We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous holiday at La Solara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our second stay at La Solara having visited for the first time last year. We rarely stay at the same location / hotel twice but it was an easy choice for our summer holiday this year when we decided that we wanted to spend some more time in Sorrento. One of the reasons that we returned this year was the availability of gluten free choices for my daughter who is a Coeliac and yet again we found the understanding of her need for a strict gluten free diet and food options truly outstanding in this hotel - nothing was too much trouble so a special thanks to Marcello, Nello and the fantastic chefs who made this possible and gave us peace of mind. This is a truly exceptional hotel with the most amazing staff, including all of those who work behind the scenes to make this a fabulous place to stay. We look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room but in all honesty, we never spent that much time in the room to make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marlborough L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Marlborough L,
We thank you that after the second stay with us you have such beautiful words for our hotel and our staff and you are working already for your next visit.
These words invites us all to continue on this way giving the best of us to please our guests.
Awaiting for your next visit 2015 best greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was by far our favourite hotel that we stayed in on our trip to Italy.
The staff is friendly, almost a family atmosphere. The rooms are spacious,very clean and comfortable, we had a beautiful view of the ocean. The shuttle service into town is very convenient. Breakfast was included and a generous assortment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Martina K,
Thank you for your beautiful concept. Few words have made all the staff and management proud for their hard work..
In awaiting to have you again with by your next Sorrento visit
GRAZIE
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at this amazing hotel with my husband and 2 children for a week July/August this year. Our plane was delayed which meant we arrived after the restaurant officially closed, but the staff kept the restaurant open and even offered us a choice of food. They even let us have breakfast early the next day as we had a trip planned which meant we left at the time the restaurant opened. All the staff throughout the hotel were polite at all times and went out of their way to make sure our holiday was enjoyable. Some staff were on first name terms very quickly and all made us feel very welcome and looked after. There was a wide range of choice for both breakfast and dinner and it was all very tasty and well cooked. Rooms were very clean and spacious and had nice finishing touches such as complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates. The rest of the hotel was also spotless. The swimming pool was large and was very much enjoyed by my children. There was a plentiful supply of sunbeds and the poolside bar was located well to get refreshing drinks. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and is in walking distance ( very steep walk) of the beach which offers some nice cafés and restaurants. The hotel provide a complimentary bus into the town which was very helpful. All four of us very much enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was very nice, but would like a sea view room next times as the views acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Deana F, The entire staff & management thanks you for all that you have highlighted about La Solara and service. This makes us proud and gives new energy for our work. In awaiting to have you, again, with us soon we send you our best greetings. Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from our holiday at La Solara, and the hotel and everyone who worked there were first class. Thank you to everyone involved! Good quiet location out of town with free and prompt hourly shuttle bus for guests. Food was very good, and although not buffet but served it offered good flexibility and we always had options. Swapped dinner for lunch one day... Pool clean and large, plentiful loungers... Room was fine and well maintained. Staff attentive and helpful, sorting our trip to Capri and moving our car for us when they needed to manage the car park. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet, well run, hotel, that allows you to relax. Only issue to mention was need for long trousers at dinner, not mentioned on website so I didn't have any with me. They were fine with me being in shorts, but clearer communication on website would gave avoided the issue. If this is the worst complaint I can make then this has to be a good hotel!! Thank you again for making our holiday to Sorrento so pleasurable and memorable!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Jason C,
Thank you very much for your magnificent notes about La Solara and the service. Our employees are very proud for your words and they're also very pleased that their hard work is so well rated. We look forward to seeing you again by your next visit to Sorrento. Greetings from Sorrento from all of us Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just back from 2 weeks at this hotel - our first time there but it won't be the last! My first thoughts were that its a bit 1980s - set table for dinner, duo entertaining three times a week, but we loved it. The facilities are excellent for couples (no family club as it's relatively small), food was great and the service was absolutely superb. Everyone was so helpful and friendly, especially Angelo, Marcello, Nello and Antonio. Many of the people we spoke to were coming back year after year and I can understand why - you are extremely well looked after, nothing is too much trouble! It's away from the centre but has a free hourly shuttle bus. I can't recommend this highly enough - we don't normally go back to places (it's a big old world) but we will definitely become regulars here.

Room Tip: try for a sea view - the location is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for the nice words had towards our hotel and our staff. That makes us very proud and encourages us to give everything to make the stay of our guests to their liking By your next stay tell us, please, if you want soft or hard mattress so to make your stay a dream holiday. Greetings from all the staff and management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Beautifully clean, relaxing, friendly. Everything you want or need for your ideal family holiday this hotel has it all. Spacious and comfortable foyer area to sit and relax or have a drink in the evening. Delicious, fresh, plentiful food for breakfast buffet - cold meats, pastries, cereal, toast, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit and more. Gym available with very good facilities. Excellent pool - big enough for proper swimming and no over crowding and plenty of sunbeds. All staff are attentive, friendly and very helpful. Superb fresh cooked food available during the day by the pool and again for evening meal. Very easy access in to town with hotel bus running on time every hour. Thank you for our brilliant 2 week stay. Family of 4 (2 boys aged 13 and 15).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear S J,
We can only write "GRAZIE". The entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted. This makes us happy and makes us work with new energy.
For the mattresses we have the possibility to change, if required, with soft mattresses and I'm sorry that you have not asked the reception to change.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Greetings from all of us from Sorrento Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My friend and I stayed here August 2014. The shuttle was indispensable as hotel would otherwise be too far from Sorrento to walk. Public transport was often full and buses drove straight past. The only downside was the last shuttle from Sorrento was 11.15 p.m. so you could not stay out late like those staying in the centre.First room rather small and dark but staff were accommodating and moved us on request.
Hotel was clean and well managed. Request a room with a sea view if you don't want to merely look at gardens.

Room Tip: Request a sea view. The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Claire J,
Thank you for the nice words had towards our hotel and our staff. I'm sorry that you have not been very satisfied with the location of our hotel even though it is described very clearly that we are 3000 meters ca. from the center of Sorrento. Our shuttle service begins at 8 in the morning until 11:15 at night every hour. Our guests love our Hotel for the tranquility and the beautiful location. I really hope that by your next visit to Sorrento, as do the majority of our guests, you will return to La Solara.
Greetings from all the staff and management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
2.1 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £108 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing