We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On a terrace by the sea, how much better can it be?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“On a terrace by the sea, how much better can it be?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

Our stay at the Hotel La Solara in Sorrento epitomized our trip to Italy. We arrived late in the evening, so did not appreciate the view until the next morning. We did arrive bedraggled and thirsty, and our hotel host had been waiting for us. He escorted us into the hotel bar and poured two frosty Limenogellos! We had two each and were then really ready to turn in. The color of the sky at dawn as it peeked through the curtains was so captivating we ran to the french doors and onto our balcony overlooking the most spectacular view we had seen in Italy. The entire Med coast seemed to open up in front of us, and directly below a lone van climbed the switchback road to the hotel.

The breakfast was delightful and after our meal, we boarded the complimentary shuttle to take us to town. After a few hours of shopping and lunch, we boarded the bus for the return trip up the hill to face another WOW view from our balcony. The hotel itself is small and well-appointed with comfortable beds, with reading lights, and large bathrooms. This is a Best Western property which we will return to often, and I hope, soon....Pat and Don Hager

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pathager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,653
    223
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
499
1,177
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is a great hotel. Fantastic people (especially Antonio!), very well maintained premises, and more than expected for the price. The shuttle (10 min ride) to/from town center is very convenient - and its nice to be removed from the touristy part of Sorrento - and the food is excellent as well. With our two young kids, it was very nice to have the pool available. If I return to Sorrento, this would be the only hotel I'd consider.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWCCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Glos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

This is the 4th time we have stayed at La Solara. It has never failed to come up to our hopes and expectations in terms of position (on the side of a hill, surrounded by olive trees), comfort ( large en suite - bedroom, luxurious lounge and spacious dining room), cleanliness, service and good food.
We started our holiday from a low point. I was exhausted, not from travelling but from a pretty stressful year, and my other half arrived with a problem stomach. For the first 3 days we were unable to enjoy the holiday mood but were in the best place to 'convalesce'.
And we did. The holiday never looked back. The most trivial requests were treated with kindness and promptness by each and every one of the hotel's staff - all of whom appeared to be one and the same as those we had encountered on our first visit in 2001.
As for the food, it is beyond compare. How the chef(s) keep to such a high standard, providing a large number of people with a huge range of food, different each day and no fuss for those with special diets, I cannot imagine.
Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday evenings, guests are entertained by a two piece ensemble, with Neapolitan music and singing interspersed with popular songs of the Sinatra/Presley variety. Perhaps we were lucky, but the other guests who arrived for the same two weeks as us, were particularly good company and by the end of the fortnight, there was a distinctly clubby atmosphere, egged on by the antics of Angelo and Guisseppe.
Thanks to all the staff - you are in a class of your own. DV, we shall be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pollyl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

The hotel was situated outside the main resort with views ovelooking a valley down to the sea. The hotel have their own hourly bus service to and from the town centre. The service by the friendly staff was excellent and the food was outstnding but would have liked water on the tables for evening meals. I would give this hotel a five star rating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruising09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

once again our stay at the hotel proved excellant. It really made our holiday that bit extra special, our thanks to the staff who were really attentive and extremely polite and courteous, nothing is too much trouble for them!!
I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel!!! The food is really top class and the chefs had pulled out all the stops to cater for everyones tastes including a regional dish for guests to try if they wanted.
The rooms are very well put together and the maid service is excellant too with a turning down service on a night along with a chocolate which is a nice touch. All in all an excellant hotel with excellant staff!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

I really liked this hotel, especially the breakfast and style of the room. Breakfast was a selection of pastries, croissants, rolls, or you could make toast, with jams and cold meats. There were a few different hot items every day, such as mini sausages, tomatoes and scrambled eggs. I particularly enjoyed the fruit salad and yogurts. The coffee is very strong but we eventually got the balance right with the hot milk. We had dinner once at the hotel and that was also very good. We only wanted a main-course each, but they invited us to help ourselves at the salad bar and they had lovely appetizers, so it was like a starter! I had the penne sorrentino, which was delicious.
The room was lovely, with traditional Italian tiles on the floor. However, the room was very basic - no coffee-making facilities, the hair-dryer was an attachment on the bathroom wall (no good), and the safe was very small indeed (we only just managed to squeeze in our passports, travel money, sunglasses case with my jewellery in it and my purse). We found the room with a complimentary bottle of wine and we received a chocolate every evening at turn-down. However, the maid did not replace our toiletries as necessary and one evening we returned to the room to find that they had removed some sweets I had been gradually collecting from the front desk. This made me feel terrible like I wasn't supposed to have taken them, but they were also complimentary. When my partner spoke to the concierge about it, he simply replied that we should take some more!
Also, our room was on the back of the hotel where the sun never came round, so we never got the use of our balcony. The pool area was very nice though, with lots of beds facing the sun and the pool is huge. The pool was definitely not heated, but it was fine when you got in. We tried the pool cafe one day with friends, the food was nice but took a long time to come out.
The location of the hotel was nice as it was secluded and you could just see out to the water, however these views are not as impressive as you might get if you stay further down the street. Also, there is no pavement from La Solara leading down into town, so if you want to walk then you have to walk on the small, busy road! We tried this one evening and it wasn't too bad. It did take a long time though, at least twenty minutes before the pavement started. The rest of the trip we used the free bus that the hotel provided, which left the hotel every hour on the hour (6am-11pm) dropped you off at the Hotel Cesare at about quarter past, which was also the pick-up point and time when you wanted to return. This bus was very convenient, hence it did sometimes get busy with some people having to stand (it was only a small bus - see my photos). We got stung for taxis on our first evening in Sorrento - E20 down to the Bristol Hotel (where the pavement starts) and E25 back! Others told us that taxi drivers hiked up the prices because its end of season and if overcharged, you have to just call the police. We didn't take a taxi again until our last night when we managed to arrange a fixed price of E25 from the main square in Sorrento back to La Solara.
I would definitely stay here again if I was to return to Sorrento. I would ask for a sun-facing room and I would bring my own hair-dryer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Diva-KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Everything about this hotel, the food ,the rooms, the staff are first class.Other reviews have more or less said it all. highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, owner manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,001 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing