We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2013 Sorrento Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“June 2013 Sorrento Holiday”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We first stayed at La Solara 22 years ago and enjoyed our holiday then. However, under the Best Western brand the hotel has been modernised with a new swimming pool, bar and sunbathing area and is now even better. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean throughout, rooms and public areas alike and all the staff are very helpful and friendly. The dining room is pleasantly situated looking out to sea. The food is excellent and plentiful with a good choice at both the buffet breakfast and at dinner which is waiter service. The hotel is located over a mile from Sorrento itself, but this is not a problem as the hourly shuttle bus runs into Sorrento throughout the day until late. A great place to stay and we will not be leaving it another 22 years before we return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear the Solara friend Rayolee,
He was truly a pleasure to have you with us again after 22 years and we thank you for everything that you wrote about our hotel and for this we can only say GRAZIE!
For your next visit, we hope that it won’t be In a very distant future, we will do everything to make your stay to your liking. Greetings again from all the staff who appreciated your words and the management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,700
    228
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
513
1,206
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Codsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

An absolutely outstanding hotel - from the enthusiastic and friendly welcome, to the professional checkout in the early morning this was a flawless customer experience. The staff are genuinely friendly but ultimately professional, with every request responded to efficiently and with a smile. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well equipped, the facilities are excellent and the food is amazing. The shuttle service to Sorrento is punctual and reliable, although the hotel is some way further out from the city than we expected. We would have no hesitation in recommending La Solara to the most discerning of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-n-Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear the Solara friend Ian_Angela_1956,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and for this we can only say GRAZIE!
For your next visit we will do everything to make your stay again to your liking and that you, like so many other guests (friends), will return to Sorrento year after year.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and the management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

You will be warmly welcomed into the Italian bosom by coming on holiday to this hotel. The service is unparalleled to anywhere I have been previously. Nothing more could be done including letting us have a room for a bit after check out to freshen up after a morning in the baking heat in Sorrento.

You are a little bit out of the centre but it does mean you get a quiet pool to use. 23m in length and 12 across you get ample opportunity to swim a few lengths or have some time with the kids. The free shuttle bus on the hour means its stress free to get into Sorrento which is perfect.

Gala night on Sunday is lovely and I just wish they had this on two occasions. You wouldn't visit this hotel for evening entertainment although by the time you have gone through 4 courses of food you probably are not ready to move far anyway. The fact that you occupy the same table throughout the week is lovely and the table service for evening meals is a joy. You also have evening entertainment on Tuesday and Thursday but this is repetition of the guys that play at the gala night.

I loved the free Italian lesson on Tuesday/Thursday. They do differ but we were only able to make one. The trip to Capri was great and we opted for the select boat cruise which meant only 12 of us on one boat, swimming off Capri and some free Peroni's did the trick.

The other trip to Vesuvius and Pompeii appears relatively cheap but you need to pay €21 euros to get into the two combined and €13 for lunch so this trip had a few extra payments which was a bit of a stealth tax.

The hotel is exceptionally clean which is very reassuring.

We were a couple aged 34 and 26 and felt that this hotel is more suited to those 50+ but we still loved it for the fact that it was nice and quiet. There were a few children but this hotel seems to congregate well behaved people together. So if you fancy Sorrento you won't go wrong by booking in here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the fifth floor. You won't believe the balcony size The free shuttle bus ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear the Solara friend mooro79,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and we are honored that you feel part of the great family.
Thank you!
For your next visit we will do everything to make your holiday again to your liking and I will be happy to introduce personally throughout our working family.
Greetings from all of us which we appreciated your word
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from our second stay at La Solara. The hotel for us is perfect. The staff are very helpful, friendly and polite. Our room was kept spotlessly clean. The food, as before was excellent. The hourly free shuttle bus service is perfect for getting into Sorrento. We can not praise the hotel enough and hopefully will be making a third visit next year. Paul and Mary.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview with balcony for beautiful sunsets over Capri.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear the Solara friend Mary S,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and we are pleased that you remained again satisfied with the valuable work of our staff, our food and our service.
GRAZIE! For your next visit we will do everything to make your stay again to your liking so you can continue to come back to LA SOLARA year after year.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and the management
Ugo and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked the Hotel la Sorrento online on a B&B basis as we were planning to do a lot of sight seeing.
We did not specify a sea view and were given a room at the back of the hotel. However Nicola moved us to a room overlooking the pool with a balcony on our second day as it had become available. This was unprompted and gratefully received
As said by previous reviewers, both rooms were large, spotlessly clean and comfortable and we were given a bottle of wine and chocolates on the pillow. A lovely touch.
We only had breakfast and a couple of lunches at the hotel but the food was tasty and varied and attractively presented. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming - from housekeeping, bar and waiting staff as well as the bus driver. This is very unusual in a hotel - and really stood out.
We did drink in the bar in the evening and bar prices were very reasonable, more like pub prices than hotel prices.
I can understamd why people come back year after year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaseFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear the Solara friend CaseFamily,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and we are pleased that we have fully satisfied and that you make an excellent advertisement for us
GRAZIE! For your next visit we will do everything to make your stay again to your liking so you can continue advertise us.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and the management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Trust the reviews this is a beautiful hotel with excellent staff wonderful food. The staff are just like one big happy family. Location right way from the hustle of sorrento but a mini bus takes you down on the hour. Just believe all the reviews and go.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Solara friend Richard T,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and for a very good advertisement for us.
Grazie mille!
For your next visit we will do everything to make your stay again to your liking so you can still advertise us.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and the management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel stays with you. I don't know if it's the fantastic staff, the amazing food or the superb facilities or probably the perfect combination of all three. I've stayed here three times now and I've always been bowled over by just what a brilliant Hotel it is.

Room Tip: Notify well in advance for balcony or sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sensorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear the Solara friend Sensorian,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and we believe that it is always nice and proud for what you do in your hotel and that our customers are an excellent advertisement for us.
For your next visit we will do everything to make your stay again to your liking so we will remain your favorite and you can still advertise us.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,991 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing