We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, clean rooms, friendly, not too large”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The food was good and very plentifull with plenty of choice, the room (218) on the front was a very good size. with lovely views. The staff were very friendly and helpfull.
The one downside is that it is too far to walk into the centre, but they do have a courtesy bus that runs every hour.
The place was very clean with plenty of fresh linen and towels, and we never heard a negative comment from anyone staying there with us-what more can I say!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,619 - 1,625 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2010

My husband and I booked a last minute trip to the Sorrento area for the 4-day bank holiday weekend this month. After debating between several hotels, we chose Hotel La Solara because of the great reviews and the price was right. The hotel is a good choice and don't have any major complaints, but because it got such great reviews from others, I was expecting things to be above average. Perhaps its because we only stayed for 2 nights and not the standard week-long holiday that seems to be the specialty of this hotel (there were Thomas Cook and Tui timetable in the lobby).

We took a cab from the marina to the hotel (about €20 for the 10-minute drive). We were checked in promptly but only a basic greeting was provided -- no info on breakfast or the hotel, shuttle service, etc and I would say that the check-in guy was non-unfriendly, but again, didn't get the warm welcome I was expecting based on previous reviews.

I had paid a bit more for a room with a balcony and requested a seaview room. This was not an option to book online so I figure it's just allocated upon booking. I was disappointed to see the mini-balcony overlooking a huge roof area with the pool far off in the distance (I took a photo but unfortunately it couldn't be added to this as it's too big). I tried calling down to the front desk 3 times within the hour that we checked in and no one answered. At that point we had unpacked and used the bathroom so figured it was pointless to move rooms.

The room itself was fine. The bed is rock solid but I managed to sleep okay. The have very limited amenities in the room, but when I browsed through their binder of services, it seems like you can call down for anything. Still, for a 4-star hotel, I expect an in-room safe without having to call down and pay a charge. There was also only shampoo in the bathroom, no body lotion which is always nice to have there. The decor left something to be desired, but the room, and the hotel throughout, was very clean so the style wasn't so much of a concern.

We spent a few hours at the pool on the first afternoon we arrived, the chairs are comfortable and have a nice little sun visor on each one. There was a pool attend there to help with anything.

The breakfast was above average and had plenty of options. The service in the restaurant was very good, everyone was so friendly and got us drinks immediately. The food was always fresh and hot and trays were kept properly filled.

A reason we chose this hotel was the shuttle service as it leaves every hour as opposed to other hotels that only have a few times per day. Taking it into town was not a problem. it left on time and took about 10-15 minutes. But, each morning they dropped us off at a different spot on the same street. So the first night, when we came back to the drop off point to be picked up by the shuttle, we saw it pass and then go to turn around, which is what it had done that morning. We were standing exactly where it dropped us off and there was room for at least 2 buses to pull over right in front of us. My husband had waved to the driver when he had passed to turn around so when he was driving toward us again, my husband waved again and said he made eye contact with the driver. But the driver kept going. I figured he was pulling over further down the road but he never stopped. It was really frustrating as we had just spent the whole day over in Capri, we were tired, but I suggested stopping for a drink so that we could wait to catch the next shuttle. We ended up waiting, walking for a while thinking we could catch the shuttle and then finally got in a cab back to the hotel -- another €20.

We took the public bus into town once and I don't recommend this if you can avoid it. The bus does not run on the timetable the hotel provides so unless you've just missed the shuttle into town, it's probably better to wait around. otherwise you end up walking on the winding narrow road, around several bends, until you get to the bus stop. We realized after that there may be a bus stop closer to the hotel and if this is the case, then it would be easier. The hotel sells bus tickets.

Overall, this hotel is a good choice, but I'm disappointed that I didn't experience the great service that others have referenced before. It was particularly the front desk staff who were average at best. They answered basic questions, checked us in, etc, but never did anything above and beyond that. I would consider this hotel again, but would lower my expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

We thank you for your comments. They will help us to make the stay of our guests with us more confortable or unforgettable.
First of all we will put more attention for the warm welcome from our staff.
In every room is a guest information book where is is written all about the hotel amenties and also the reception people had to give the rigt information by your arrival.
We will be at your disposal by your next , we hope not distant visit , to make your stay with us unforgettable
Our best greetings from the staf &f from the management
Ugo Di Maio,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Hotel Solara lived up to my expectations and went beyond even. The staff were so friendly, kind and helpful - all speaking English. Nothing seemed beyond them. The hotel was very clean. Lovely comfortable/spacious bar/lounge area. Food was very good, with variety. Excellent choice for breakfast to set you up for the day. The pool area was very well kept - towels provided. To get into Sorrento there was a shuttle bus to and fro. I would certainly love to go back and could recommend it without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Greetings from the staff & management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We are normally independent travellers but felt a second visit to Sorrento would be best served by a package holiday. After research, including Trip Advisor, we decided to rely on the reputation and expertise of Thomsons. We were very impressed with all the arrangements from start to finish. As for the hotel - it surpassed our expectations. It is in a very quiet location but only about ten minutes drive out of Sorrento with a free courtesy bus hourly from 0800 to 2300 hours daily and was a welcome respite from the 'buzzing' vespas and general busy traffic. All the staff were very polite, helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the communal areas very comfortable and welcoming. The food was exceptional with good choices and each evening a gourmet experience. The Gala Evenings were very memorable. We enjoyed it so much we will definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidGifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Greetings from the staff & management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We were intrigued by a comment in the visitors book from somebody who wrote "After 5 minutes we decided we would come again" because that was exactly how we felt. This is a hotel for peope who don't normally like hotels - it is more like being at home, with a cheerful staff and no chores. We are rather fussy about our food with various idiosyncracies (particularly an inability to eat onions, garlic, leeks and chives, and a dislike of "seafood") but this was no problem at all. It was like having a private chef and a clutch of waiters.

Although Sorrento is not on the dorstep it is only 10-15 minutes away on the hotel's courtesy bus - which runs till quite late.

Some other guests we talked to, who were widely travelled, had been coming since 1997 - which probably says it all.

Having said all of that, there is one group to whom we would not recommend it - slimmers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Greetings from the staff & management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

On arriving at the hotel you are made to feel welcome by the reception staff. The hotel room is clean & comfortable but can feel cool in the evening when we stayed in April. The reception staff did put heating on for a couple of nights. Anybody with dietary needs will have no problem, we E-mailed ahead of our visit as I am diabetic & I had no problem, Marcello the head waiter & Raymondo the head chef are both helpful & adapt dishes. All of the staff are pleasant, waiters, maids, even the maid that turns down your bed whilst you are at dinner & leaves a chocolate on the bedside. The 2 courtesy bus drivers are helpful & are always on time, if they are late it is due to traffic. From the dining room of an evening you get the most fantastic sunsets over Capri & see cruise ships passing. We went to Pompeii, Capri, & the Amalfi drive. All worth a visit, anyone nervous of the Amalfi drive need not worry as the bus drivers are fully competant that you feel safe on their bus. This is one holiday, both my husband & I would definitely would return to, as you can only see so much in a week. The hotel staff were so pleasant & welcoming you felt so at home, even meeting them for the first time you felt you had met before, it's sad when the holiday has come to an end. On our holiday we met people that had returned several times you can see why & you feel the same. Not a place for children as there isn't much to do for them. If you are celebrating a special occasion eg, wedding anniversary well worth a stay at this hotel as you are made to feel special by all the staff. If you need anything they will try to fulfill it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breakaway20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Greetings from the staff & management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

This hotel deserves SIX stars. We have traveled in Europe at least four or more times a year for many years. This hotel is remarkable. The Brits have been going there for years and now Americans are finding it. The hotel is not in downtown Sorrento it is a few kilometers down Capo road. This is a big plus. Sorrento is interesting and a great jump off point to see Amalfi ect. however it is way to busy a place to relax in. The La Solara has a free newer Mercedes courtesy bus that runs hourly back and forth to Sorrento - and guess what it actually does. It is completely reliable. The only one we have ever found that was no hassle. Getting to the hotel by train then courtesy bus is easy - you just need to ask the hotel where to catch the bus. The bus pickup is close to the train station.
The Hotel is terrific - off the chart. Everyone is friendly and tries to help you. It is spotless - they clean everything daily. There is a classic view from the La Solara of Naples, the bay and Vesuvius. Our room had a great balcony and the view was awesome.The breakfast is a full hot breakfast and the evening meal which at 20 euros is a deal and wonderful. Some of the best food we had in Italy and that is saying a lot. The rooms are great and the bath is large. Beds are super.

It is great to tear around the Sorrento or Amalfi coast or go to Pompei, Capri or Naples by boat or train then come back to this tranquil, clean, quite hotel. The pool is large and is well taken care of and has a great pool bar with Angelo who is efficient and entertaining. I would not consider any where else. I am Marriott and Hilton Gold and this hotel is BETTER then most of those brands. The value for the price is excellent. We will return next year,

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retireeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Greetings from the staff & management
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,363 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £109 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing