We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tasso Suites(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Leone(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Central(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Aminta(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Desiree(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,122)
Filter reviews
2,122 results
Traveller rating
1,802
242
54
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,802
242
54
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourgala dinnerquarter past the hourshuttle bussalad barsea viewalways on timeevening mealfantastic hotelwaiter servicepool attendantplenty of sunbedsgreat holidayhotel is spotlessly cleanhalf boardlarge poolamalfi drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
778 - 783 of 2,122 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

What an outstanding hotel! This is our third visit and it keeps getting better. The key is the wonderful hospitality of all staff. Everyone makes sure you have an excellent holiday. Meals are wonderful (well done chefs!) and Marcello and his team make dining a delight. Antonio is excellent and always on hand to help with brollies and beds.
The cleaners do an excellent job of the public areas and the rooms. The turn down service at night is an example of the high standards.

This is our third visit and the hotel is so good we can't think of going anywhere else. Big thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Lizzy03,
I thank you that after the third stay with us you have such beautiful words for our hotel and our staff.
These words invites us all to continue on this wayand give the best of us to please our guests.
Awaiting for your next visit
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This Hotel is absolutely wonderful! It is in a quiet location away from the hustle & bustle of busy Sorrento, the shuttle bus service here is excellent and runs every hour dropping you off / picking you up quite close to Piazza Tasso, the main central square in the town.
This was our second stay at La Solara and I'm glad to report that the same excellent standards of cleanliness and customer service remain. The of the many great things about La Solara are the staff, who are absolutely fantastic - nothing is too much trouble and everyone there is so friendly and helpful (and they were all there the last time we stayed 3 years ago - it was like seeing old friends again!).
The rooms are a good size - there were 3 of us and we had plenty of room, with lots of storage space too (which is good with a teenage daughter!). This time our room was located at the side of the hotel, but we had a good side sea view looking towards the islands of Capri and Ischia.
The food here is fantastic, as is the service, and the restaurant overlooks the Bay of Naples and has amazing views of the sun setting over Capri and Ischia. The Gala Dinner each week is wonderful, set beside the hotel swimming pool with candlelit tables and live music.
The swimming pool is a good size and the pool area has plenty of sunbeds, umbrellas, shades, a constant supply of clean large towels and was kept immaculately clean & tidy by the staff manning the poolside bar throughout the day.
Needless to say, this hotel is a Gem and we will be back again for another relaxing holiday in this beautiful place in a couple of years!!! Thank you to all at La Solara!!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are possibly a bit noisier during the day, however, the rooms at the other side of the hotel are quieter with side Sea Views of Capri & Ischia. The sea view rooms here generally have really large balconies at an extra cost some of which will take sunbeds if you prefer to stay on your balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Liz H,
I thank you that after three years you've been very happy with La Solara and that we will have the opportunity to have you with us again in the near future.
Your beautiful words had for our hotel staff invites us all to continue to give the best to please our customers.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a great hotel with good facilities. The rooms were spotless and the service was outstanding. There is a free shuttle into the town that runs throughout the day which is great as taxis are very expensive in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear AshleeD,
Thank you for the beautiful words you had for our hotel for the entire staff.
I am very pleased that you found our shuttle bus service that every hour from 8 am until 11 pm connects the hotel to Sorrento center and back of your liking.
I'm sorry that you have not done this walk: With our shuttle, at set times, to the begins of the foot path (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the sea, the fishing village of Marina Grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of THE SOLARA.
It will be for the next visit to Sorrento and La Solara.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our first time in this part of Italy and we chose La Solara on basis of positive reviews and in particular the willingness to accommodate specific dietry requirements. The food is special and the staff, both the serving team and the chefs, will go to great lengths to ensure that meals are suitable and well presented. The restaurant is busy at times - most guests choose to eat at the hotel which says something about the quality - but head waiters Marchello and Nello stay relaxed and friendly, setting the tone for the whole team.
All the other staff we encountered were also friendy, courteous and helpful showing that this customer service ethic is deeply established at La Solara. A sign of this is the handshakes and hugs between the staff and the guests at the end of their holidays - I've never seen that anywhere before.

The hotel itself is out of the town, walkable if you are brave with the traffic but the free shuttle-bus is very convenient and reliable. Public transport is cheap although some of the busses and trains are a bit tired and can be pretty packed full. If you like to walk it's easy to get away from the main roads and enjoy the minor roads and the many miles of well-marked paths running across and along the Sorrento peninsular. This is worth doing - some of the views are stunning.
Hotel facilities are good, the pool is large and very clean. There's ample lounging and sitting space (inside and out) and there's even a small fitness room that we used once (we preferred to get out for a jog). The room was large enough and comfortable for a two-week stay. It was properly serviced every day and we liked the small touches such as the chocolate delivered daily with the bed turn-down service.
Overall - this is a very friendly hotel where we were always made to feel very welcome. We had planned to return to the Sorrento area - that plan is now that we hope to return to La Solara.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Eric F,
Thank you for the beautiful words had for our hotel for the entire staff.
I am very pleased that we will have you again soon and for the next stay with us I suggest this possibility from our hotel: Take our shuttle at set times, get off where it begins the foot path (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the sea, the fishing village of Marina Grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of THE SOLARA.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

One of the nicest holiday hotels I have stayed in. Very very friendly and helpful staff, who speak good english (for those whose Italian is non existent!). The hotel was spotlessly clean. The pool area was relaxing, hot with plenty of shaded areas and canopies if required. Again the staff in the pool area were very helpful and friendly, to the extent of replacing wet loungers when someone left. The pool was a great size, with a deep and shallow end - it was cold to start with and it was amusing watching the faces of people as they got acclimatized! Do watch kids though, as there is no lifeguard watching the pool 100% of the time (it looked like a small separate 'kiddy pool' was available, but we did not investigate). The bar area was relaxing with some nice views.
Breakfast was very good with a wide range of continental breakfast, as well as bacon, sausage and scrambled egg (continental style). We did not have dinner, but it looked like a lot of people were on half board, and there were package tours staying in the hotel, this was not a problem at all.
A free shuttle bus ran from the hotel to Sorrento on the hour, taking about 10 minutes to arrive, then returning quarter past the hour. The pickup/ drop off point was 2 mins walk from main town square or a couple of minutes from the railway station. The cost of a taxi was nearly 30 euros one way! Get the shuttle bus in the evening and explore the old town and restaurants.
Ok - the down side... The Hotel was some way out of Sorrento, so the Shuttle bus was the only real way of getting in/ out, as parking in Sorrento was horrendous (unless you had a scooter). The Wi-Fi was unreliable and although we did connect eventually, there was a 'knack' to getting it to work and then it was pretty slow. The mobile signal (O2 Traveller) was poor/ none and only 'E' data. Finally our room appeared to be very small compared with others, with no view at the back of the hotel - I think this was because Twin rooms were limited, although the room itself was good - If I had paid a full rate, then I would have been annoyed at getting a room with no view compared to some of rooms with stunning views of the Bay of Naples or the pool area.
Things I would have done differently? Flying into Naples late at night, it took nearly 3 hours from landing to arriving at the hotel. I would use the train or Ferry next time, faster and more relaxing. There is no need for a car on a short break - parking is a nightmare almost everywhere and there is so much traffic (I wont mention the scooters!), also, the Hotel only has a small car park. Combine the good train service from Sorrento, with the Shuttle bus, and plenty of excursions online (friendsofsorrento were very helpful, but we did not book anything) and you will have plenty to do.
All in all - A must visit hotel for couples and families alike, wanting to visit Sorrento and the area. Friendly, clean, good location (when using the shuttle bus). I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Use and abuse the shuttle bus. The best rooms are at the front of the hotel overlooking the Bay of Naples. Plenty of rooms have balconies, but check when booking.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ThinTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear ThinTiger,
Thank you for the nice words had for our hotel and our staff. For the pool we have our lifeguard Antonio which is in service all the time that the pool is on duty and he is attentive to the protection of our customers and especially for the children. It 'was a pity that you have not tasted our food because we have one of the best chefs in Campania. We are pleased to read the excellent service of our shuttle but for your next visit we recommend to take our shuttle at set times, get off where it begins the foot path (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the sea large, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of THE SOLARA. For the wi fi connection I'm sorry you've had problems. We have also a satellite provider but when the weather is cloudy does not help much. By the end of this year we will have a fiber optic line and certainly we will have a very good connection.
We have different prices from standard rooms with no view and window, rooms with views and rooms with sea view. We are pleased that the room even though standard has been to your liking saving money.
I am at your disposal in your coming visit to Sorrento so I can give you some tips for your stay.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews