We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We returned from La Solara 2weeks ago. This was our 9th consecutive stay at the hotel and we have already booked to return next year. The staff and management are second to none and their mission is to make every guest feel special. The hotel is spotless and the food in the restaurant is excellent ,al a carte quality. The views from the hotel are stunning and the sunsets are out of this world. The hotel is not in the centre of Sorrento but it benefits from this as the location is very peaceful and relaxing. It is better being outside of the town as Sorrento is very busy with traffic and people. The hotel bus runs every hour so you have the best of both worlds. This is the best hotel in Sorrento, in our opinion and deserves its high rating. See you all next year. Mille grazie. Arrivederci.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacAlFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear JacAlFalkirk,
Thank you for explaining our Hotel, where it is, what it offers and the quality of our services. This makes us happy because our staff is involved in the growth of our Hotel. Their meticulous work is our best weapon . In awaiting to have you with us again next years ( for the first 10 times) to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible.
Greetings from Sorrento & from all of us
Ugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,675
    225
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
506
1,192
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have recently returned from our 4th visit to Sorrento. La Solara was not our first choice but how lucky we were to find this gem. We arrived late on the first day, outside the restaurant times, but we were served with a 3 course full meal.
Every subsequent request (eg. tea making in room) was dealt with almost before we could return to the room. Rooms were serviced at least twice a day. Restaurant staff had the knack of knowing which customers could take a joke and which just wanted straight service.
Reception were friendly and efficient. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Pool or Sea view may enhance a very good experience marginally
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear John H,
Thank you for choosing our hotel after being in Sorrento three times already.
You compared LA SOLARA to a gem and this is an honor for us
All the staff and management awaits you on your next visit to Sorrento in the near future .
GRAZIE
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked this place because we got a great deal on it, and the reviews were very positive. It was definitely a nice place to stay, but I think the reviews should be a little more balanced. One thing is that the rooms are a bit drab and old looking, and the beds are not that great. I rarely complain about beds, but we were in two different rooms (the first room was terrible, we paid for a balcony room but we were placed in the back with a balcony that faced a 20 foot wall, with no light) and the first bed literally sloped near the side. The second room was much better, but the bed was still not very comfortable. Now the positives, of which there were many: the free shuttle is great, it drops off near the Cesare Augusto hotel (fairly close to the train station). The shuttle is very dependable, first pickup at hotel is at 7:50am, and then on the hour; pick up in Sorrento at a quarter past the hour, last pickup in Sorrento at 11pm. The pool was really large, and the view was nice, you can see the ocean and cliffs. Service was pretty good too, but we never ate at the hotel, so cant comment on the food. Also, if you are going to do the Amalfi coast bus, the front desk can sell you the unlimited tickets (we wanted them because we were also taking the bus to Ravello) - i think they cost like 6.80 euros each. Would definitely recommend staying at the hotel. Oh, and the breakfast was pretty good compared to most other european hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rakesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Rakesh M,
Thank you for your comment and for your kind words for our staff, our service
I received your review and before to answer I tried to investigate why you had a basic room and not a room with a balcony as you booked. I was told that was made a mistake in the operating system and the Hotel was full. I am very sorry for this and if we have the opportunity to have you with us in the near future please write to me personally and I will cure your request.
The rooms our hotel have a classic decor and our guests love it. With the sleep quality we have the possibility to change mattresses and pillows with hard or soft surfaces and it is a pity that you did not ask for change . Awaiting to have you back in the near future
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute deal, only booking a week before flying out. I had stayed in Sorrento before but had stayed closer to the centre. This hotel is not in the centre and it is all the better for it. The views are amazing especially from the pool which is lovely. There is a free shuttle bus running every hour if you want to go into the centre of Sorrento with the last one returning to the hotel at 11.15 pm. We arrived quite late in the evening after the evening meal had finished; however, there was a meal waiting for us, which I might add has never happened to me before even in 5 star accomodation! Our room was spotless and there was a bottle of wine to greet us. The food was very good especially breakfast. The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they had a great sense of humour especially Angelo the barman and Pepe one of the waiters. I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel if you visit Sorrento.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a large terrace/balcony with amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0rraine62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear L0rraine62,
Thank you for your comment and for your kind words for our staff, our service. Our hard work is rewarded by your comments and we are proud for what we may offer to our valuable guests. Sorry you were not happy with the sleep quality and it is a pity because we have the possibility to change mattresses and pillows with hard or soft surfaces. Awaiting to have you back in the near future
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We've recently returned from a wonderful weeks stay at Hotel La Solara. It really is exceptional and we have stayed in some very nice hotels around the world. The staff, surroundings, food, and room were all excellent. Enjoyed swimming in the pool which is 23 metres long so great for doing lengths and cooling down. The shuttle bus service was fantastic with friendly drivers. One day we got off just where the pavement starts so we could walk the last part into Sorrento because this is such a beautiful view. The local beach is certainly worth a visit even though its steep coming back.
We had room 102 with a balcony and a glimpse of the sea, the rooms was spacious, well decorated and clean and most importantly of all for us - quiet. It faced the front but was set back from most of the hotel. It doesn't matter which room you have at the La Solara because the whole place is lovely. Would I recommend it - certainly, would I go back - yes please.

Room Tip: As there are only 58 rooms we cannot all have what may be deemed the best room. I am quite fussy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Belle23,
Thank you very much for your words and we hope to have you with us again in the near future. All our staff thanks you for the nice words that gratify their work. For your next visit we will try to make your stay with us again as comfortable as possible.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have visited Sorrento 4 times and stayed in the centre in oth 4 and 5 star hotels. On this occasion we decided to stay in the La Solara which is 1.5 miles out of the centre. It was a wise decision as they have free transport hourly to and fro to the City, from 7am to 11pm so access is incredibly easy.
The hotel is incredibly professional and friendly and whilst it has The Best Western name it is run by a family headed up by Ugo the owner. It is hard to praise this hotel enough. The Team La Solara are exceptional and whenever you ask for their help they or an appropriate team member will respond. Fabio the..... Trainee General Manager (he will appreciate my classification of his status) is the star of the show and with his experience is a credit to this charming hotel. Others who impressed include Marcello, Angelo, Massimo, Carmine, the cleaners in their entirety. Of course not one person working here was anything else but incredibly professional.
The room we had 508 was unbelievably large quiet and had a terrace to die for...bath shower bidet air con and free safe.. Great small gym 25 meter pool and enough sun beds for an army.
The pool area was kept perfect by Antonio who is the life guard and a gentleman.
The food in the pool and restaurant was better than any hotel Ive stayed in within Sorrento.
For an Italian experience in Sorrento you must book in the La Solara as the centre is too noisy these days and overrun by day visitors.
It is sad to find this hotel on my final visit to Sorrento as I will not be returning as I will probably return to live in Australia later this year. Of course I suppose one should never say never. Goo luck Ugo and Fabbio.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony or terrace with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VNG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear VNG2012,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud that our work is so appreciated by our guests. Please be assured that we will try to do more on your next visit when you get back from Australia.
A warm greeting from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfiled
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is possible the best we have ever stayed in , and we have travelled the world . It's not as opulent as the Middle East , but boy does it make up for it by making you feel like your the only guest in the hotel . The staff defiantly make this hotel what it is , nothing is to much trouble , they are attentive, polite , friendly and most of all want to please you . The cleanliness was unbelievable , the food and service was fantastic , lots of little touches like a turn down service with chocolate s ,bottle of wine to welcome you in your room and the best Garla dinner outside iv ever had . You should be very proud of this hotel we had an amiazing holiday thank you do much .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear smacclesfield,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud that our work is so appreciated by our guests. Please be assured that we will try to do more on your next visit which we hope will be soon. a warm greeting from Sorrento and from all of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing