We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute deal, only booking a week before flying out. I had stayed in Sorrento before but had stayed closer to the centre. This hotel is not in the centre and it is all the better for it. The views are amazing especially from the pool which is lovely. There is a free shuttle bus running every hour if you want to go into the centre of Sorrento with the last one returning to the hotel at 11.15 pm. We arrived quite late in the evening after the evening meal had finished; however, there was a meal waiting for us, which I might add has never happened to me before even in 5 star accomodation! Our room was spotless and there was a bottle of wine to greet us. The food was very good especially breakfast. The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they had a great sense of humour especially Angelo the barman and Pepe one of the waiters. I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel if you visit Sorrento.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a large terrace/balcony with amazing sea views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L0rraine62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear L0rraine62,
Thank you for your comment and for your kind words for our staff, our service. Our hard work is rewarded by your comments and we are proud for what we may offer to our valuable guests. Sorry you were not happy with the sleep quality and it is a pity because we have the possibility to change mattresses and pillows with hard or soft surfaces. Awaiting to have you back in the near future
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,062)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We've recently returned from a wonderful weeks stay at Hotel La Solara. It really is exceptional and we have stayed in some very nice hotels around the world. The staff, surroundings, food, and room were all excellent. Enjoyed swimming in the pool which is 23 metres long so great for doing lengths and cooling down. The shuttle bus service was fantastic with friendly drivers. One day we got off just where the pavement starts so we could walk the last part into Sorrento because this is such a beautiful view. The local beach is certainly worth a visit even though its steep coming back.
We had room 102 with a balcony and a glimpse of the sea, the rooms was spacious, well decorated and clean and most importantly of all for us - quiet. It faced the front but was set back from most of the hotel. It doesn't matter which room you have at the La Solara because the whole place is lovely. Would I recommend it - certainly, would I go back - yes please.

Room Tip: As there are only 58 rooms we cannot all have what may be deemed the best room. I am quite fussy an...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Belle23,
Thank you very much for your words and we hope to have you with us again in the near future. All our staff thanks you for the nice words that gratify their work. For your next visit we will try to make your stay with us again as comfortable as possible.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have visited Sorrento 4 times and stayed in the centre in oth 4 and 5 star hotels. On this occasion we decided to stay in the La Solara which is 1.5 miles out of the centre. It was a wise decision as they have free transport hourly to and fro to the City, from 7am to 11pm so access is incredibly easy.
The hotel is incredibly professional and friendly and whilst it has The Best Western name it is run by a family headed up by Ugo the owner. It is hard to praise this hotel enough. The Team La Solara are exceptional and whenever you ask for their help they or an appropriate team member will respond. Fabio the..... Trainee General Manager (he will appreciate my classification of his status) is the star of the show and with his experience is a credit to this charming hotel. Others who impressed include Marcello, Angelo, Massimo, Carmine, the cleaners in their entirety. Of course not one person working here was anything else but incredibly professional.
The room we had 508 was unbelievably large quiet and had a terrace to die for...bath shower bidet air con and free safe.. Great small gym 25 meter pool and enough sun beds for an army.
The pool area was kept perfect by Antonio who is the life guard and a gentleman.
The food in the pool and restaurant was better than any hotel Ive stayed in within Sorrento.
For an Italian experience in Sorrento you must book in the La Solara as the centre is too noisy these days and overrun by day visitors.
It is sad to find this hotel on my final visit to Sorrento as I will not be returning as I will probably return to live in Australia later this year. Of course I suppose one should never say never. Goo luck Ugo and Fabbio.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony or terrace with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VNG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear VNG2012,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud that our work is so appreciated by our guests. Please be assured that we will try to do more on your next visit when you get back from Australia.
A warm greeting from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is possible the best we have ever stayed in , and we have travelled the world . It's not as opulent as the Middle East , but boy does it make up for it by making you feel like your the only guest in the hotel . The staff defiantly make this hotel what it is , nothing is to much trouble , they are attentive, polite , friendly and most of all want to please you . The cleanliness was unbelievable , the food and service was fantastic , lots of little touches like a turn down service with chocolate s ,bottle of wine to welcome you in your room and the best Garla dinner outside iv ever had . You should be very proud of this hotel we had an amiazing holiday thank you do much .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear smacclesfield,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud that our work is so appreciated by our guests. Please be assured that we will try to do more on your next visit which we hope will be soon. a warm greeting from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in room 420 on the 4th floor with a balcony,situated on the side of the hotel.The brochure does not do justice to this hotel,all the staff are so friendly & helpful.We are vegetarians and the head waiters ensured all the dishes on the buffet were laballed that were suitable for us,we had a good choice of menu at every meal.The gala dinner was an enjoyable end to our holiday.The house-keeping staff deserve a special mention for how clean they keep the rooms and the hotel in general.Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear janet e
For this review we can not say other than GRAZIE.
We promise that we will always remain so and try to improve.
Awaiting for your return
Greetings from all the staff
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in the Best Western La Solara for 4 days in June and we really enjoyed it. The Hotel was very well positioned and with nice rooms and smiwwing pool. The Hotel ws just above a small beach and 10 minutes drive from Sorrento. The staff was extremely helpful and nice and they helped organize our boat day-ride to Capri and helped us to find very good restaturant. A good hotel choice if you want to visit Sorrento , the Amalfi coast and Capri.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickyfox47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

DearRickyfox47
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and we are pleased that we have fully satisfied GRAZIE! For your next visit we will do everything to make your stay again to your liking. Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and the management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I had not had a holiday for six years - mind you we live in Brittany which is a holiday home in itself. One morning over breakfast we were discussing a holiday that she nearly had in the 1950's but which was thwarted by her friend's financial problems. Anyway, we thought wouldn't it be a good idea to spend some of the kids' inheritance and go to Sorrento. After recommendation from a family friend, we decided to give the Best Western La Solara Hotel a try. When we got there we found the staff excellent, very helpful and efficient, Carmine in particular on the Reception Desk, nothing was too much trouble. The Restaurant was particularly light and airy and Marcello and Nello were a delight with their command of several languages. The food, of course, was of the highest standard and meticulously presented with a wonderful choice for breakfast and the fish and seafood absolutely wonderful. The high standard bedrooms and facilities were particularly good and very clean and our balcony with sea view was a delight watching the world go by on the water and the team of ladies that looked after us were extremely hard working and pleasant. The courtesy bus was a boon and always on time with its cheerful driver. To sum up, we had a truly wonderful holiday and can only recommend a stay at La Solara - we could fault nothing. Thank you Solara - we hope to see you again. Bill & Chris Rogers

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Bill & Chris,
Please thank your friend for having made you choose our hotel for your stay in Sorrento and we will be happy to have you with us again the next time.
Your review makes us proud because the hard work is recognized by our beloved customers.
The entire staff and management would like to thank you
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,388 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £106 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing