We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s the “extra mile” the staff go to that puts it ahead of the competition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked here via Thomson (as do many quests). We had a taxi transfer from Naples airport arriving after 10-30 p.m. We expected maybe some cold food to be available but instead the restaurant provided a waiter service hot meal. You won’t find many hotels that go to these lengths.
We were on the first floor with a balcony and sea view. By the bed were some very nice chocolates which were there every night when the beds were turned down.
The room is well fitted with TV (you can only get a few English news channels) good size fridge. Nice size bathroom with shower over the bath.
The room and the hotel are clean and the staff work hard, efficiently and are extremely friendly and helpful.
.
We were half board so thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and dinners.
There was plenty to choice from the daily menu and the Sunday Gala was a real nice touch.
I was not well one morning and missed breakfast. When I went for my evening meal the first thing a member of staff did was to ask if I was OK and he checked again the next day. It’s the “extra mile” the staff go to that puts this hotel above others.

We took advantage of the free tea/coffee facilities in the room. You need to ask as it is not standard. We saw the option on the internet and e-mailed the hotel in advance and sure enough it was there when we arrived.

The air conditioning is not turned on as yet but I asked for a fan and we were supplied with our own small air conditioning unit. These can be noisy but that did not matter to us.

The hotel runs a complementary bus into Sorrento centre which leaves on the hour. It is only a 10 minute journey and returns at 15 minutes past each hour.

The Thomson representative does a great free orientation of Sorrento with a taste of wine and ice-cream which we found this very useful.

Our return flight was late evening so a late room checkout was very good.

We would highly recommend this place and rate it 5*.

Room Tip: Phone ahead and ask for room complementary coffee tea facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear la Solara friend Thisisus,
We thank you so much for the precious time spent on commenting your stay.
Thank you, as well, for reporting that you had an excellent stay.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.
The variety and meticulousness of our services mean that we are able to guarantee all our guests a pleasant and satisfying stay.
Till your next visit.
Best Regards from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful staff and wonderful food. Cannot describe how much this place has been so much fun. Easy free bus service to town only takes 10min. And a pool that is a proper size. Very clean. Staff are great and treat you very warmly. Nothing is too much trouble. Will miss you serving me wine Pepe! Stayed in room 304 which has the biggest balcony I have ever seen. All rooms get a good view of the bay. Loads to do here. Def be booking again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butlerthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear butlerthr.
Thank you very much for your words and we awaiting you again in the near future.
All our staff thanks you for the nice words that gratify their work.
For your next visit we will try to make your stay with us again as comfortable as possible. Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel!
The level of service by all staff members is amazing.
We only stayed for one night unfortunately, but we managed to to have lunch dinner and breakfast. All of which were excellent.
Our room was very comfortable with a lovely balcony with a view.
The pool area looked great (it was a little raining while we were there so we didn't get to enjoy it very much)
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank georgsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear georgsyd,
We just have to thank you for the nice words had.
Our staff being aware of your comments makes them happy for their hard work .
The management hopes to see you again in the near future once again to give you our best service.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

For a long time I was toying between booking a holiday in Lake Garda or at Sorrento for the Amalfi Coast and Capri. At the eleventh hour I made this booking and it was probably one of the best decisions I could have ever made. Quite simply, this hotel was outstanding. We had a lovely room that overlooked the swimming pool over the Bay of Naples and our holiday was truly wonderful.

We were received well with a glass of Prosecco in the hotel's warm lounge and you knew from that moment that your comfort was of paramount importance to the staff. All of the staff were friendly helpful and supportive.

Our room was of an excellent size, comfortable and was absolutely spotless. Our bed linen was changed daily with a chocolate being left each day. A complimentary bottle of wine was also left on the first day.

The hotel had a heated 23 metre swimming pool with a sundeck and beautiful view over the Bay of Naples. The hotel was about 3 kilometres out of Sorrento but there was an exceedingly reliable shuttle bus running on the hour from the hotel and quarter past the hour from a specific pick up point in Sorrento back to the hotel.

The food was to die for. Breakfast was a buffet one with all options available but in the evening dinner was from an excellent varied menu with many options available. Running alongside the menu was the quite superb salad bar that you could help yourself to in addition to the courses on the menu. The Gala night on Sunday was excellent with a set menu and there was live classical music being played in the background. This hotel made you feel special and at the same time was exceedingly relaxing.

The staff were the key to this. They were friendly, helpful and courteous. They could not do enough for you and I feel exceedingly privileged to have stayed at this hotel.

An indicator of its popularity was that three couples around us had been to the hotel 39 times. One couple 18, another 13 and the final couple 8. Whilst I will not go that many times I will recommend it and will visit it again. The holiday was a huge success and much of this was due to the staff's incredible friendliness and commitment.

Room Tip: Travellers might want to ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Mike G,
Thank you very much for this review.
The privilege has been for all of us to have you as guest who could use our services.
We try to satisfy our guests and we are happy to have given what you expected.
GRAZIE
We look forward to your next visit.
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Recently returned from 7 night stay at La Solara. From the minute we arrived everything was 1st. class. After a speedy and efficient check in we were told to go to the dining room where a meal was waiting for us. Since we had arrived after their normal hours for dinner we were very pleased to have a substantial meal after our flight and transfer.
Our room was on the third floor and were pleasantly surprised to find complimentary bottle of wine awaiting us. The room was clean and comfortable even down to the little rug at the side of the bed which meant you didn't need to step onto the tiled floor immediately. Since we were on the opposite side to the swimming pool we had a large balcony which gave us a sea view.
We were half board so thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and dinners. There was such a choice at each meal we could have spent all day in the restaurant ! The scrambled egg was the best ever by hotel standards. The staff were second to none . They were genuinely friendly and efficient in all ways and nothing was too much trouble. Even at the Gala Dinner when everyone was seated at the same time the service was of the usual standard and Marcello still found time to make sure everyone was happy everything. After dinner if you decided to go to the lounge for coffee or a drink from the bar you would be entertained by the sense of humour of the bar waiter. We have visited various hotels on holiday and thought they were good but La Solara is in a class of its own. ( Within 24 hours of arriving home we happily recommended the hotel to our local librarian who was looking for a holiday destination. )
We will definitely return to La Solara when we next decide to visit Sorrento. Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Helen B,
Read this fantastic review for us is gorgeous and helps us to give always the best to get praise from our guests.
When we have staff meeting and we bring them the attention on the reviews we see their happiness in the eyes.
They know that the hard work is recognized by our guetss. GRAZIE
We look forward to your next visit.
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a week at La Solara. Top marks! Cannot fault anything, the hotel is located just outside of Sorrento with a regular shuttle bus. The views are amazing, we had a sea view room with a small balcony and waking up to that view every morning was a delight. The food is top restaurant quality, (need to go on a diet now!) . But it's the staff who make it first class they are all a credit to the hotel, friendly, helpful, courteous ......... , our Silver wedding celebration was just wonderful, so thank you la Solara, and if you are planning a trip to Sorrento and not sure which hotel to book, pick this one for a wonderful holiday experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dwig7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Janet D,
I thank you for what you wrote about our hotel and our staff.
This review definitely is a guarantee for our next guests and I assure you that we will do our best to keep the same standard and try, also, to improve it even if it is very difficult.
Awaiting for your next visit in the near future.
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A wonderful welcome set the scene. Our room was comfortable, spacious and spotless. The restaurant and bar service first class. Add to that the pool and sundeck with a view across Naples Bay our holiday could not have been better. The hotel shuttle bus to Sorrento is an extra bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DodgeD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear La Solara friend DodgeD40,
We thank you that after three years you are always pleased with the services of our hotel.
As you have well illustrated we invest on the staff, on the food and for the cleanliness of our structure.
This makes us proud and suggests us to continue along this way.
We look forward to your next visit.
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £112 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing