We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from an amazing week at this Hotel. From the moment we walked in and were first welcomed with champagne then found the HUGE seaview terrace attached to our third floor room we knew it was going to be good :). I can only echo all the previous reviewers comments - staff so friendly and attentive, food excellent, hotel spotlessly clean - the whole atmosphere was happy and relaxed and residents happily mingled together too rather than the all too often keeping themselves to themselves when abroad. The musical entertainment was such fun - particularly all the impromptu performances by staff and residents!

On the advice of previous reviewers I emailed ahead requesting that we would like our seaview room to be on floor 3 or above, and also asked for tea/coffee making facilities in the room and firm mattresses. All these requests were met, and when I asked if it was possible to exchange the complimentary bottle of red wine for white, this was promptly done. Floor 3 has the most amazing balconies (304-312) - far larger than the bedrooms - and the autumn sun was still there long after it had left the pool area.

We were out nearly every day sightseeing but still feel there is plenty more to see in the area so if and when we return it will definitely be to the La Solara. Thanks to all the staff, we will miss your smiling faces.

Room Tip: Floor 3 seaview rooms - huge terraces. Floor 4 also looked good, larger than average balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oonbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear La Solara friend Oonbab,
Thank you very much for your words and it is an honor for us to read that your words about "LA SOLARA".
This greatly helps our staff who feel rewarded for their hard work to satisfy our guests.
Awaiting to have you back in the near future, please, accept our best greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,675
    225
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
506
1,192
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A wonderful week at La Solara. Good food with large portions served by attentive staff. Excellent help for my wife needing a gluten free diet with the Maitre 'd most helpful with the menu. Nothing was too much trouble. 2 sea view balconies on the 2nd floor are very narrow. Brilliant and timely shuttle service into Sorrento was well used and appreciated. Thanks very much to all the staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear the Solara friend TonyWestCountry,
Thank you for the beautiful deductions about our hotel & staff.
We try every day to improve and we are very pleased that our guests approve our work with their fantastic opinions.
In awaiting for your next visit in ant too distant future greeting from all the staff and management Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This beautifully located place has the most wonderful staff, friendly efficient unobtrusive, Food in the restaurant is excellent and the views from the sea view rooms stunning. The large heated swimming pool is not crowded. The location is quiet but a regular shuttlebus gets you into Sorrento should you look for more action. A place wonderful in a old fashioned sense!

Room Tip: go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pobSomersetEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear La Solara Friend Pob Somerset England,
Thank you for your comment and for your kind words for our staff and for our service.
We can not do anything else to say “ THANK YOU "
Waitingo for you in the near future sincere greetings from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife & I and my Cousin Mike Lanza and his wife Pam spent our last nite in Sorrento Italy in this Hotel before returning to Florida. This Hotel was up to US standards in Room Size & Quality. They had Shuttle Service every Hour to And from the Hotel to the Sorrento square. and also arranged competitive Limo service from the Hotel to Naples Airport. My only regret was that we just spent one nite there and was not able to take advantage of the Hotel pool activities. If I travel back to Sorrento Italy, I will surely stay at this Hotel.



























us

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear La Solara Friend Bill G,
Thank you for your comments for our hotel and our staff.
Even if your stay was only for one night these beautiful words will please our staff who will be pleased that their hard work is much appreciated by our guests.
We hope to have you and your family with us again in the near future and always give you our best service.
GRAZIE
Best regards from all of us at LA SOLARA
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Returned to La Solara after a break of 12 Years to find that it just gets better. Everything about the place is class . The bedrooms are roomy and well furnished and have a good sizeable bartroom . The reception area is large and well furnished as is the dining room .The outside swimming pool is large with plenty of space on the sun terrace . The whole place is complemented by excellent staff with particular mention for the Head Waitor Marcello , Antonio , Nello , Franco and Nicola to mention but a few . I will not wait so long for my next visit !

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have an excellent view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear James N,
Thank you for your considerations for our hotel and our staff.
Even if your return was after twelve years these beautiful words will please our staff who will be pleased that their hard work is much appreciated by our friends.
We hope to have you with us again soon and not after a long time and always give you our best service.
GRAZIE
Best regards from all of us at LA SOLARA
Ugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were celebrating our 50th anniversary and we couldn't' have chosen a better hotel.The staff were helpful polite and the bar staff were very entertaining .Our room was facing the sea and had fantastic views of the surrounding area and the chamber maids kept it clean and tidy every day.Food was fantastic with plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner.There is a fantastic pool and shuttle bus to take you into town, would recommend you to give it a try.Sandra and Vic.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear La Solara Friend Sandra and Vic,
Thank you for your comments on LA SOLARA and it is a real pleasure for all the staff and for me.
This flatters us and helps us to always give the best to our beloved guests.
We are waiting for you in the near future and we will endeavor to make your stay with us once again memorable.
Greetings from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Italian charm, courteous staff, and a fabulous location -- it's all here in the Best Western La Solara. The hotel is out of town on the hillside which means it's in a picturesque setting and away from the bustling crowds in Sorrento. They provide convenient shuttle service to Sorrento so you don't even have to fight for a parking space. The hotel interior is attractive with full use of Italian marble throughout. Rooms are clean, well-lighted, and designed for relaxing. Yes, the bathroom is small, especially the shower (this is typical from our experiences in Italy). These are not American sized rooms. The morning breakfast was more than adequate. Overall, great place to enjoy the Sorrento region.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear La Solara Friend Carlton B,
Thank you for your considerations for our hotel and our staff.
These beautiful words for LA SOLARA will please our staff who will be pleased that their hard work is much appreciated by our guests.
We hope to have you with us again in the near future to give you our best service.
GRAZIE
Our best regards
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing