We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stopped in this hotel between the 9th and 16th August. This is an excellent hotel, would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a little bit of luxury. The food, staff and cleanliness of the hotel was excellent. The swimming pool and the snack bar were especially good. We will certainly be going back. Would just like to say a special thanks to the porter, provided excellent service right to the end.

Room Tip: The higher the better, pool facing rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morris558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear the Solara friend Morris558,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and we are pleased that you are fully satisfied. this is an excellent advertisement for us GRAZIE!
For your next visit we will do everything to make your stay again to your liking so you can continue advertise us.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and the management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 2,086 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We had a very early flight into Naples so got up at 2:30am, when we arrived at La Solara we were very hot & tired. The welcome we received made us relax and unwind straight away. Sitting in the lounge area admiring the beautiful view with a cold glass of prosecco and some nibbles to welcome us to the hotel. We immediately noticed how clean & quiet the hotel is, also how attentive and friendly the staff are.

Our room was a very good size and our balcony was HUGE! We were on floor 5 and had the most amazing view of the sunsets every evening. The room was always spotlessly clean & the turndown service with the chocolate is a nice touch. We had two sun beds and also a small set of table & chairs, we would have used the balcony more if there was a parasol available to offer some shade as there was none at all.

The breakfast selection was great. The portion sizes at the pool bar were very big, we ordered one meal between two and it was plenty. The same portion sizes applied at dinner, but the food is probably the best we've had at a hotel. The staff were so friendly and accommodating with any request (such as just chocolate ice-cream rather than mixed - which by the way was delicious!). The gala dinner was also good fun and we loved how the waiters joined in the singing and dancing at the end of the evening.

We chose not to do the organised tours but travelled on our own using the trains. This was much cheaper and very easy. The shuttle bus is great and we used it loads.

The staff at this hotel definitely made the difference. One of the reception staff was chatting to us one evening asking about our holiday and also ourselves, he then explained that we are not his guests, but his friends. This is exactly how we were made to feel every day and it was great! A special mention to Nello, Giuseppe & Angelo.

Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki_mcqueen_1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear La Solara friend COYS1980,
The entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted. This makes us happy and makes us work with new energy to have more and more friends who return to us year after year.
See you soon
The entire staff and management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Having just returned today from a 7 day stay at La Solara (through Thompsons - shame we couldn't have the 10 days we wanted)), just thought that on behalf of the family we would like to say a big thank you to all the staff ( Reception, Cleaning, Bar, Catering and Pool - Sorry if we have missed anyone out) they were all fantastic.
The Hotel itself does not disappoint being spacious and very clean, located to the south of Sorrento and not in the centre, but a free shuttle bus to the centre is provided on the hour from 8.00am not sure till when but at least 11.00pm.
We were on half board and did not struggle to find anything to eat, there was a wide variety to suit most tastes with vegetarians being catered for, with any special diets being catered for by the obliging restaurant staff led by Marcello.
We purchased set of Sorrento Tables from a local Factory, with a view to carry then back on the plane (flat packed) not possibly one of our best ideas as they weighed approx. 10kgs. The Reception staff were great and have arranged for them to be sent on for us to our UK home address (obviously we are having to pay the P&P for them) but just an example how accommodating the staff are - we are eagerly awaiting their arrival.
If you are looking for a friendly, relaxing hotel holiday then look no further than La Solara, but be aware that this Hotel gets booked up quickly by returning satisfied customers - enough said....
Well done to all at La Solara, if we are looking to stay in this wonderful area of Italy in the future, you will be our first port of call.

Room Tip: 5 Floors to choose from, the higher the better. Ask for a balcony with a sea view. We stayed in Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungBarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear La Solara friend YoungBarbarian,
We can only write "GRAZIE". The entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted. This makes us happy and makes us work with new energy. We look forward to your next stay with us.
CIAO from Sorrento
The entire staff and management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Let me begin by saying how impressed my husband and I were with our stay in Sorrento. After reading reviews onTripadvisor we couldn't help but go to see what all the hype was about. It's all true! The staff is the real gem of this hotel! They are all friendly and treat you like family. The rooms are clean and well appointed and a good size. The real surprise was the food, it was superior to any restaurant you could find on the main strip.The pool area was fantastic with ample lounge chairs and bar. The pool is huge by the way. If you think the shuttle might be an issue, don't. Every hour on the hour there is opportunity to head into or out of the main strip and can I tell you how peaceful it is to enjoy the end of a busy day up on the hilltop where the hotel is situated. I would only recommend that you ask for a room with a view when you are booking your reservations. It's really a great hotel! Enjoy!
Ciao Nicola, Massimo, Nello...saluti di Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear La Solara friend Robana4,
The entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted. This makes us happy and keeps us in work with new energy. We are waiting for your next stay with us in the near future .
"GRAZIE" Ciao from Sorrento
The entire staff and management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have just returned from spending 9 nights at La Solara. We saw a few familiar faces from our previous visits and met others who had also returned up to 5 times previously. The location of the hotel is great as it is situated about 7 minutes outside the busy town of Sorrento. There is a lot of greenery surrounding the hotel and a lovely sea view. The sunsets are spectacular from the hotel. The courtesy bus runs from 8am to 11.15pm which is convenient and reliable. It is certainly worth staying just outside Sorrento for the peace and tranquility. As we arrived at the hotel we had the warmest welcome anyone could wish for. Our hotel room was spacious with a lovely balcony over looking the pool. We requested tea and coffee with a kettle which was in our room waiting for us. The towels in the bathroom always smelt clean and fresh and there was a decent hairdryer in the bathroom. The hotel attracts guests who are looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday with a passion for superb food. We were staying on half board, breakfast had a large choice of food from cereals to cooked breakfast, croissants, fruit and continental selections. Plenty of chioice and lots of it. After such a large breakfast we did not need lunch. The evening meal had a good choice of meals catering for most tastes and there is such a lovely buffet selection of salad always available. The standard of food is outstanding and very italian. If you did fancy lunch you could have it at the snack bar by the pool or go into Sorrento where there are plenty of bars or restaurants to choose from. La Solara is certainly not the place to stay if you enjoy drinking a lot but is for those who are looking for peace and relaxation. We spent many an evening in the lounge/bar area playing cards and chatting to other guests who had also chosen the hotel for the qualities I have mentioned. They have a 2 piece band playing in the bar twice a week who provide entertainment, even the bar staff had a sing along which was very humorous. During the summer season the hotel have a gala evening every Sunday, if you do get chance to stay on a Sunday night it is well worth attending. This is set up around the pool area, a welcome drink is presented as you walk to your table, the band play in the background and when everyone is seated the first of many courses are served. More often than not the owners and their guests attend and sit with the hotel guests. The staff here take their roles very seriously and pride themselves in the quality of service provided. It was a pleasure to see. There is wifi at the hotel, however you have to ask for a user id and password from Reception, the coverage is much better than last year but does weaken now and again. There is also a computer in the reception area for guests to use. The majority of guests had travelled with Thomson and the organised trips are very expensive. If you want to make trips to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Amalfi Coast etc then you can arrange this independently at a substantially reduced cost. The Reception staff with help you with all the advice required. We have used the train to Pompeii and Vesuvius and it was ideal. We also caught the local bus to take us to Positano, 'hair raising' but beautiful. You could easily take a boat along the coast but this does cost more. We met some lovely people on our holiday and hopefully will keep in touch with. We look forward to our next visit and will continue to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view or sea view then you will have to specify and possibly pay for the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoxFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear la Solara friend CoxFamily_12,
Thank you for your comments, your suggestions ( very important) and for the kind words for our staff and for our service.
We can ‘t do anything else to say “ THANK YOU AND WAITING YOU AGAIN NEXT YEAR.
Greetings from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Thank you for a fantastic holiday the hotel was amazing . All staff friendly and very helpful at all times. Room very nice and a good view. Restaurant and food fantastic as I am on a gluten free diet it was great to come away and not have to worry about the food, restaurant staff very helpful about the diet. It was nice to get a sunbed and towels at any time. from room416 on the 2/8/13 to the 12/8/13

Room Tip: ask for a pool view or a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear la Solara friend Pauline s,
We thank you very much for the nice words had against the hotel and staff.
This makes us happy and let us continue to work with enthusiasm and satisfy all our customers. For gluten free our chef is always updating and adding new recipes. We hope that in your next stay with us you'll find even new to the gluten free diet.
Greetings from all the staff and the management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have just returned from a week at La Solara and cannot recommend it too highly. Lovely room, great pool, excellent food, friendly and efficient service. It was remarkable that nearly every guest we spoke to had stayed at the hotel before at least once (one lady had stayed eleven times) and intended to return. It's a hotel that inspires fierce loyalty.The only thing that we missed from previous visits to Italy was not being able to stroll out at night from the hotel into the streets of Sorrento to enjoy the passagiata. That said, after dinner it was no great inconvenience to take the hotel bus into town. Whilst most of the guests at the hotel were from the UK, an 800 metre walk down to the seaside village of S. Puolo gives a very different and enjoyable experience - a swim in the sea or a meal in a restaurant amongst local Italians enjoying the August holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front overlooking the sea on the third or fourth floors. The third floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear la Solara friend James L,
We thank you very much for the nice words had against the hotel and staff.
To give the best service to our beloved guests LOYALTY is the most important thing for us .
A good suggestion to have a nice walk in the evening in Sorrento is:
Take our shuttle at set times, get off where the sidewalk begins (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the marina grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast.
After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of LA SOLARA.
Greetings from all the staff and the management.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £96 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing