We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Solara - a lovely Sorrentine experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“La Solara - a lovely Sorrentine experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed at La Solara on a Thomson package and we have to say we were delighted with this hotel. La Solara is a 10 minute drive to the centre of Sorrento but the hotel courtesy bus runs every hour to and from Sorrento so no probs there and the one time we needed to use the local bus in the evening it came on time and stops 50 metres away - albeit on the rather busy main road.

The room we had was spacious and very clean - the maid came twice a day - the bed was huge, the bathroom spotless and no problems with the shower. We also had a balcony, although not the best view - it was looking sideways towards a hill and the swimming pool - there are a number of rooms at the front with sea views.

We had half-board and the food was excellent as said elsewhere by many others. The dining room is large with great views out of the windows a very nice room and with 4 courses and a good choice for breakfast. Staff are friendly and well organised.

The swimming pool is excellent with lots of different places to sunbathe with a wonderful terrace looking out over the sea, there is also a garden area. The gala evening on Monday was a wonderful night candle-lit around the pool with live music.

There were couples and families with young children and the hotel seemed to appear to al ages..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimboSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,675
    225
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
506
1,192
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Difficult to add to other contributors' comments. All the staff were very accomodating. A well managed hotel where the guests are valued! Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Firstly my apologies to all the staff for not writing this review sooner. We travelled to La Solara in June 2009 with our two young children, Sami aged 2 and David just 7 weeks. We had 15 other friends with us who came to celebrate our wedding in the Cloisters.
We just had the best time ever - the staff are fantastic, Sami was spoilt rotten, nothing was too much trouble from Angelo in the bar, who she still talks about most days and Marcello and Nello in the restaurant. Antonio and Pepe at the pool bar and of course Antonio the pool man. We had our wedding reception in the hotel and it was fabulous. We had an amazing meal followed by a strawberry and cream wedding cake that was so huge we shared it later that evening with other guests staying.
Sami is already telling everybody that Daddy has to go to work to save enough pennies to pay the pilot!! So a massive thank you to all the staff for making our Wedding Day and holiday so so so special. We will be back one day, thank you. Carol, Paul, Sami and David xx

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolarose050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My girlfriend and I came to Sorrento to experience the 'La Solara' and not the other way arround. Although I had always wanted to visit the Italian Riviera, the reviews of this hotel were so good that we had to find out if they were true.
First impressions are important and we were pleasantly surprised to be met at the bus and have our bags taken from the bus to the room while we enjoyed a very welcoming and super efficient check-in. We arrived like other Tripadvisor contributors well after 11 pm and were pleasantly surprised to find the dinning room was kept open for us all to enjoy a delicious three course meal. When we got to the room it was spotlessly clean and on the bedside cabinet a complementary bottle of red wine from the manager Umberto.
Service at this hotel was superb all week without exception and it was clear from the start this was not about tips but the pride La Solara staff have in their well deserved reputation. In fact for convenience everything was signed for and charged to the room. The bill was spot on at the end of the week.
The rooms were cleaned twice a day to a high standard and toiletries regularly refreshed. In the evening praline chocolates were left beside the bed. A very nice touch. We did not actually see the cleaning staff, but the rooms were always spotless. There were no tea or coffee making facilities although they were available on request. There were very modern flat screen TV's on the wall although after a week you get a bit tired of news 24 & Sky.
In the restaurant the food was exceptional although the breakfast buffet a little limited. The eveing meals were the best I have ever experienced on a half board deal with several choices for each course. The staff were attentive but not intrusive and we had our own table for the week. When we did not finish one meal the head waiter came over to check if there was anything worng. Yes, too much, you cant go hungry at La Solara.
The bar, pool and reception staff are all very proactive and helpful. A previous TA contributor suggested drinks were expensive at the hotel. We found beer, spirits and wine comparable with the town, although the mixers and soft drinks a little overpriced. The drinks with the evening meal were not included in the evening meal.
A special mention for the two bus drivers who run the regular hourly shuttle to town. They were friendly and ultra reliable given the hectic driving conditions in Sorrento. Taxi's in Sorrento are expensive so these guys probably save you a lot of money in a week. The facilities at the hotel were great. The pool was a nice size and kept clean. The new style sunbeds comfortable and fresh luxurious towels on hand. Possibly the hotel could benefit from a small shop or kiosk selling books, magazines ect.
On the last day the management and staff were there on hand to say farwell another small gesture creating a big impression. I could not imagine what Umberto could do to improve standards at La Solara, he has a great team and they all really understand the concept of customer service. I would definately reccomend chosing this hotel for anyone staying in Sorrento.
On advice from other Tridavisors we did our own trips and saved a packet. We went to Capri, Pompei & Castell de Mare, and Amalfi. All recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rc1blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, Northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My daughter got married last Wednesday in the Cloisters, Sorrento and 13 of us stayed in La Solara for this special occassion. Between La Solara and Thomsons Wedding Planner - the day could not have been more perfect. We were given a fantastic reception after the ceremony back at the hotel with a 4 course meal, table decorations and complementary wedding cake. As far as I am concerned, no other hotel would have put themselves out as much as the staff did at Hotel La Solara to make this day so memorable. The hotel was spotlessly clean and every night our beds were turned back and a chocolate left with a good-night note. We had a room with a view of the Bay of Naples which gave fantasic sunsets every night. Food at the hotel was absolutely wonderful. Make sure you take stretchy trousers or skirts because they really make sure that you don't go hungry! The staff could not do enough to make our stay perfect. There is a free shuttle bus that leaves the hotel on the hour, every hour down to Sorrento and collects you again. This is ideal as the taxi's are very very expensive. If you want to go to Pompii, take the train as it is only 1.90 euros return and 11 euros entrance. Thomsons excursions were too expensive. I would recommend this hotel and honestly say that it is the best hotel that I have every stayed at and I have stayed at lots of hotels over the years. Thank you so much, La Solara, I have wonderful memories of my stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XXXlindaXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We were treated brilliantly from start to finish at La Solara - nothing was too much trouble and the cleanliness, food and above all the service was outstanding. This was our first trip to Sorrento and we could not have chosen a better hotel to suit us. The location was ideal for us as we did not want to be in the centre of town and the shuttle bus provided the perfect opportunity for us to go when we wished, but then return to the peace & tranquility of the hotel. What makes this hotel really special is the passion for providing good service to its guests: no "lip-service" here, the quality of the experience we had was one we will remember for a very long time (or at least until our next visit!). Many thanks to all of you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewtonsDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Excellent service throughout, couldn't do enough to make your stay enjoyable.
Nice big spacious room with balcony overlooking the pool - large firm but comfortable bed.
A little out of town but covered by regular courtesy bus.
Food in the restaurant always of a high standard with the possible exception of the hard bread rolls at breakfast! The Gala dinner is not to be missed - sunset superb.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJWardWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing