We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Fantastic place - staff super friendly - they take great pride in their food - would always recommend the seafood option. As a single mum of 2 children really felt I had been given a break here. Loved it. Spotless. We also loved Nello in the restaurant. Italians are so lovely with children.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Solara friend Ruth W,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel.
The experience in our industry tells us to improve every day to satisfy always our guests.
We will do everything possible that your next visit will be to your liking.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and direction
Ugo di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel certainly lived up to the reviews I had read prior to visiting. Every member of staff we came into contact with was friendly and welcoming.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the food was excellent but it was the staff that really made our holiday special.
A special thank you to Nello who looked after us in the dining room, keeping fussy children and grandparents happy. Also the receptionists who arranged our visit to tour enogastronomico schiazzano, which was one of the highlights of our trip.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank cox_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear " La Solara" friend VioletJ,
GRAZIE". The entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted.
This makes us happy and let us work with new energy.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
CIAO from Sorrento
The entire staff and management
Ugo di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My family and I just returned from a weeks stay at La Solara (daughter of 23 & son of 15). I would not hesitate to return and understand why people return to this hotel over and over again. Very, very clean in every area of the hotel. The food was amazing every day and when we decided to take the train to Rome we were given a lovely packed lunch in place of the evening meal we would be missing. Location was amazing with beautiful views, the pool is lovely. But I must say the jewel in La Solara's crown is its staff. What a delightful bunch of people, nothing too much trouble, helpful, friendly and welcoming. Thank you La Solara, you deserve all the top reviews you receive and we miss you dearly, until next time.
The Skeltons from Harrogate, UK.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear " La Solara" friend Helenka S,
What can we do if not thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful for the kind words had for our staff and for our hotel.
We are already awaiting to have you with us again in the near future and try again to give our best performance.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is beautifully located, just out of town and overlooking the Bay of Naples. The staff couldn't do enough to help, bedroom was spacious and comfortable, and the pool area and gardens were delightful. Everything was spotlessly clean. The restaurant was outstanding with freshly cooked food which was truly Italian (as opposed to the 'international' style of many four stars in Italy). Absolutely everything was top quality!

Room Tip: Some rooms are only partial sea view, so best to check before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAZ161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear La Solara Friend CAZ161,
Thank you for your comments on LA SOLARA and it is a real pleasure for all the staff and for me.
This flatters us and helps us togive always the best to our beloved guests.
We are waiting for you in the near future and we will endeavor to make your stay with us once again memorable.
Greetings from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just arrived back from a totally splendid holiday staying at Hotel La Solara. Not being regular travellers, we wanted somewhere that we knew would be safe, clean with excellent food and this hotel certainly met our expectations!
Everyone works extremely hard to maintain a high standard, from the maids to the chefs. All staff are so friendly and would do anything for you to ensure that you have a wonderful stay.
The food was delicious and very well presented with a good variety on offer, we even had a packed breakfast prepared extra early for when we departed which was really kind. The location was perfect, away from town but not too far, with a regular courtesy bus should you wish to venture into Sorrento town.
We travelled with Thomson who were also very good and have strong links with the hotel. However, one thing to watch that we were not informed about is that the hotel charge a tax of 1.50 euros each day for each person. We didn't know this until we arrived and can catch you out with a bill if you have not made allowances!
Thank you to all staff, we will remember you all for making our holiday very enjoyable.
Room 212 (April 7th-14th 2014).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear friends,
Thank you for the nice words had towards our hotel and our staff.
Our staff does all the possible to make the stay of our guests the most comfortable.
They are very happy when their work is recognized by our customers.
We look forward to your next stay with us and we will do everything to get you back again. Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

we stayed there for two weeks ,we could not fault the hotel staff ,very good service with excellent food ,we actually felt at home ,thank you Thomson for making our holiday very enjoyable and big thank you to all staff at la-solara hotel,we would go back again,what a beautiful hotel at the most beautiful spot.ROOM 306.Amiamo lltalia.

Room Tip: rooms at the front with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ali_ashoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Solara friend A.Ashoor,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and we believe that it is always nice and proud for what you do and that your guests are an excellent advertisement for LA SOLARA.
For your next visit we will do everything to make your stay again to your liking to remain your favorite and still advertise us.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We are quite critical travellers, but we could not fault La Solara. We traveled with Thomson, and when the coach dropped us at the bottom of the steep drive, a porter with an electric hand cart was ready to take our cases to the hotel, whilst we were shown to the lounge and offered champagne and nibbles. Our cases were identified and labelled with our room number whilst we waited, and then we checked in when there was a receptionist available. Much more civilised start to a holiday than the usual queue when a coach load of holidaymakers has been dropped off. The check in was efficient and we went to our room, our cases were brought up soon after.
The room was spotless. There was a complimentary bottle of wine, a large flat screen tv with 3 English news channels(bbc cnn and sky) plus a few English speaking film channels, and other local and European stations. There was a minibar, a digital safe and ample wardrobe / drawers. The balcony had a table and 2 chairs, two further deck chairs and a retractable airer.
The bathroom again was spotless with a large sink, bath with shower,hair drier,with soaps and shower gel provided. The room does not have tea / coffee making facilities as standard, but these can be provided on request.
The menu for the evening meal is displayed Around the hotel from early morning, and when being shown to your table on the first evening you are told that this is your table for the duration of your stay, breakfast and dinner. The dining room looks out on to the bay of Naples. There are adequate choices for the evening meal with pasta and other options. A well stocked and varied salad bar is available for grazing before starters, or to eat with you main meal. The presentation is of a high standard. The restaurant staff, like everyone else at the Solara are very friendly and helpful.
There is a bar in the lounge to have drinks before and after meals, with entertainment on some nights.
On return to our room, it has been checked , the beds turned down and chocolates left by the bedsides. A lovely touch.
Breakfast is buffet style. Again a wide choice of cheese / cold meats, cereals, pastries, bread / rolls, bacon and eggs a toaster, fruit, yogurts, and two coffee machines providing a variety of coffees and chocolate and hot water for tea bags and other coffees (e.g. Decaff) that are available on the table. There is a bin provided on your table to keep it free of rubbish / clutter as you work your way through.
The hotel provides a courtesy bus to Sorrento every hour on the hour, and a return at a quarter past the hour. We used this several times, and it was always on time.
The hotel can provide early breakfasts to cater for guests having to leave early for excursions or departures.
The heated swimming pool is surrounded by well maintained sun beds, chairs and tables and a pool bar. A pool assistant helps open parasols and take covers away. Towels are provided free of charge from the pool bar.
Everything is charged to rooms so no cash required,

There is a beach within walking distance from the hotel, but very little in the way of shops etc. so the courtesy bus is extremely useful.

The only thing to remember on check out is that the Sorrento council have imposed a 1.50 euro per person per night local tax which the hotel must add to your bill.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear La Solara friends Paul S
Thank you for explaining our Hotel, where it is, what it offers and the quality of our services.
This makes us happy because our staff is involved in the growth of our Hotel.
Their meticulous work is our best weapon .
We hope to have you with us again in the near future to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible.
Greetings from Sorrento & from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £110 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing