We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated - this hotel does not warrant 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent four nights at Hotel La Solara in June. We based our stay on TripAdvisor ratings. I honestly do not understand how this hotel rates so high. It wasn't awful, but it's definitely not worth 5 stars. The wifi connection is nonexistent (an important amenity when you're traveling), the beds were like sleeping on a slab of concrete, and the food was average. The front desk staff wasn't very helpful or knowledgeable but it should be noted that the staff around the pool, housekeeping, and the shuttle driver were wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chessiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Chessiecat,
You're a good contributor to tripadvisor and I can’t explain why you had such a bad review towards our hotel. If you got the wrong hotel, as you talk about a 5-star hotel and we are a 4 star hotel, please write directly to trip advisor and apologize for the error so to remove your negative review. We will be very pleased for this because it is not possible that you are the only one guest of our many customers to denigrate so our structure. All of our employees work very hard and it is not fair that their work would be not recognized in the right way.
I am at your disposal for further information.
We hope to have you with us to make your stay a memorable stay.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

this was our first trip to Sorrento. hotel was absolutely lovely. friendly helpful staff. rooms very clean and spacious. fabulous breakfasts and excellent choice for dinner too. fantastic views from hotel and the shuttle bus to town an excellent service. staff even provided us with a packed 'lunch bag' as we had an early departure before the restaurant officially opened for breakfast. will definitely be making a return trip.

Room Tip: sea view rooms breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sonia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear sonia r,
Thank you for your impressions and we are very proud that the work of our staff is well appreciated by our guests. By your next visit to have a nice and a easy walk to Sorrento a good suggestion is: Take our shuttle at set times, get off where it begins the pedestrians path (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the marina grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of LA SOLARA
.Please be assured that we will try to do more on your next visit which we hope will be soon. A warm greeting from Sorrento and from all of us Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful time at this hotel and normally do not write reviews but feel we must. From arriving we were welcomed like long lost family even having never stayed there before. I did ask for adjacent rooms as children in the other room, we didn't get that but they were on the same floor and it worked well as they had a room over the pool which was quiet and we had a sea view, so the best of both worlds! And they were only a minute away and 17 and 13 so it was no problem. Room was immaculately clean and was cleaned every day, lovely receiving the chocolates every night too! Cleaning staff were soo friendly and even helped us with our Italian. Food, fantastic! Our daughter is vegetarian, no problem, Marcello took time to talk to her about choices on the menu and also offered anything she would like to eat. All the waiters equally served us with kindness and a ready smile. Pepino needs a special mention, he works so hard, always friendly and on Gala night he stole the show, we will always think of him fondly. To the young, handsome gentleman on reception, I am sorry not to get your name but you came to my rescue with ice when I got severe prickly heat on my legs after visiting Pompeii, your concern and kindness was so thoughtful and ice a great help. Thankfully all better now. Finally the courtesy bus into Sorrento ran on time, again always a ready smile and keen to help, he dropped us at the rail station rather than the usual stop to save an added walk. We don't usually go back to the same place twice but would definitely go back here and it would feel like going to visit well loved family members. Thank you all for making our holiday to Sorrento a relaxing and special time, we hope to return soon. Ciao x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Maria1465,
What can you reply to a guest who says that the hotel is just perfect? The only word is GRAZIE. These words invites us all to continue on this way giving the best of us to please our guests.
Awaiting for your next visit best greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
.Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our second stay at La Solara having visited for the first time last year. We rarely stay at the same location / hotel twice but it was an easy choice for our summer holiday this year when we decided that we wanted to spend some more time in Sorrento. One of the reasons that we returned this year was the availability of gluten free choices for my daughter who is a Coeliac and yet again we found the understanding of her need for a strict gluten free diet and food options truly outstanding in this hotel - nothing was too much trouble so a special thanks to Marcello, Nello and the fantastic chefs who made this possible and gave us peace of mind. This is a truly exceptional hotel with the most amazing staff, including all of those who work behind the scenes to make this a fabulous place to stay. We look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room but in all honesty, we never spent that much time in the room to make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marlborough L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Marlborough L,
We thank you that after the second stay with us you have such beautiful words for our hotel and our staff and you are working already for your next visit.
These words invites us all to continue on this way giving the best of us to please our guests.
Awaiting for your next visit 2015 best greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was by far our favourite hotel that we stayed in on our trip to Italy.
The staff is friendly, almost a family atmosphere. The rooms are spacious,very clean and comfortable, we had a beautiful view of the ocean. The shuttle service into town is very convenient. Breakfast was included and a generous assortment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Martina K,
Thank you for your beautiful concept. Few words have made all the staff and management proud for their hard work..
In awaiting to have you again with by your next Sorrento visit
GRAZIE
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at this amazing hotel with my husband and 2 children for a week July/August this year. Our plane was delayed which meant we arrived after the restaurant officially closed, but the staff kept the restaurant open and even offered us a choice of food. They even let us have breakfast early the next day as we had a trip planned which meant we left at the time the restaurant opened. All the staff throughout the hotel were polite at all times and went out of their way to make sure our holiday was enjoyable. Some staff were on first name terms very quickly and all made us feel very welcome and looked after. There was a wide range of choice for both breakfast and dinner and it was all very tasty and well cooked. Rooms were very clean and spacious and had nice finishing touches such as complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates. The rest of the hotel was also spotless. The swimming pool was large and was very much enjoyed by my children. There was a plentiful supply of sunbeds and the poolside bar was located well to get refreshing drinks. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and is in walking distance ( very steep walk) of the beach which offers some nice cafés and restaurants. The hotel provide a complimentary bus into the town which was very helpful. All four of us very much enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was very nice, but would like a sea view room next times as the views acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Deana F, The entire staff & management thanks you for all that you have highlighted about La Solara and service. This makes us proud and gives new energy for our work. In awaiting to have you, again, with us soon we send you our best greetings. Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from our holiday at La Solara, and the hotel and everyone who worked there were first class. Thank you to everyone involved! Good quiet location out of town with free and prompt hourly shuttle bus for guests. Food was very good, and although not buffet but served it offered good flexibility and we always had options. Swapped dinner for lunch one day... Pool clean and large, plentiful loungers... Room was fine and well maintained. Staff attentive and helpful, sorting our trip to Capri and moving our car for us when they needed to manage the car park. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet, well run, hotel, that allows you to relax. Only issue to mention was need for long trousers at dinner, not mentioned on website so I didn't have any with me. They were fine with me being in shorts, but clearer communication on website would gave avoided the issue. If this is the worst complaint I can make then this has to be a good hotel!! Thank you again for making our holiday to Sorrento so pleasurable and memorable!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Jason C,
Thank you very much for your magnificent notes about La Solara and the service. Our employees are very proud for your words and they're also very pleased that their hard work is so well rated. We look forward to seeing you again by your next visit to Sorrento. Greetings from Sorrento from all of us Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £112 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Splitty, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing