We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent the last week of May at La Solara. We booked through Thomsons and got the last top price level of sea view room - we booked in January, so you have to book early! It was well worth getting a sea view room. Our room had a wonderful view (beautiful sunsets) and a terrace. The room itself had basic furniture but all well kept and it had comfortable beds and a nice tiled floor too. We didn't get any noise from other rooms.

The thing that really stood out for us was the cleanliness of the room and the communal areas, all kept spotlessly clean. The hotel cleaning staff are rarely seen but behind the scenes do a fantastic job.

There were lovely little touches which gave a personal and friendly feel to the hotel, like being welcomed by the manager and staff on arrival and bid farewell on departure, plus the turning down of the beds and the little chocolate each night(!) and the bottle of wine in the room on arrival.

The evening meal (dining room a bit 70s in decor and table linen, but one could call it 'rustic' too!) was good - anything Italian particularly good! I thought the mezze on the salad buffet was devine! Breakfasts were very nice too. Waiting staff efficient and friendly.

As another review said, you need to decide what you want from this holiday and whether you would prefer to be in the centre of Sorrento or don't mind being outside. It didn't bother us taking the hotel shuttle bus into Sorrento, but there were times when it would have been nice not to have to time our departure by the bus.

One day we took a public bus from Sorrento's main bus terminal to Positano but we couldn't get on the first bus and had to wait half an hour for the next, and then on our return had to cram onto a bus, standing and at points hanging on for dear life!! We took the excursion for Amalfi and Ravello with Thomsons which was good and worth the extra cost for less hassle!

90% couples when we were there.

You can see why people keep going back to this hotel You know that you will find a a very well run hotel - homely feel, friendly staff who seem to be a real team, quiet at night, good food and very clean.

Room Tip: Worth getting a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csKent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here as was in Sorrento for a Wedding. We chose to stay apart from the main wedding party down the road at the more expensive Cape Demonte and we were glad for it.
This hotel is set outside of Sorrento alhough there is a free and regular shuttle bus, my only gripe being the last one back from Sorrento is a bit early at 11.15.
On arrival we had food given to us even though our flight was delayed and we didn't get there till almost midnight.
The rooms are clean and fairly well appointed and the bathroom we had was large. We were also at the front of the hotel and had an amazing view (even though we didn't request or pay for it)
I agree with other commentors that the rooms could better isolated as you do hear every noise going on around you.
Food wise it was really good and as we ate out they kindly swapped our half board evening meal for a really good lunch - in fact the portions are enormous!
The staff are all amazing, really friendly and have a great sense of humour. There is no evening entertainment to speak of although this didn't bother us as we were out all the time.
Our bar bill for the week was also really good value.
I would recommend this hotel if you like somewhere spotless and friendly but not if you are after a really lively hotel. Just ask for a room at the front.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have much bigger balconies although I don't know if they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCorkster1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed in this Hotel between 14th May and 25th May 2012 and can honestly say that we couldn't fault it. We arrived after 10pm to find the restaurant staff waiting to feed us. The hotel was clean and well presented. Our hotel room (208) was big including two arm chairs and two v.large TVs. There was also a free bottle of wine in the room on the first evening which was a great touch. The room did have a balcony to the side overlooking the pool but if you are considering this hotel ask for a sea view room. We booked fairly late and missed out. The sunsets from these rooms are awesome!
There is a great pool (23 metres) and terrace area with a bar serving drinks and snacks (conveniently charged to you room).There is also a small CV fitness room if that's your thing.
The hotel itself is situated outside of Sorrento which is ideal especially when there is an hourly free shuttle bus to town from 0745 (then 0900) to 2200. Its about a 15 minute journey so you can enjoy the peace of the hotel and be minutes away from a great town.
I have left the restaurant last because it deserves a special mention. The food was outstanding! The traditional or continental breakfasts in the morning have enough variety and are served between 0730 and 1000. However, the evening meals are a different class. Four courses (inc. Buffet salad) all of exceptional quality. All of this is topped off with great service from the freindly staff.
We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room. The higher the better (goes up to 5th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Back for 7th visit as part of celebrating our 40th Wedding anniversary. Each time we feel the place is perfect and each visit we find some minor improvement - the garden, slightly wider range of food, Antonio removing a single leaf from the pool the moment it falls in!

The staff are of one mind, that everything should be perfect and friendly, you can reorganise furniture for your particular group either by the pool or in the lounge but the moment you leave everything is swiftly reorganised back to symmetrical perfection. The place never feels overcrowded even after the Gala Dinner (Sunday).

Our personal hi-light was a special meal for our anniversary which was utterly memorable.

Thanks to Ugo and his wife for being perfectionists and to Marcello, Nello and al the staff in the dining room, Antonio at the pool, Nicola and all the staff at reception, not forgetting Angelo on the bar. Dora and her team of housekeepers keep the place spotless and are unlike the housekeeping staff I've ever experienced in a hotel.

We're already planning the dates for our next visit.

Room Tip: The hotel is built into a cliff. Pool and Mediterranean view rooms are extra but worth it. Thompson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at The Hotel La Solara for 1 week from 25th May 2012.

The hotel is located just outside of Sorrento.

Our room was a standard double at the back of the hotel. There was no view at all from the room as it was one of those at the back of the hotel, the hotel being built into the side of a hill. It wasn't important for us although disappointing for a 'Thomson's Platinum' hotel. If you like to relax on a balcony with a drink in the evening I would strongly suggest you contact the hotel to ask for a room with a view.

The room was very clean with a tiled floor. Initially there was no tea/coffee making facilities available in the room. These needed to be requested specifically at reception. Once requested they were maintained permanently for the duration of the stay.

The room's air conditioning was not turned on until mid-way through our stay. In fairness to the hotel the weather for May had been atrocious, rainy and cold, so it must have been thought that air conditioning would not be needed.

Sound-proofing is not very good in the rooms. We could hear people in the adjoining rooms flushing the toilet, opening/closing drawers etc.

The bathroom was very clean and well appointed. The shelves were stocked with the usual complimentary bottles of soap and body lotion etc, the used ones being replaced every day. There was no bath and the shower unit was quite small. If you dropped the soap you had a struggle to pick it up!

My wife and I had booked half-board and we weren't disappointed. The food was not only very plentiful but also excellent. Breakfast was a buffet style with a large choice...cereals, meat, cheese, cakes, yogurts, toast, bread etc, etc... so much choice, even scrambled eggs and either sausages or bacon...or meat balls. Dinner was from a set menu with a good choice, changed daily. There was a well stocked salad bar, followed by three courses from the menu. We really struggled to eat all that was put before us and I personally have a big appetite. In all the food was excellent.

The pool is large, was a little on the cool side, but great once you were in. There is a pool-side bar. Bathing towels are provided.

There is a hotel shuttle bus that drives into Sorrento town centre every hour from 8:00am until 11:00pm to drop off and pick guests.

I must vote as I found it. I have given 4/5 as there were some disappointments. A wall was the view from our room. No bath, very small shower unit. No air-con at first. Some noise from adjoining rooms.

On the plus side: Great service, fantastic food, nice pool, good shuttle service every hour into Sorrento, great location a little way out from busy Sorrento.

Mistakes can be made...my wife religiously checked all 'extras' on the bill. We had been charged for mini-bar consumption which we hadn't used. No problem, but best to check the bill carefully...

Please be aware that although nothing to do with the hotel, mobile phone signal is very poor/intermittent.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank UKRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Excellent small 58 room family run hotel outside busy Sorrento, to us this was a bonus. Hotel bus every hour was available making the trip about 20 minutes depending on traffic.
The most sincerely friendly and welcoming staff ever encountered. Without doubt the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at, with it seemed an 'army' of ladies there every day. In the dinning room nothing to much trouble, my wife needs gluten free food and this was catered for at every meal with advice and special prepared bread, sauces or pasta etc. when she ordered. When asked if they had GF lager they said no but tomorrow yes and next day it was available. Rooms/bathrooms are good but not high luxury, which was what we expected of this size hotel, best to book a a room with a balcony facing the front or pool side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Front or larger pool side rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have just returned from a week at La Solara, and the hotel is great! The staff are very helpful and friendly, and extremely polite. The rooms are excellent, clean and spacious. Large outdoor swimming pool, and very clean. The room cleaners can be a little noisy in the mornings, so lie ins beyond 9am are difficult. We also made use of the gym facilities. The food in the hotel restaurant is outstanding and the service top class.
The hotel is slightly outside of Sorrento town, which is not a problem as there is a complimentary shuttle bus service which runs hourly taking guests into town and picking up. On the bus the town is only 10 minutes drive away and the bus was always right on time.
Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ones with a sea view (at the front of the hotel) or those facing the pool seem to be more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

The management and all the staff would like to thank all customers who appreciated the hard work done to make their stay as pleasant as possible.
We hope to have you back with us in the near future 2013
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,747 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £97 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing