We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very hospitable well run & attentive community running the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very hospitable well run & attentive community running the hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Dear Ugo Di Maio & all the staff at the Hotel La Solara in Sorrento,

We would like to thank you for your very hospitable and friendly attention throughout our holiday duration April 13th - 20th 2012. Every request was met including...uncover of the heated 23 meter pool at very short notice to swim, & very early fully laid out & served breakfast at 6am when needed to accomodate excursions & departure times. I think the team of staff at this hotel are amazing people who are totally dedicated to providing excellent customer service. To me this is what makes this hotel special, aside from the views, quiet mountain area, hourly & reliable courtesy bus service, very good food, cleanliness. Excellent job all who work there. Thank you.

Room Tip: Make the most of your stay by relaxing & enjoying what is on offer rather than relying on any sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YolandaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,675
    225
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
506
1,192
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

La Solara is a great base to do the sights in this area, rooms clean and comfortable, excellent food, fantastic views but most of all fantasic staff who go just that bit further than they need to to make the whole experience special. The restaurant is a true fine dining experience and the waiting staff are a credit to the Maitre d', Marcello who is the true and consumate professional. The bar is a great, though expensive, Angelo tries very hard and is an entertaining raconteur. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the desk staff who were always helpful and smiling. Cleaning staff and room service could not be faulted for their cheery and helpful demeanour which seems os rare in hotels these days. The hotel's private bus service to Sorrento is run hourly and drops you right in the mioddle of town and close to the rail and bus stations, ideal for going further afield such as Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Capri, Naples and Amalfi.

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Place!!We had a week of torrential rain and the hotel saved a holiday and made it a pleasure, thanks!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rustedandrotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for a week in April 2012. Although the weather was terrible (poured every day) the hotel itself was great. They even whipped the covers off the pool for the 1 hour when the sun did make an appearance so we could have a swim. Staff were particularly helpful and pleasant, lots of thoughtful touches (complementary wine in bedroom) and the food was terrific, if a bit slow in arriving sometimes. Although it's a bit out of town, the hourly shuttle bus is good. All in all excellent value, would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doneillBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This return visit to La Solara, (after many times) with a two year lapse was just as relaxing as ever. The staff are so helpful and friendly it's like going home. If it wasn't for the staff we probably wouldn't go there again! as it is, we go in to our holiday agent and say " La Solara, when is there an available booking either April or October and off we go! We would not dream of going to Sorrento and staying any were else.
If you are into the history, the period during the eruption of Mount Versuvios is all excavated and is all there to be seen and amazed at, what an historic adventure! and if it's just relaxation, like us at our stage in life you need not move from the hotel, their effort to make you comfortable from the moment you arrive until you leave is to be experienced to be believed!
There is a little port down from the hotel called Paulo and if feeling energetic go down there and enjoy the local food and hospitality, be warned though, it's steep coming back especially after the lunch you can have down there!

Room Tip: Third floor upwards with pool or sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
206 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We headed out to Sorrento to relax after a busy week with students in Rome and Florence. This place was hard to find when first coming from the train station, but once we figured out where the free shuttle picks up, it offered a nice respite. We had a HUGE room, especially by Italian standards, with 2 TVs! The staff was very friendly and competent, and there were nice little touches, like complimentary wine & sweets. The wifi comes and goes, but that seems to happen all over Italy. There was a very nice breakfast buffet with a view overlooking the sea. Same with the pool – and as a swimmer, I was very glad to finally stay somewhere with a pool big enough to swim laps. But it’s also nice just for lounging. Getting into town was a bit of a chore with the shuttle, but it’s nice to be up on the hill away from the hustle and bustle. If you want a relaxing retreat, this should do it.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms overlooking the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakalanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the La Solara hotel. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony and amazing views over the bay of Naples, the room was spottlessly clean and were provided with a free bottle of wine apon arrival which was lovely, the cleaners also gave us a chocolate each on our pillows before bed which was a nice touch . The staff were very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble. We dinned there throughout our stay, the food was of excellent quality and lots of choice for me (being vegetarian), the portion sizes were big, on one occassion having a 10 inch pizza for starters so never went hungry! I would like to recomend the fresh apple juice, we had a couple of glasses every night it was so nice! Even though the weather wasn't great throughout our stay we still managed to go everywhere we wanted thanks to the free minibus which ran like clockwork from 8am-11pm that took you into Sorrento. If you ask the driver he can drop you outside the train station which was easy for geting to Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius (30 mins journey and very cheep at 3.40 euros return), also visited Capri Island which was stunning with its cobbled streets, lemon trees and coastal views. The hydrofoil left from Marina Grande (30 euros for a round trip). Overall we had a great holiday and would recomend La Solara hotel to anyone wanting to stay around Sorrento.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 220 at the front of the hotel which had great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NesCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Superb hotel, excellent service, friendly staff, very nice food. Pool and sun terrace with bar and snack bar was very peaceful and a beautiful area to relax. Room clean and comfortable with complimentary sweets every evening and a nice bottle wine when we arrived.
Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff and they went out of their way to be friendly. On Sunday evening there was a 'Gala dinner' which was absolutely wonderful. Many courses and Chefs parading the food into the restaurant on silver salvers! The complimentary hourly bus service into Sorrento is efficient and comfortable, running till 11pm. If you miss this a Taxi is about 25 Euro for six people.
Sorrento has excellent transport links and there is absolutely no need to pre book tours or excursions. The train runs to Naples every 20 minutes and there are stops for Pompeii 'Scavi' and Herculaneum. You can take a trip up Vesuvius from Pompeii for about 20 Euro. Bus links are good and you buy tickets before boarding.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpcressy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing