have to say, did improve things hugely.

Entertainment is poor. Lello and Carlo playing three times a week is two times too many! The buskers on the train to Pompeii were more entertaining! But you can always get the courtesy bus to Sorrento after dinner, or walk down to the little Marina, which is lovely at night and much nicer to walk back from in the cool of the evening. It is well lit and there is obviously much less traffic on that lane in the evening. We wished we'd done it sooner, rather than discovering it on our third last night.

All in all we had a fantastic fortnight and can highly recommend this hotel. No it's not perfect, but it has a charm and an atmosphere of peace and old world courtesy that makes you forget the very minor niggles.

And I have never stayed in a cleaner hotel. A huge thank you to the cleaning staff who obviously take great pride in their work.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobykizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,734
    232
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
522
1,231
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Having arrived very late in the evening myself and my husband, we were suprised to find that the restuarant had been kept open for us.the hotel itself is kept immaculate,i cannot honestly find fault with the cleanliness.We were in a room on the second floor which was facing a wall but we could still see the sea if we looked left.this wasnt to much of a let down because we didnt spend too much time in our room anyway.The food was excellent,im a very fussy eater and there was always plenty of choice.The hotel staff were very friendly,Hugo,Peppe and Angelo,to name a few were always smiling and very helpful,nothing was too much trouble.The only thing i would improve would be the evening entertainment,although Angelo singing,wow what a voice he made me smile.the hotel courtesy bus was always full with people going into the town of sorrento,this service is a must as its too far to walk and taxis are too expensive.i would definatley recommend this hotel and would go back there without hesitation.we went on the organised excursions to Pompeii and Herculano,vesuvius and the blue cruise.these are expensive but well worth the visit to these places.although a few people we met did catch the local train to pomeii and saved a lot of money going on there own,i wish i had been brave enough to do this myself.id probably not go on the thomson bookable blue cruise and just go down to the marina and book it that way as we discovered there was no guide on the boat anyway so why pay double for the same thing?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 350neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We have just returned from our 9th visit to this hotel, this time being joined by family and friends to celebrate a special birthday. As ever, the hotel was beautifully clean throughout, the fabulous staff friendly and welcoming, with nothing being too much trouble, and the food great. A room with a balcony/sea view is worth the extra cost. Yes, it is out of Sorrento, but the shuttle bus makes it easy to get into town and beyond. A visit to Pompei by train was a real experience.
I have already booked to return next year, that should say it all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Our stay here was superb, we arrived late because of the traffic, but the staff were friendly and looked after us really well, making sure we were fed and comfortable, and for the rest of the holiday the staff were always just as amenable. The rooms were kept immaculately clean as was the rest of the hotel. The food was scruptious, even though I am vegetarian there was plenty of choice, and it was always delicious. We had a lovely room with a large balcony with a sea view that was absolutely beautiful. This hotel is just outside Sorrento so a courtesy bus is provided, this proved invauable for getting about and did a return trip every half an hour. For scheduled excursions the bus came to the bottom of the driveway. We found it was the best of both worlds; a nice quiet hotel but by catching the bus we could soon be in the centre of Sorrento or even further,
The bus drop of is close to the local train station, we caught the train to Pompeii, and neither of us speak Italian, but it was easy to use. Altogether we had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandGC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We were really looking forward to staying at this hotel given all of the amazing reviews. However we found it nice, but not amazing. It was very clean. The towels were replaced at least once a day and often several times a day, and not once did a maid walk in or even knock while we were in our room (helped that there were indicators outside the door telling them when the room was occupied or not). The bedroom had twin beds which were firm but comfortable, we also had a small balcony overlooking the pool which was fine for our needs. The walls were very thin and we could hear a lot of noise from the room next door at times. There is free wi-fi in the room if you ask for a code. Flat screen TV with limited channels (BBC world news or Sky news were about the only English channels). The pool area was excellent - a large clean pool which never had more than 3 people in it at any one time, lots of sunbeds and free pool towels brought over to you. Not many children so it was nice and peaceful (apart from road noise).
Angelo the barman (looks like a slim Rafa Benitez) and his assistant Pepe (who spoke very little English and always looked terrified!) were both really friendly.
The things we found not so great were that the hotel is on a very busy road with no pavement so you can't really walk anywhere from the hotel (and walking to Sorrento would mean taking your life into your own hands). There is a walk to the local beach which takes about 15 minutes going down and you only have to cross the main road once which is not too scary and we would recommend a visit. It takes about 30 minutes on the way back up though! The food was pleasant but not out-of-this-world as some reviews suggest - we had nicer meals in Sorrento. However, the inclusive salad bar was excellent - all very fresh tasting, and the variety of fruit at breakfast was also great. What the food lacked in quality it definitely made up for in quantity - sometimes we could only manage the starter and we were full, yet you are expected to eat 3 courses every night, plus more courses at the Gala dinner on Sundays. The guests were all English and most were over 60 - being in our early 30s we did feel a bit that we were odd ones out. We did not find the staff as friendly as some reviews suggest - they were pleasant, spoke little English, and got more friendly towards the end of the week when they wanted tipping. It felt to us that they were just doing their job rather than having a genuine interest in, or friendship with, any guests. We would definitely go back to Sorrento in the future as the holiday was great, but next time we would stay in Sorrento itself as we find it so much easier having shops/restaurants/bars within walking distance of the hotel and despite the other reviews this hotel was good but not exceptional.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank brumc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Well maintained, clean, comfortable.

On the Thompsons and similar lists.

Very hard to fault as they seem to do everything right.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My partner and I returned from a superb week's stay at La Solara about two weeks ago and are still raving about our time there and I suspect we will contintue to do so for some time to come yet. We booked a late package with Thomson Holidays and got an absolute bargain. This meant a compromise on the view from our room, which bothered us very little because of the excellent service and facilities on the pool/bar/terrace area. That said, if I had paid the full price I wouldn't have begrudged a single penny of it.

Flawless, friendly and efficient service is the cornerstone at La Solara and it can be found everywhere from the helpful reception staff, the professional yet very enthusistic waiters and bar staff and a special mention for the cleaners who manage to remain virtually unseen yet you will be hard pressed to find any issues with cleanliness.

The aforementioned pool area is first class with seating and loungers always available, drinks brought to you and of course a well-sized pool; always clean and never too busy. Prices for food at the bar are a bit steep if you plan to have lunch there so I would reccomend venturing into Sorrento or just filling up at breakfast and leaving yourself hungry for dinner.

This brings me to the best part, the food. The hotel restaurant provides a good choice for breakfast and the quality is high but it is all about dinner time. Every night you will be able to choose from a pleasing variety across three courses and a buffet salad bar. Drinks are priced surprisingly well so you will be able to enjoy a bottle of wine with your ample portions of delicious food without worrying about the Euros adding up, although the pounds will certainly start to pile on but, hey, you're on holiday.

Away from the hotel I can recommend the Amalfi drive operated by Thomson but for the other attractions it is cost-effective to take the free hourly hotel shuttle bus into Sorrento and from there you can hop on the train for Pompeii (and Vesuvius from there) and Naples.

All I can say to finish is that Sorrento sits in a stunning part of the world and La Solara is a perfect base to set off on your adventures or just live there if that's the kind of holiday you like because you won't be wanting for anything.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Merry Christmas and happy 2012 from each and everyone of us
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing