We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, good food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We choose this hotel because it had excellent food reviews. And indeed the food was fantastic, and offered a very good selection of vegitarian anti pastas, starters and mains. Our standard room was very good and clean. The hotel runs a courtesy bus to/from Sorrento every hour, thus making it the perfect location to retreat to. And we enjoyed a late afternoon swim in the heated pool!!

Room Tip: We will definitely return to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife has always wanted to see Pompeii and Herculaneum, and her wishes were fulfilled when we booked this hotel, after reading reviews on TA and other sites. The hotel is out on the peninsula beyond Sorrento, so quietly peaceful, and with a limited bay view. Getting around is no problem, and the best advice is to use the excellent hotel transport and the circumvesuviana train.
We had a hire car for the week, which allowed us more freedom, but you need to be a confident and experienced driver to tackle both the roads and the local traffic. If I came again, I would not consider a car worthwhile.
We had booked b& b, since we normally like to eat out at different restaurants each night, but the dinners at the hotel were so good, that we ate there every night bar one. ( El Nido- also recommended). Dining room service was impeccable and friendly. The breakfast offered a large choice of the usual continental type. If you like a fully cooked English style breakfast , you may be disappointed. Quality of fruit, juice , pastries etc was excellent.
We do not look for evening entertainment to be provided by the hotel, but the house "duo" seemed to keep most of our fellow guests happily entertained on three nights.
In summary- am excellent choice if you are a couple who want peace and quiet and quality service. If you have a young family or want nightlife and poolside fun- look elsewhere - probably not in the the Sorrento area!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank keithhatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way back to Rome and was a great value. Large clean hotel room, free parking, view of the sea from the nice pool. Friendly staff and just outside of town. It's too far to walk but they provide a shuttle to town, Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank originalmissscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Second marvellous visit to La Solara. Having found this absolute gem of a hotel two years ago, there is nowhere else we would think about staying in or around Sorrento. Many fine things have been written about the hotel on these pages - one of the reasons we chose La Solara in the first place - and we agree with them all, but the greatest asset the hotel has is its staff and management.

In all the hotels my wife and I have stayed in over the years, overseas and in the UK, most of them wonderful in their own way, none has matched the pleasure of being looked after, every day, by such welcoming, friendly, do-anything-to-help people as we have experienced in our two stays at La Solara. Unfair as it is to single out individuals, we have to give special mention to the excellent Marcello and Nello in the restaurant, Angelo the superb head barman, and the ubiquitous Pepe!

If you don't care about how you're treated on holiday, then La Solara will still give you everything you want, including a great, peaceful location (only 10min by courtesy shuttle bus to Sorrento) and the best food and drink we've ever experienced in a holiday hotel; but if, like us, you enjoy being looked after, then La Solara is the one that we think has set the bar in terms of service and care.

Room Tip: Any one of the four rooms on the 5th floor, unless you're booking when we are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

As we had used Best Western Hotels in other places in Italy, we decided to try La Solara.
Generally the experience was positive. The hotel clearly caters to holiday packages for people from Britain and had the feel of a retirement village. Our twenty two year old daughter who joined us was the youngest person there by about forty years! (In fairness after a couple of days there were a couple of other families with younger children). The additional charge for our daughter was expensive at 50 Euros extra a night. It is well appointed, clean and the cleaning staff were very thorough - even folding our PJs neatly and tidying up our mess. Our balcony overlooked the Bay of Naples. Unfortunately it was also close to the lounge where the piano bar and the entertainment provided as part of the package tours went on until about 11.00pm. With your balcony door/window open you could also hear the conversations of people on the next balcony as they drank their complimentary bottle or red and loudly debated their plans for the next day! The breakfast was excellent but the wait staff had very clear ideas about where you should sit. We checked out the dinner menu but felt that it was very expensive if you weren't part of the package tour. We preferred to have meals in Sorrento and the shuttle bus was great for this. Each trip began and ended with the driver backing up/down the very steep driveway - it certainly added to the adventure! Both the drivers were helpful and happily dropped us off at the train station on the day of our departure which was a great help when we were dragging a big suitcase. The pool area was lovely and we were so disappointed that it was just too cold to have a swim. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

When I booked my hotels in Italy, I made sure to book on Best Western hotels because of its free breakfast and wifi. It's really useful having these freebies because of time constraints. Hotel La Solara is considered a Best Western Premium hotel having a bigger hotel feel compared to their other hotels. I chose this hotel because I will be bringing a car and made sure that parking will not be a problem. I arrived from Amalfi at around 8pm, the hotel was located 10 minutes away from Sorrento but was convenient in its own way. Parking was free and spacious. A man greeted us upon arriving and helped us with our luggage. Checking in was a breeze as everything was prepared and in 5 minutes time we were in our room.
The room was big, maybe around 25 sqm and has its own balcony without a view. Everything was in order except that there were no free house slippers. The flooring was not carpeted so it would be a bit hard walking on cold tiles.
We had our breakfast at its big dining hall which was properly reserved per room. The food could actually pass as your brunch saving you for lunch. Tons of ham, cheese, yoghurt and fruits. I forgot to mention it has its own heated swimming pool but didn't care to swim because of cold weather.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JopetSy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We were blessed with surprisingly good weather which no doubt boosted our overall impressions.

The Hotel was excellent on the whole. The room was superb, spacious, immaculately clean with a comfortable bed and well-appointed bathroom. Only gripe, despite having a small balcony there was no view, we backed onto a steep olive grove bank surrounded by barbed wire, offering some security no doubt, but not very attractive. We would have asked for a different room but the hotel was full, surprising in April but maybe an indication of the hotels popularity.

The hotel is situated around 4km outside Sorrento which suited us at it was fairly quiet and the hourly free hotel bus to and from the town was an excellent service, operating from 8am to 11pm.

The food overall was good with reasonable choice for both breakfast and dinner. You can swap dinner for lunch which is a useful service giving the option of eating out in the evening. We did have dinner in Sorrento and a decent but not spectacular meal including wine cost around 100 Euros for two.

The staff were attentive but discreet.

I recommend the hotel and will return, next time taking the Restaurant Manager, Marcello’s, advice and relaxing more rather than taking in all the sights which are a strain in one week.

Only hire a car, which I did, if you have nerves of steel, which I discovered I haven’t.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if possible for reasons mentioned in this review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
2.1 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £108 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing