We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This the second time we have been to this hotel, it lived up to our expectations. The hotel is well presented and set in a nice quiet location. All the staff are very friendly and hospitable.
One of many of the highlights is the quality of the food. There is an excellent selection of food to choose from and nothing is too much trouble for the staff, the lunch time menu is particularly impressive.
All the evenings are good but the highlight of our trip was the gala night (held on Sunday). This is an outdoor event which was excellent, it was nice sitting by the swimming pool.
The swimming pool is immaculate and the pool assistant is very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Morris558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Morris558,
I thank you that after the second stay with us you have such beautiful words for our hotel and our staff.
These words invites us all to continue on this way and give the best of us to please our guests.
Awaiting for your next visit
Greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is the second year in a row we have spent our summer holiday in Sorrento and at this hotel, not sure why I didn't post last year but should have. Overall our holiday experience was very good due to a combination of a great resort and a very good hotel. The staff are excellent there, from housekeeping, to reception to the restaurant, where Massimo runs an efficient and customer focused ship. All the bar staff, waiters work exceptionally hard, to note were Nello, Pepe, and Serverano. The daily free shuttle bus 10 minutes into town every hour was also useful and efficient. The quality of the food is excellent and if you don't like what's on the menu, they will try and find some thing that you do like, but what gives this hotel the very good rating, is it's focus on customer care.

We didn't have a brilliant room last year and chose not to make a fuss, we had room 424 this year with hardly any balcony and no view (partly our fault as we booked rather late) but when we raised it, as the hotel was full, 2 days later we were changed to a much better room.

The staff focus on detail and pleasing the customer is second to none, they never pass without a smile and an acknowledgement. The hotel is spotlessly clean and can't be faulted. If I had a criticism, the wifi is very poor and you spend more time trying to connect than you do connected, whereas just around the corner nearer town you have the benefit of 4G.

It's easy to see why many like us go back to this hotel and I wouldn't hesitate recommending it as a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ideally above the main entrance or at least pool side on floor 2 or above. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear RobWill,
Thank you very much for your reviews and comments towards our hotel and our staff.
We can only write "THANK YOU". The Entire staff thanks you for all that you have highlighted. This makes us happy and work with new energy.
For the mattresses we have the possibility to change, if required, with soft mattresses and we are sorry that you have not asked the reception to change.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Greetings from all of us from Sorrento Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

From the moment my wife and i arrived we were treated as though we were their only guests.The room was spacious, beautifully furnished and immaculately clean.Dinner throughout the holiday was a gastronomic experience not to be missed,The menu never repeated itself in the ten days of our holiday.A day around the pool and lunch was equally enjoyable again with first class service.Wherever you were in the Hotel you were warmly greeted and whatever you asked for was always possible never a problem.We are about to book the same holiday in 2015.

Bainbridge Family. Room 218

Room Tip: Sea view is an extra but well worth the extra expence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Sue B,
Thank you very much for your reviews right after another that was a very bad one in respect of our hotel and our staff. We think rightly that this person has got the wrong hotel.
We are very happy for all our staff who work very hard and it is right that their work is recognized in the right way.
We are already waiting for you for the next 2015 and we will do everything to make your stay again a memorable one.
Greetings from all of us
Ugo Di Maio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent four nights at Hotel La Solara in June. We based our stay on TripAdvisor ratings. I honestly do not understand how this hotel rates so high. It wasn't awful, but it's definitely not worth 5 stars. The wifi connection is nonexistent (an important amenity when you're traveling), the beds were like sleeping on a slab of concrete, and the food was average. The front desk staff wasn't very helpful or knowledgeable but it should be noted that the staff around the pool, housekeeping, and the shuttle driver were wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chessiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Chessiecat,
You're a good contributor to tripadvisor and I can’t explain why you had such a bad review towards our hotel. If you got the wrong hotel, as you talk about a 5-star hotel and we are a 4 star hotel, please write directly to trip advisor and apologize for the error so to remove your negative review. We will be very pleased for this because it is not possible that you are the only one guest of our many customers to denigrate so our structure. All of our employees work very hard and it is not fair that their work would be not recognized in the right way.
I am at your disposal for further information.
We hope to have you with us to make your stay a memorable stay.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

this was our first trip to Sorrento. hotel was absolutely lovely. friendly helpful staff. rooms very clean and spacious. fabulous breakfasts and excellent choice for dinner too. fantastic views from hotel and the shuttle bus to town an excellent service. staff even provided us with a packed 'lunch bag' as we had an early departure before the restaurant officially opened for breakfast. will definitely be making a return trip.

Room Tip: sea view rooms breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sonia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear sonia r,
Thank you for your impressions and we are very proud that the work of our staff is well appreciated by our guests. By your next visit to have a nice and a easy walk to Sorrento a good suggestion is: Take our shuttle at set times, get off where it begins the pedestrians path (about 1000/1500 meters) and from there enjoy the magnificent view of the marina grande, the Vesuvius and the beautiful coast. After this beautiful walk take our shuttle from the bus stop and return to the tranquility of LA SOLARA
.Please be assured that we will try to do more on your next visit which we hope will be soon. A warm greeting from Sorrento and from all of us Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful time at this hotel and normally do not write reviews but feel we must. From arriving we were welcomed like long lost family even having never stayed there before. I did ask for adjacent rooms as children in the other room, we didn't get that but they were on the same floor and it worked well as they had a room over the pool which was quiet and we had a sea view, so the best of both worlds! And they were only a minute away and 17 and 13 so it was no problem. Room was immaculately clean and was cleaned every day, lovely receiving the chocolates every night too! Cleaning staff were soo friendly and even helped us with our Italian. Food, fantastic! Our daughter is vegetarian, no problem, Marcello took time to talk to her about choices on the menu and also offered anything she would like to eat. All the waiters equally served us with kindness and a ready smile. Pepino needs a special mention, he works so hard, always friendly and on Gala night he stole the show, we will always think of him fondly. To the young, handsome gentleman on reception, I am sorry not to get your name but you came to my rescue with ice when I got severe prickly heat on my legs after visiting Pompeii, your concern and kindness was so thoughtful and ice a great help. Thankfully all better now. Finally the courtesy bus into Sorrento ran on time, again always a ready smile and keen to help, he dropped us at the rail station rather than the usual stop to save an added walk. We don't usually go back to the same place twice but would definitely go back here and it would feel like going to visit well loved family members. Thank you all for making our holiday to Sorrento a relaxing and special time, we hope to return soon. Ciao x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Maria1465,
What can you reply to a guest who says that the hotel is just perfect? The only word is GRAZIE. These words invites us all to continue on this way giving the best of us to please our guests.
Awaiting for your next visit best greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
.Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our second stay at La Solara having visited for the first time last year. We rarely stay at the same location / hotel twice but it was an easy choice for our summer holiday this year when we decided that we wanted to spend some more time in Sorrento. One of the reasons that we returned this year was the availability of gluten free choices for my daughter who is a Coeliac and yet again we found the understanding of her need for a strict gluten free diet and food options truly outstanding in this hotel - nothing was too much trouble so a special thanks to Marcello, Nello and the fantastic chefs who made this possible and gave us peace of mind. This is a truly exceptional hotel with the most amazing staff, including all of those who work behind the scenes to make this a fabulous place to stay. We look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room but in all honesty, we never spent that much time in the room to make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marlborough L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Marlborough L,
We thank you that after the second stay with us you have such beautiful words for our hotel and our staff and you are working already for your next visit.
These words invites us all to continue on this way giving the best of us to please our guests.
Awaiting for your next visit 2015 best greetings from Sorrento and from all of us
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £106 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing