We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,261)
Filter reviews
2,261 results
Traveller rating
1,912
264
58
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,912
264
58
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every hour gala dinner quarter past the hour shuttle bus salad bar always on time sea view evening meal fantastic hotel waiter service plenty of sunbeds great holiday hotel is spotlessly clean half board large pool pool attendant amalfi coast
Filter
Updating list...
909 - 914 of 2,261 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We also stayed for two weeks 7 - 21 July, so we were aware of the shuttle bus service as the hotel is out of town.
The staff are very good, efficient and friendly from front of house to the cleaning staff, everyone paid attention to detail and were always courteous.
Our beds were too firm for our liking, something other reviewers had mentioned, but otherwise our room was fine.
The amenities are first class with two excellent lounges, bar, fabulous pool with a large area for sunbathing with lots of chairs and sun shades and another large area under cover with bar and lunches served, though as you would expect, prices are higher than in town.
We are "foodies" and both love to cook so were looking forward to that lovely Italian light touch (sometimes) in their cooking that other reviewers had praised, and here we were to be very disappointed. The breakfasts are average but plentiful and adequate, the real shame for us was the evening meal. The salad selection was amazing in its choice and the highlight of every meal, thereafter it was all downhill with some dishes, being mass cooked, dry, some were sent back (staff were really good with handling this and went out of their way to be helpful) and others just left on the plate. There was no lightness of touch in the cooking. Others really enjoyed the food, perhaps we are alone and just too fussy over what we eat?

Room tip: Choose a room with a balcony
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear gordonthegopher,
I'm very sorry that your stay was not to your liking
Our hotel is located within 3 km from Sorrento and this is well described as a shuttle service that connects the center of Sorrento from 8 am to 11 pm every hour.
For the mattresses there is the possibility of change with soft mattresses if asked and I am very sorry for that.
For our kitchen we have one of the best chefs in Campania and his staff and the majority of our customers are very satisfied. It is possible that your particular flavor of lightness does not go well with the local cuisine so, if we have the opportunity to have you back with us, you can ask our head waiters Marcello and Nello and they certainly will satisfy with the help of the chef.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel La Solara between Monday 14th and Monday 21July 2014. This is the first time ever we have returned to a hotel for a second time. We were definitely not disappointed. Good clean comfortable accommodation with a 23metre swimming pool which is kept beautifully clean and it's terrace has stunning views of the bay. The food is very good and varied with very good choices, it would be difficult not to find something you would like on the menu. The waiters did seem extremely busy and worked incredibly hard to try and accommodate all the diners. I could not fault the customer service skills of all the staff. I did not encounter any staff member who did not behave in a professional and friendly manner. I do think that Marcello, Nello and Antonio (the pool chap) went out of their way to engage with the guests and made us feel very welcome. It was very busy at times around the pool but Antonio was excellent in making space and finding sun beds. The entertainment here is low key which suits us fine. It encourages good quality family time. The hotel transport is excellent and very reliable. This year we walked down to the local beach, which was a lovely place to get in the sea. There were plenty of sun beds at a small fee and plenty of restaurants. The road outside the hotel is very very busy and great care needs to be taken when walking anywhere, but to be honest apart from crossing the road to get to the road down to the beach there is not really any reason to walk along it. It is too far to walk into Sorrento but the journey on the hotel minibus is a good drive with beautiful views. We visited Amalfi, Positano and Herculaneum this year. Herculaneum was very very good, smaller and better preserved than Pompeii and is certainly worth a visit. We didn't like Positano too too busy not an enjoyable experience, however Amalfi was interesting and the church there is absolutely beautiful.
I have got to say that we definitely preferred Sorrento. It is cleaner, more restaurants, bars and shops and more accessible. The quality of seafood in the restaurants is brilliant and the ice creams at Davide Augusto are the best I have ever tasted.
This was another great holiday this year and we will definitely come here again. It is such a lovely place to stay on what is a beautiful stunning coastline.

Room tip: We stayed at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor. The road is noisy during the day but during the evening it is quieter and the view from the balcony was stunning.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear dotgriffiths,
Thank you for the nice words had towards our hotel and our staff. Our staff does all the possible to make the stay of our guests the most comfortable. They are very happy when their work is recognized by our customers. We look forward to your next stay in 2015 and we will do everything to get you back even 2016.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed 14th - 21st July and put in beautiful room 404, looking over the amalfi coast. Staff at hotel helpful and conscientious, Antonio at pool, Frederico and Antonio at dinner and Angelo at the bar was very helpful. All reception staff where very good, not a bad word to say about any staff. Food extremely high 5* standard. Room kept spotless. Would definitely return to this efficient family run hotel. Many thanks, the martindale family.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Tim M,
Thank you for all that you wrote about our hotel and we are pleased that we have fully satisfied and that you make an excellent advertisement for us GRAZIE! For your next visit we will do everything to make your stay again to your liking so you can continue advertise us. Greetings from all the staff who appreciated your words and the management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have now stayed at the La Solara twice and have found it to be excellent on all fronts. The food is great and the staff are really friendly. They are great with kids too. the pool is a good size for swimming or just chilling during a day in the glorious sunshine of Sorrento. It is close, but not too close, to the town centre, with an hourly free bus shuttle service into town, which takes about five minutes. It runs until 11.15 too!

It is a truly lovely place to stay.

Room tip: Sea views rooms are best if you can get one. All rooms have balconies though. All are very clean and a good size.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Andrew L,
Thank you very much for your notes. Our employees are very proud for your words and they're also very pleased that their hard work is so well rated. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Greetings from Sorrento from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Being an American, when our travel agent told my wife and I that we were staying at a Best Western in Sorrento, we definitely questioned her taste. Best Westerns in the USA are... well... "not of the highest stars". She told us to trust her, and that Best Westerns elsewhere in the world were much more luxurious. We wanted to confirm her almost unbelievable statements on TripAdvisor. Immediately after reading some of the reviews on here and seeing some of the photos of La Solara, our opinions were immediately changed.
Coming directly from the Naples airport, we took a 100-euro cab ride straight into the middle of Sorrento. (FYI, that was a bad choice, as there is a commuter train called the Circumvesuviana that get's you to the center of town in the same amount of time for only 4-euro per person.) It was our first time in this post-card-pristine city, and our heads were out the window of our cab the entire time. However, we wound up driving straight through the town and into the hills of the surrounding area to get to the hotel. At first we were a little disappointed to be so far from the city. But when we pulled into the hotel and saw the magnificent view, that quickly turned into elation. The hotel is situated high on the mountains with an unobstructed view of the ocean and perfectly aligned to have one of the most amazing sunset views anyone could ever ask for.
Unfortunately, I had to take off a star for the hotel decor (....actually, I was thinking about taking off two, but just couldn't bring myself to do it with all the other perks this place had to offer.) The lobby and the rooms have circa 1970/1980 type furniture, which really wasn't our style. However, it was all so maintained that it looked like it was no more than 2-or-3 years old. And despite the decor, the room was very comfortable. Offering a very large closet, generously sized bathroom, and a complimentary bottle of wine, we thought we had it made! Then we walked out on our enormous deck, and realized it was even better... we had won the lottery. Check out the photo(s) associated with this review, and you will know exactly what I'm talking about.
The pool (and pool bar) were where we spent our time when not in Sorrento or enjoying a romantic sunset evening in our room. The pool is heated, and the sun deck has the same amazing view as the outward facing rooms. (Warning: Some rooms have balconies that face the pool but do not have the ocean view. Make sure to stay away from those, as the hotel is filled with families and the pool can get a little loud.) The pool keeper makes a MEAN cappuccino, and doesn't stop making them at 12PM like the rest of the country; great for us PM coffee-addicted Americans. The poolside cuisine includes some American favorites as well as Italian... try the club sandwich! The buffet breakfast (included in the price of the room) is nothing to write home about, but it definitely get's the job done. (Hint: Ask for a REAL cappuccino, not one from the self serve machine.) The hotel also has their own restaurant, which (again) isn't going to earn any Michelin Stars any time soon, but good for when you just want to spend a night in the hotel relaxing. All the waitstaff are beyond helpful and very friendly.
As I mentioned, the hotel is not in the center of town... it's actually 10-minutes outside of it. When initially booking, that might turn some people off. But I beg of you, don't let it. The center of town is extremely crowded, and can get loud at night. For half the price, with the same view, and only a few minutes down the road, you can have a nice peaceful room well away from the crowds that swarm Sorrento square. In addition, the hotel offers a free shuttle-bus service that runs hourly, starting at 8AM and finishing at 11PM. (This is what you would take TO the hotel if coming in to town on the Circumvesuviana train.) If you want to stay out later than 11, a cab back to the hotel won't cost you more than 15-euro, or you can take one of the public busses that the town has to offer.
Now, saving the best for last, I need to take a moment to talk about the staff. NEVER have I stayed in a hotel with more welcoming, courteous, and helpful staff members. These guys and gals are truly what sets this property ahead of the curve. I'm positive it's why they are so highly ranked out of all the other hotels in the area. I will give you one example of when this stellar customer service really came through for us: It was Tuesday night and we had a cooking class planned for the next morning. The cooking school called the front desk to have them inform us that the teacher had fallen ill and the class was being canceled. The front desk immediately tracked us down to let us know of the situation. We were obviously a little bummed-out as we were looking forward to the class for quite a while. What's more is that this was the same cooking school that La Solara works with for their own guests. Being dedicated to find a fill-in class for us with not many options on less than 24-hours notice, they immediately got on the phone. Not even an hour later, they found an alternate class for us to attend, which turned out to be one of our most memorable experiences in the entire country.
5020 characters later, I do hope I painted a good enough picture of this property for you. It really is worth a look if interior decor isn't an absolute priority, and you don't have your heart set on staying in the center of the city... because everything else about La Solara is just so amazing.

Room tip: Get a room with an ocean view, and avoid the rooms with a poolside view.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Jesse H,
We thank you for your wonderful review and we are very pleased that you liked our hotel though if it is a classic European Hotel . We thank you that your first impression is changed in the best way.. For our kitchen by your next visit you have to be guided by our head waiters and the chef, who is well known in the Italy and enjoy our Neapolitan cuisine with its flavors
We hope to see you in a not too distant future
Greetings from Sorrento
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews