We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another really great holiday!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another really great holiday!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just returned from our 10th visit to La Solara since 2000. Why do I keep returning and why are we planning our next visit already??
La Solara is a place where we know we will be given a wonderful welcome and have a great relaxing holiday from the moment we arrive. Beautifully clean, with good food and wine in plentiful supply, it is the staff who really make this hotel so special. Friendly but professional, nothing is too much trouble.
The large, clean pool area, with free towels and plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, is a great place to spend some quiet time in the day. The free shuttle bus, which runs every hour is there if you want to experience the hustle and bustle of Sorrento.
This year we discovered the maze of footpaths in the area, including a relatively safe walk into town. Information for walkers is available from the Tourist Information Office at the Foreigners Club in town. Sunflower Books also publish a walking guide for the area.

La Solara is an award winning hotel, a real gem.

Room Tip: A room on the front with balcony and sea view is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Solara friend Brian410,
We thank you very much for the nice words had against the hotel and staff.
This makes us proud and let us continue to work with enthusiasm to satisfy all our guests even after 10 years.
In awaiting to have you with us again next year.
Greetings from all the staff and the management.
Ugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,626
    222
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
487
1,161
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have just returned to the UK after staying two weeks at the La Solara. Its a smallish hotel which boasts a large dining room, pool and poolside area. A dining table was allocated for our sole use and there were no issues with queuing or any need to reserve sunbeds etc. On some days we had the pool to ourselves.
The food at the hotel was simply outstanding, tasty and very well presented with ample choice. The service was excellent - all staff were very welcoming and friendly. The accommodation was of a good standard and clean.
We made regular use of the courtesy bus which shuttles hourly the 3 KM between the hotel and the centre of Sorrento and was always on time.
All in all a superb hotel and one which i would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 504 at the rear of the hotel. It had a very large balcony with sunbeds and a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear la Solara friend Mike H,
Thank you for your comment and for your kind words for our staff and for our service.
We can’t do anything else to say: “THANK YOU AND WAITING FOR YOU AGAIN IN THE NEAR FUTURE”
Greetings from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our first visit to the La Solara and having read the reviews on this site we did have high expectations, have to say that they were meet & even exceeded. The staff we super and a special mention for Nello in the restaurant. The hotel is as clean as you could asked for. Tends to attract repeat customers of a certain age & type which suited us. If you want a pleasant, relaxing jolly with super food and the beauty of the Sorrento area then look ye no further.
Highlight, Pompeii & Herculanium
Lowlight.........the weather, out of 7 days 3 sunny, 2 very cloudy and two heavy rain/cloud.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear LA SOLARA friend Martin K,
Thank you very much for your analysis and this makes us very proud.
We look forward to having you back with us soon and we will do our best to make you spend again unforgettable days.
Thank you from all the staff and management.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We cannot praise this hotel and staff highly enough, we have never had such personal and efficient treatment......ever. The food was superb and plenty of it. This hotel is very knowledgeable on food allergies and we can recommend this hotel for people with coeliac conditions.
Position of hotel is perfect views superb they will even change the mattress if it is to hard or soft. The mini bus was always on time and regular.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 07089854991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear friends Irene & Brian ,
We thank you very much for the nice words had against the hotel and staff.
This makes us happy and let us continue to work with enthusiasm and satisfy all our customers. In awaiting to have you again with us for your next stay,
greetings from all the staff and the management.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Wonderful second visit to this hotel, brilliant staff and service. We requested the same room as the previous year with a brilliant view and balcony to celebrate our anniversary. What more can we say perfect in every way!!!! We will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear friends Bill and Heather,
We are all happy to have satisfied your desires.
We hope that this will be also in the future.
Surely we will do everything to make your stay with us always to your liking.
Greetings from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We enjoyed our second holiday at La Solara in July. This is undoubtedly one of the nicest & friendliest hotels we've ever stayed at. From the moment we arrived it felt like we were back amongst old friends. All hotel staff are excellent & especially good with children, our daughter was made a fuss of & entertained our whole stay.

We booked our holiday independently, contacting the hotel directly. The reception staff were excellent, promptly repying to emails & ensuring our every request was met from rooms in close proximety for our party & comfortable transfers from & to Naples airport. They also organised a driver to take us down the Amalfi, we would highly recommend this. Were also extremely helpful when it came to organsing tours & excursions. They recommended the Gastronomic Tour....a must for food lovers!

The same standard of cleanliness had been maintained around the hotel. Our rooms & the hotel overall was spotless. We had fantastic rooms with a beautiful view & a huge terrace which served as a super play area for our daughter, while we relaxed on the sun loungers.

Dining in the hotel is an extremely enjoyable affair, the waiters Marcello, Nello, Frederico & Franco could not do enough for you, likewise Angelo & Pepe at the bar. They kept our daughter entertained every evening. The food is of the highest standard & a huge variety. Any pasta or pizza would be made up for our daughter so we were never worried there might be nothing she would eat on the menu. A highlight of our stay was the gala dinner an evening of delicious food & entertainment.

The pool at the hotel is a fantastic size & there were always plenty of sun loungers available. A super paddling pool is available for the younger kids.

Some people have complained about the hotel being too far out of town but the courtsey shuttle bus runs hourly well into the evening & is only a 10 minute journey. We enjoyed coming back to the peacefullness at La Solara & we saw plenty of people enjoy their evening meal then head into town after.

Overall this is a wonderful hotel, it has a friendly personal touch that you don't get in bigger hotels. Our first visit was fantastic, second even better & we're now planning our third.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room to guarantee the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauBirnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear La Solara friend LauBirnie,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel.
We believe that it is always nice and proud for what you do in your hotel and that your guests are an excellent advertisement for you. For your next visit, 2014, we will do our best to make your stay again to your liking so we will remain your favorite and you can still advertise us.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at La Solara from the 23rd August for 9 nights. We booked directly with the hotel and although we booked quite late this year we e-mailed Antonio on reception and he arranged the same room for us that we have had for the last three years with a lovely large balcony and beautiful views. Our room as usual was immaculately clean and we had a beautiful fruit hamper to welcome us back. It isn't possible to name any particular members of staff that stand out because they are all brilliant and make your stay 100% enjoyable and relaxing. We have stayed at La Solara for the last three years and it just gets better and you just want to keep going back! We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear la Solara friend Tracey J,
We thank you so much for the precious time spent on commenting your stay. Thank you, as well, for reporting that you had, again, an excellent stay. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. The variety and meticulousness of our services mean that we are able to guarantee all our guests a pleasant and satisfying stay.
Till your next visit. Best Regards from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
1.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing