We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our little escape from reality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our little escape from reality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I just went through a traumatic experience and we needed a break. We couldn't have come to a better place. We can't recommend this hotel enough. This maybe a rated as a four star but we had a five star experience. The customer service was excellent. The food mouth watering and the views second to none. The only thing that was a little difficult was the location as it was not walking distance to the shops but with the shuttle service offered on an hourly basis by the hotel you can overlook this inconvenience. However make sure you understand where the pick up and drop off point is properly or you will be walking around aimlessly like we did till we found a Thomson advisor who immediately helped us. It is on the bridge overlooking the road by the gorge ;) we loved the little chocolates left by our beds every evening afterd they were turned down. Nice touch to our rooms that were cleaned twice a day! Lovely holiday. If you plan to visit don't miss the Amalfi boat cruise. :-D

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear SFNF
Thank you for the beautiful deductions about our hotel & staff.
We try every day to improve and we are very pleased that our guests approve our work with their fantastic opinions.
By your next visit to have a nice walk to Sorrento a good suggestion is:
Take our shuttle at set times, get off where it begins the path (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the marina grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of LA SOLARA
In awaiting for your next visit in a not too distant future
greetings from all the staff and management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    223
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
502
1,179
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at La Solara and in line with previous reviews found it to be excellent. We had a very nice room with balcony and sea view, very large comfortable bed and good bathroom. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and very plentiful. Special thanks to all the waiters, especially Marcello, Saverio and Nello who were so helpful in pointing out which foods were suitable for my gluten-free diet and to the wonderful chefs who prepared the food with such care. Being allocated the same table for all meals was good, and the Sunday evening Gala dinners were a nice touch too.
The pool area is large and well equipped with enough sun beds for everyone, and the shuttle bus service to and from the town was very useful.
It will be hard to beat this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have sun on the balcony in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear carol77_11,
GRAZIE for all that you wrote about our hotel and our staff.
The best Advertising is from people who have lived the experience and knowledge of our Hotel. We will do everything possible that your next visit will be again to your liking.
Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and from the management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My partner and I were due to stay in the La Solara from the 30th of May to the 4th of June but due to an airline strike, We had to fly out two days earlier. I contacted the hotel in advance to see if there availability. The hotel confirmed 1 extra night but could not confirm the other. They said I should arrive at the hotel anyway and they would arrange alternative accommodation. When my partner and I arrived at the hotel they arranged for a private shuttle to the alternative accommodation. The next morning when we were checking out of the alternative hotel, I requested a taxi to bring us back to the La Solara but they had arranged with the hotel for a private shuttle to collect us and bring us back. We arrived back in the hotel and were once again greeted by very pleasant, friendly and professional front desk staff. We were brought to our room number 220 which has probably the best view of the Sorrento Peninsula available. The room was very nice but the view was the best part. The maids have to be commended in this hotel, They clean the room twice a day to a 5 star superior hotel standard. They turn the beds down every night and leave a chocolate in the room each night. We were celebrating an anniversary and they did everything possible to make it a special occasion. The waiters at Breakfast and Lunch were some of the friendliest I have ever met and were very efficient. The pool attendant was the same service excellent and friendly. This hotel provides great views and the fact that it offers a dependable shuttle service is one of the best features of the hotel. The roads in Italy are not for the faint hearted and this is certain in Sorrento. The hotels private bus was dependable on time and regular. Even more so you felt safe on the drive to the hotel. The driver was really friendly.

As my title suggests this hotel is all about the Service which is in not doubt the best I have ever experienced. We will certainly be back to Sorrento and this gem of a hotel. 10/10 Excellent, Cannot recommend enough, If you are going to Sorrento take my advice stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in room 220 - Great Views - Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear David B
We can only write "GRAZIE".
The entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted.
This makes us happy and makes us work with new energy.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
CIAO from Sorrento
The entire staff and management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just returned from the La Solara. My wife and I have travelled abroad about 80 times and we have never stayed in a nicer hotel than this. We paid extra for a front balcony room on a high level. The room was first class with a huge balcony in full sun from early afternoon on. Some people did not pay the extra but still had similar rooms. Depends on how lucky you are. The restaurant was lovely and the food was absolutely delicious. We have been on many cruises where the food is always good but none could match the food at this hotel. The restaurant staff and the rest of the hotel staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly. The pool area was lovely with beautiful views over the bay. Also, you could go to the pool at any time of day and get a sun bed which is a rarity these days. If you want to leave the peacefulness of the hotel and go into Sorrento there is a free shuttle bus available every hour and always plenty of room on it. I do not have one bad thing to say about this hotel and I would highly recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room at a high level. The side rooms also have balconies but do not have the sun for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear la Solara friend Rita W
Thank you for your comment and for your kind words for our staff and for our service.
We can not do anything else to say “ THANK YOU".
Awaiting for you again in the near future
Greetings from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The staff, food and hotel cannot be faulted, first class in every way.
Thank you for making our stay memorable.

Although the transfer from Naples airport took an hour or so, the journey was spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SKISONA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear SKISONA
The entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted.
This makes us happy and keeps us in work with new energy.
We are waiting for next year for your next stay with us.
"GRAZIE"
Greetings from Sorrento
The entire staff and management
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

What can we say that hasn't already been said by those who have rated this fantastic hotel as excellent.

The most endearing quality of the Hotel La Solara is the amazing team of people who work here, they really cannot do enough for you to ensure you hard earned holiday is an enjoyable one. From the Management to the Driver of the Courtesy bus they really do ensure you are their number one priority. To name just a few Antonio and Nello in the restaurant, Antonio the pool man and Pepe in the bar are all fantastic and hard working people. For those we have not mentioned please do not take offence you are all absolute stars and a credit to the hotel.

The facilities and location are excellent and all areas of the hotel are very clean, the courtesy bus is very convenient and runs like clock work. Sorrento is just a short bus ride away and you get dropped off close to the centre of town which is a beautiful place.

Finally that brings us to the food, wow is an understatement, there is so much choice and local dishes are on the menu daily, if you like your food, this is definitely the place for you. We only ate out one night as it was a special occasion but were sort of wondering what we were missing although we swapped our evening meal for lunch from the pool bar which was as good a quality as the main restaurant.

We are now enjoying our final night of 14 here at La Solara but did not want to wait to write the review until we returned to the UK as often these things get forgotten and the Hotel La Solara and the people who work here deserve an excellent review to ensure others come here and experience it for themselves.

To the team at the hotel La Solara, thank you for a truly memorable and unforgettable holiday!

James and Jo from Cheshire

Room Tip: Chose a sea view if you want to make your holiday even more special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear James G,
Thank you for your review and what can we respond if not "GRAZIE".
All the hotel staff and management will do everything to maintain the standard achieved
I hope to have you with us again in the near future.
Greetings from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely views and nice pool/bar didnt eat there but used the free bus to get in and out of the town. Paid extra for baloney/sea view but wasnt worth the upgrade as we were on the side of the hotel The rooms at the front looked much better.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Danielle W,
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you were not happy with the location of the room.
It was definitely a mistake, If you paid for a sea view room, and you had a room with a side view. Please write to me trough my email address “info@lasolara.com” and I will be happy to adjust the incident. .
I also hope to have you with us again in the near future.
Greetings from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing