We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lesson in how to operate a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Myself and family have just returned after a weeks holiday at the la Solara in Sorrento.

We are frequent travellers to Sorrento, and have stayed previously at the Capodimonte and Hotel Bristol which are also very good hotels. I personally travel extensively and have done so for over 30 years so I know what good and bad hotels feel like.

The la Solara is a quite hotel which is run by happy professional people whom go out of their way to ensure your stay is enjoyable.
food is first class( and please drink the hotels own label wine it is delightful) Service and hotel condition are immaculate and all areas are beautifully maintained.

We were appointed a beautiful room with complimentary fruit and wine to greet us (a big thank you to Rosa and the team at Thomson holidays in Speke retail park for the very kind card and champagne to mark our 25 wedding Anniversary which was delivered to our room - a wonderful touch). The room had a huge balcony and a wonderful view of the sea and surrounding area.
The pool area like the rest of the hotel is immaculately clean and the pool is huge with more than enough sunbeds.

a shuttle bus operates on the hour to the centre of Sorrento by the hotel and is complimentary.
You can walk to poulo beech as long as you can cope with a seriously steep walk. were there are nice restaurants and cafes and you will meet lots of locals.

By nature I am very critical about poor service especially when you pay the prices a holiday in Italy costs these days.

This hotel is the best I have stayed in and I or my family could not find fault.
The Manager and his team deserve a huge thank you for going beyond what is normally required to make our experience exceptional.

I would strongly recommend the Chief Executive of Thomson takes his team to this hotel to see what " Best Service" looks like and apply it to other areas of their operation.

If you are about to holiday at this hotel you are in for a fabulous time, and you will not be disappointed.

personally I wish to thank you all at the La Solara for a wonderful holiday- you will remain in our hearts and memories for a long time, you are truly the Best.

Best wishes

Peter and family

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear peter w,
Thank you very much for your words. We are pleased to read that by the first time you came to La Solara you've been very pleased with our hotel and the excellent work of our staff. We are also very proud that we have won another guest by your return to Sorrento. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Greetings from all of us from Sorrento Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our second visit as a family to La Solara in Sorrento. This hotel is simply outstanding in every way: spotlessly clean, fantastic food, and outstanding staff. Highly recommended for all travellers - with or without family. We will be back again soon! Thank you to all the staff at La Solara for a brilliant week.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank friendsmithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear friendsmithfamily,
Thank you for your review and for your comments about the hotel and staff.
I am very proud that on your second visit you've found again everythind to your liking and that you will be with us on your next visit to Sorrento.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was a second stay at La Solara for my daughter and myself and we were not disappointed. The sunset from the balcony and seen from the dining room was amazing. Right from the start we could unwind as our luggage was collected from the coach and brought directly to our rooms. The décor is in a very traditional style, with warm deep colours, and beautiful quality fixtures and fittings. Although the hotel is slightly on the edge of Sorrento, there is an hourly shuttle bus (air conditioned) which takes you into town and brings you back (7.45am - 11.15pm). The staff make you feel as if you are part of their family - friendly with a great sense of humour. The level of service is outstanding and so is the food - with 4 courses (waiter service) every evening this is not the place to come if you are on a diet! Another attraction of this hotel is the outdoor 25m pool with a deep end. This is great for children learning to swim or for guests keen to swim lengths. The highlight of the week is the gala dinner, where seating is moved outdoors by the pool for a fantastic food extravaganza accompanied by live music. The entertainment is low-key, but this adds to the charm and appeal of the place. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, and we always had lovely soft thick white towels in our room. Even when we were leaving, our bags were taken to the coach for us, so we did not have any stress at the end. We have really enjoyed our stay at La Solara and will definitely make it our first choice should we return to Sorrento, as I'm sure we will.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony and sea view - you will experience a wonderful sunset over the bay and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mohitoRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear mohitoRomford,
I thank you that after the second stay with us you have such beautiful words for our hotel and our staff.
These words invites us all to continue on this way and give the best of us to please our guests.
Awaiting for your next visit
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at La Solara for a week in July with my daughter. Honestly cannot fault anything about the hotel. The location is a bit outside of Sorrento but the shuttle bus is excellent and reliable. From start to finish this hotel stands out. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool is spotless and the seating area around it is peaceful and relaxing.

The food was excellent, with plenty of choices.

This hotel provides the perfect base to explore this area and there is plenty to explore. We didn't have time to do everything that we wanted to but we will definitely come back soon and would not hesitate to stay at La Solara again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear dkm65,
Thank you for your impressions and we are very proud that the work of our staff is well appreciated by our guests. By your next visit to have a nice and a n easy walk to Sorrento a good suggestion is: Take our shuttle at set times, get off where it begins the pedestrians path (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the marina grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of LA SOLARA
Please be assured that we will try to do more on your next visit which we hope will be soon.
A warm greeting from Sorrento and from all of us Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As this was first trip to Sorrento my wife and I wanted to experience it well, we are so glad we chose the hotel La Solara.
Firstly the hotel was very well kept , roomy and spotlessly clean, the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble, the food was excellent, dinner is waiter service which made it all that more special.
The menu was varied with lots of choice, we liked the fish dishes so we had that most evenings, Sundays gala night was amazing, a five course meal of 5 star quality, and we got to meet the chefs.
The outdoor area was very well kept , the swimming pool was the best we have been in at a hotel with plenty of sunbeds and towels provided, the outdoor snack bar was very good with excellent service the food here was very generous and very fresh, the salads were excellent.
There is a free shuttle bus to Sorrento every hour which we found a very good addition to the amenities on offer, we used it most day's it was always on time and the driver very courteous.
If you are looking for a very good hotel and first class experience we recommend Hotel La Solara, we are already planning our next trip there, we guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Elaine D,
The first thing is to thank you to have written a gorgeous review and also to advise us your next stay with us for 2015
The staff will do all they can to make your stay with us again to your liking.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had our 14th holiday at La Solara in July.The Hotel was all that we knew it would be.Spotlessly clean and pristine throughout the hotel and grounds.The food was delicious and plentiful with a large choice.
The staff are "The Icing on the cake",friendly, courteous and cheerful,always greeting you with a smile.
We have been to our Thomson shop today and booked for 2015.From G.and B.B.Oxfordshire.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Gerald B,
The first thing is to thank you 14 times. A thank you for every time you've been with us.
In advance we thank you once again for your stay 2015.
Surely we will do everything we can to have you again with us in 2016.
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Alma & Ugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife booked the hotel for us to have a short break as a couple, I'm only sorry we were just away for one week I plan to holiday at this hotel again very soon. The hotel will perhaps not knock you off your feet but the brilliant staff, the customer service, the excellent food and attention to every detail to improve your holiday will. Excellent location, the town is there a short bus trip away if you wish or relax by the huge pool on the sun terrace.Wonderful

Room Tip: Ask for sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Holly6523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Holly6523,
Reading your reviews and comments with these extraordinary words, I believe that, all directors should be proud of for all the work of all the staff because our guests appreciate all they do to make their stay as comfortable as possible.
Greetings from Sorrento and on your next visit waiting
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £94 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing