We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,260)
Filter reviews
2,260 results
Traveller rating
1,911
264
58
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,911
264
58
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every hour gala dinner quarter past the hour shuttle bus salad bar always on time sea view evening meal fantastic hotel waiter service plenty of sunbeds great holiday half board hotel is spotlessly clean large pool pool attendant amalfi coast
Filter
Updating list...
1,435 - 1,440 of 2,260 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife has always wanted to see Pompeii and Herculaneum, and her wishes were fulfilled when we booked this hotel, after reading reviews on TA and other sites. The hotel is out on the peninsula beyond Sorrento, so quietly peaceful, and with a limited bay view. Getting around is no problem, and the best advice is to use the excellent hotel transport and the circumvesuviana train.
We had a hire car for the week, which allowed us more freedom, but you need to be a confident and experienced driver to tackle both the roads and the local traffic. If I came again, I would not consider a car worthwhile.
We had booked b& b, since we normally like to eat out at different restaurants each night, but the dinners at the hotel were so good, that we ate there every night bar one. ( El Nido- also recommended). Dining room service was impeccable and friendly. The breakfast offered a large choice of the usual continental type. If you like a fully cooked English style breakfast , you may be disappointed. Quality of fruit, juice , pastries etc was excellent.
We do not look for evening entertainment to be provided by the hotel, but the house "duo" seemed to keep most of our fellow guests happily entertained on three nights.
In summary- am excellent choice if you are a couple who want peace and quiet and quality service. If you have a young family or want nightlife and poolside fun- look elsewhere - probably not in the the Sorrento area!

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank keithhatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way back to Rome and was a great value. Large clean hotel room, free parking, view of the sea from the nice pool. Friendly staff and just outside of town. It's too far to walk but they provide a shuttle to town, Highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank originalmissscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Second marvellous visit to La Solara. Having found this absolute gem of a hotel two years ago, there is nowhere else we would think about staying in or around Sorrento. Many fine things have been written about the hotel on these pages - one of the reasons we chose La Solara in the first place - and we agree with them all, but the greatest asset the hotel has is its staff and management.

In all the hotels my wife and I have stayed in over the years, overseas and in the UK, most of them wonderful in their own way, none has matched the pleasure of being looked after, every day, by such welcoming, friendly, do-anything-to-help people as we have experienced in our two stays at La Solara. Unfair as it is to single out individuals, we have to give special mention to the excellent Marcello and Nello in the restaurant, Angelo the superb head barman, and the ubiquitous Pepe!

If you don't care about how you're treated on holiday, then La Solara will still give you everything you want, including a great, peaceful location (only 10min by courtesy shuttle bus to Sorrento) and the best food and drink we've ever experienced in a holiday hotel; but if, like us, you enjoy being looked after, then La Solara is the one that we think has set the bar in terms of service and care.

Room tip: Any one of the four rooms on the 5th floor, unless you're booking when we are!
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

As we had used Best Western Hotels in other places in Italy, we decided to try La Solara.
Generally the experience was positive. The hotel clearly caters to holiday packages for people from Britain and had the feel of a retirement village. Our twenty two year old daughter who joined us was the youngest person there by about forty years! (In fairness after a couple of days there were a couple of other families with younger children). The additional charge for our daughter was expensive at 50 Euros extra a night. It is well appointed, clean and the cleaning staff were very thorough - even folding our PJs neatly and tidying up our mess. Our balcony overlooked the Bay of Naples. Unfortunately it was also close to the lounge where the piano bar and the entertainment provided as part of the package tours went on until about 11.00pm. With your balcony door/window open you could also hear the conversations of people on the next balcony as they drank their complimentary bottle or red and loudly debated their plans for the next day! The breakfast was excellent but the wait staff had very clear ideas about where you should sit. We checked out the dinner menu but felt that it was very expensive if you weren't part of the package tour. We preferred to have meals in Sorrento and the shuttle bus was great for this. Each trip began and ended with the driver backing up/down the very steep driveway - it certainly added to the adventure! Both the drivers were helpful and happily dropped us off at the train station on the day of our departure which was a great help when we were dragging a big suitcase. The pool area was lovely and we were so disappointed that it was just too cold to have a swim. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

When I booked my hotels in Italy, I made sure to book on Best Western hotels because of its free breakfast and wifi. It's really useful having these freebies because of time constraints. Hotel La Solara is considered a Best Western Premium hotel having a bigger hotel feel compared to their other hotels. I chose this hotel because I will be bringing a car and made sure that parking will not be a problem. I arrived from Amalfi at around 8pm, the hotel was located 10 minutes away from Sorrento but was convenient in its own way. Parking was free and spacious. A man greeted us upon arriving and helped us with our luggage. Checking in was a breeze as everything was prepared and in 5 minutes time we were in our room.
The room was big, maybe around 25 sqm and has its own balcony without a view. Everything was in order except that there were no free house slippers. The flooring was not carpeted so it would be a bit hard walking on cold tiles.
We had our breakfast at its big dining hall which was properly reserved per room. The food could actually pass as your brunch saving you for lunch. Tons of ham, cheese, yoghurt and fruits. I forgot to mention it has its own heated swimming pool but didn't care to swim because of cold weather.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JopetSy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews