We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Once More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Once More”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our second visit to this wonderful Hotel, and it was even better than before. The staff are all fantastic always smiling and only to willing to do anything to make your stay amazing. The rooms are kept immaculate by the little army of very friendly housekeepers. The pool is heated so even in the early season its nice to have a little dip. The hourly curtsey down into Sorrento is a real bonus with a fantastic driver. Lastly the food... it is just the best we have ever had served by the most efficient and immaculate waiters. The chefs go to even grater heights for the Gala dinner once a week truly brilliant food.
All we can say is one visit to the La Solara is definitely not enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Pam P
I thank you for your review describing the goodness of our services and our staff and that in your return you have found improved the professionalism of our staff.
Awaiting for your next visit in the near future we will do everything to make you spend, again, a wonderful stay with us.
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    231
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
514
1,218
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our first visit to the La Solara which we selected based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. Although the hotel is a 10 minute shuttle bus journey out of Sorrento, the hotel’s free shuttle bus runs hourly, no bookings needed, and is very reliable. It is also possible to walk to and from the town, although the paths could be a challenge to people with mobility problems, and part of the walk is along the road, so not for the faint hearted. Once in Sorrento, there is easy access to local trains (for Pompei, Vesuvius, Herculaneum), ferries (Capri & Ischia) and buses (including Amalfi coast). The local area is also worth exploring, for those interested in looking beyond the main tourist spots, (Marina di Puolo a small bay within short (but steep) distance, remains of roman villa also a nice spot (short walk from Capo di Sorrento, next village along main road).
The hotel is in a pleasant spot with views down to the sea from many areas of the building, and although on a main road, we found it to be very quiet, a nice contrast to the hustle and bustle of the resort. All areas of the hotel were very clean and well maintained, the pool is a good size and heated to a comfortable temperature (even useable in April despite the typically variable Sorrento weather!). We had requested a quiet room and that was what we got, room 128 is situated at the back overlooking the pool, with no room above it, minimising noise disturbance. The room was of a good size, comfortable and modern with a nice sunny balcony, and cleaned to a high standard. We found the food to be excellent, there was a good choice at breakfast and the evening meals were superb. There was also a good choice of reasonably priced wines to accompany the meals. The Solara is well run, and all staff are very pleasant and helpful, and seem to take pride in contributing to the all- round high standards offered by the hotel.
We travelled with Thomson, and found the hotel rep to be knowledgeable and efficient. Worth mentioning a great trip booked via Thomson where we shared a private car for a day with another couple to visit the Amalfi coast. Our driver Ina was great and very informative, we were able to spend time in Positano, Ravello and Amalfi, spectacular scenery and the sun shone all day, a perfect finale to our holiday. Overall a very enjoyable trip, and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Steve B
Thank you for having described so well our hotel, our services and our staff and I believe that your review will give us a good help to get a lot of new guests.
GRAZIE
We are dedicated to have the best service and our staff helps us a lot with their professionalism.
Awaiting to have you with us again in the near future
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had a great holiday at La Solara 18 April to 2 May 2014. The hotel was recommended by a friend and it lived up to expectations. Staff were excellent, on reception Carmine and Massimo were extremely helpful, and rooms very nice, had a top floor room 508 so had a great terrace and fantastic views of the bay.
Food was very good but no good if your on a diet. The cleaning staff well what great people very friendly and very good at their job.
I have seen some comments say the rooms are dated I did not find that so, ours was fine.

I have travelled all over the world for business and this hotel must rate for quality in the top 5 hotels

Not sure if this is the place to mention tours but it may help other holidaymakers.

The Thomson rep was very very helpful but I was very disappointed with the tours, I booked one to Paestum and Salerno and never booked another. No free time and frog marched into a restaurant for lunch that many people did not want. They appear to have done this on other tours also.
The excursions are expensive and the excursion operator (not Thomson) changed the itinerary of our tour leaving no free time.
Do the site seeing yourself local trains and buses very reliable and cheap you get to see what you want then. Pompeii on train 4.40 euros return each, Amalfi coast & Positano 6.80 euros day bus pass each.

To finish must say i would recommend this hotel to anybody you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a sea view it is worth it, top floor even better try 508
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear john P
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to explain our hotel, our services and our staff.
A special thank to my staff because each day they devote themselves to satisfy our guest and their work, very hard, is done very professionally.
Awaiting to have you with us again in the near future
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I don't even know where to begin. Great welcoming staff, beautiful view of the water and mountains, delicious food, transportation to and from town. The dining room staff was wonderful and the front desk helped us with drivers and other things that helped to make our vacation perfect. Pool area was also very beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear La Solara friend tlsot,
Thank you for your review on our hotel where you highlighted the goodness of the services and our staff.
GRAZIE
Looking forward to having you with us again in the near future
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have been going to this hotel for the last 20 years and the service and quality are excellent just read other reviews to see why.
The key to this hotel are all the staff and the food . bedrooms .entertainment etc . You just get Quality. When you leave you feel you have had a real good time and rest.
Best wishes to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear La Solara friend Sandra R,
Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel.
It is really nice that our guests after so many years continue to estimate our work and we are proud that our efforts are recognized publicly.
Awaiting to have you with us again in the near future
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento
Ugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our second visit to the La Solara and was just as good as our first.We recently recommended the hotel to our Daughter and Son in law for their honeymoon and they also had a wonderful time.
Everything at this hotel is first class and the staff are all genuine and want you to have a wonderful holiday.I must make special mention of one of the dining room staff Nello a true gentleman and a massive asset to the hotel.
We cannot speak highly enough of this hotel,and is without doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in.
Our thanks go to all concerned for again making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southwalesbuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Southwalesbuffer,
Thank you again for having so well rated our hotel, our services, our staff.
These considerations make us very proud and let us work with joy because this is recognized by our esteemed guests.
We look forward to your return in the near future to enjoy againthe beauty of our coast of Sorrento.
Greetings from all the staff and the management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

One of our party has special dietary requirements and the restaurant staff could not have done more to assist. Each night Marcello came over and pointed out which of the huge choice of starters and mains were suitable and, if nothing was to her fancy, the kitchen were perfectly happy to alter to suit. Quality and choice for the rest of us was great too. One of the best hotel restaurants we've had!
Hotel itself is clean and comfortable. Side facing rooms overlook the pool and a hillside and are probably the best choice unless your desperate for a sea view. Given the hotel's position up a hill, even the dining room has an excellent sea view so I wouldn't pay extra for it.
Hotel location suited us well as it was fairly quiet at night. Dogs barking was the only problem and that seems to be par for the course round those parts. The hotel courtesy bus is excellent and is essential, a good amount of the 3km road has no pavement and the driving is 'interesting' to say the least. Last bus is 11pm so not great if nightlife is for you.
We'd definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Back rooms face a cliff but no noise from road. Side rooms overlooking pool best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Jane P,
Thank you for describing so well the location of our hotel, the goodness of our service, our cuisine and our staff.
For the shuttle bus the service is from 08 am to 11.15 pm every hour.
For guests who want to return after 11.15 pm with our reception can be arranged to get a private car with a special price.
By your next visit to have a nice walk to Sorrento a good suggestion is:
Take our shuttle at set times, get off where it begins the sidewalk (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the marina grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of LA SOLARA.
The entire staff would like to thank you and is waiting for your next visit.
Greetings from Sorrento and the management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,059 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing