We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the good life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2010

A quiet relaxing hotel with friendly staff, well managed and with an excellent restaurant.
We arrived to a complementary drink and snacks before moving to our room which we found to be clean, well maintained and with two firm beds and with a generous sized balcony. The bathroom was clean and well appointed.
Meals throughout the stay were generous, well cooked and very well presented with plenty of choice, the table service was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The swimming pool was very well maintained and there was plenty of room to relax in the sun and to enjoy the view over the cliffs and sea.
There is a steep walk down to the small village of Paulo by the sea but you need to use the hourly curtesy bus from the hotel to Sorrento for other activities.
Overall we found our visit to the hotel to be an enjoyable and relaxing time

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray88England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,614 - 1,620 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

The hotel is situated outside Sorrento, but is well served by a free hourly shuttle bus. The service is excellent as is the italian food. All the staff are welcoming friendly and caring. The whole atmosphere makes for a wonderful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorrentofreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We arrived on 7th May and stayed for a week. The room we booked had a balcony and sea view, but be aware that not all balconies are the same size. The room next to ours had a balcony half the size of ours.
The weather was good and there was no shortage of sunbeds and chairs around the pool. Clean towels are provided for the sunbeds free of charge.
The hotel is situated just outside Sorrento but the small shuttle bus gave us the best of both worlds, great views with easy and frequent access to the town without the noise.
Drinks at the hotel are no more expensive than anywhere else in Sorrento, but they are expensive! We paid around 8 euros for a soft drink and a beer in all the bars/cafes we visited.
There are no tea/ coffee facilities in any of the rooms, so we bought drinks from a supermarket in Sorrento for the room and balcony.
The cost of drinks in the supermarkets is comparable with those in the UK.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are both friendly and professional.
We found the food and service were among the best we have had in any hotel.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank tripper62Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride. In every room in our guest information book is written that on request our guests can have tea/coffee making facilities.This will be nest time.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

With most reviews on trip advisor you get good, moderate and bad comments about the same hotel, so when we read the reviews for the La Solara in Sorrento with the ratings at 5 we thought it must be worth a try.
We have just returned from fourteen days at La Solara and wished we could have stayed for many more.
The reviews are totally correct, this is a little gem which we could not fault in any way, from our first arrival, with a welcoming glass of sparkling wine before checking in, until our last day with fond farewells. The staff are brilliant in every department, from reception ( nothing is to much trouble), resturant (head waiter Marcelo is superb, friendly and very efficient as are all his staff), lounge bar (Angelo very friendly can't do enough for you).
This hotel is ideally for those who want to totally relax, as it is some way from Sorrento but there is an excellent bus service run by the hotel into Sorrento hourly.
The entertainmet in the evening is 3 times a week, which consists of a duo and is very pleasant to relax and listen to.
The pool area is very good, spotlessly clean (as is everywhere) with a snack bar for lunch and drinks and ample sun beds.
The gardens are lovely with lemon trees growing in the grounds which you can sit among in this tranquil area.
The rooms are light and airey and maintained and cleaned to a very high standard.
We enjoyed this holiday so much that we booked for next year the day after we got back.
Well done La Solara ( Mr Mrs Wilson camera 112) Grazie Benissimo

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerculesWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Dissapointing weather made our holiday less enjoyable than wuold otherwise have been the case, but La Solara more than made up for it. The number of guests that were on return visits are tribute to the quality of the hotel, and when I say quality, I mean every department. The staff were absolutely first class, friendliness and attention to detail was obvious from the moment we walked through the door. The food was as good as any hotel food that I have experienced in extensive travelling around the world, both for business and pleasure, and this even bearing in mind that we were on a package holiday and the menu was the set menu (choice of four for each course).
I have seen other comments critcising the location, well for youngsters wanting the night life this may be the case, but for those wanting a quiter location this is ideal, the courtesy bus was always on time, clean, and driven by friendly staff who are obviously not trying to match their Italian colleagues madness on the roads.
The only criticism I would make was the pool, it is not heated at this time of year, and with the not so good weather, the pool was cold, this is a shame, as with a small investment in DIY solar heating the pool would have been used more. But this is a minor point and did not in any way distract from what was a lovely holiday.
One other point was that the hotel provided free Italian lessons, which was a really nice touch.
Well done all round

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonSpitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride. Our pool is heated up to 25/26 degree but may was a very special cold month.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

After our Thailand holiday was cancelled due to the Bangkok violence, we booked the La Solara in Sorrento as our 'Plan B' BUT from the moment we stepped into the La Solara we knew that our holiday was going to be unforgettable.

We arrived very late on the Friday night and the hotel dining room had remained open so that we could have a meal after our travels. This was only the beginning of the fanatastic service that we would recieve in our weeks stay.

The room was spotlessly clean and comfy and had all we needed in it. Our side sea view was much more than we had expected!

The food was amazing, we had been quite apprehensive about our 'half board' decision but landed up eating at the hotel every single night! From the amazing breakfast buffet to the divine pasta dishes and phenomenal salad bar, we were constantly surprised and excited by the menu and the options on offer! The rissottos on offer every night are divine! The restuarant staff were perfectly trained and extremely friendly making every dining experience outstanding!

The prices of drinks were reasonable (in comparison to the area) and we really enjoyed the bar area (thanks to the lovely bartenders Angelo and Pepe) especially on the nights that the live band was performing! (Saturday, Tuesday and Thursday).

The pool area was outstanding, with huge beach towels being provided free of charge and more than enough sun loungers for everyone in the hotel! There is an outdoor bar that serves a great array of dishes for lunch during the day at reasonable prices.

All areas of service in the restaurant, reception, housekeeping, bar and pool areas are up to a high standard and we were highly impressed!

The hotel is situated in a quiet, peaceful valley about 10 - 15 minutes drive away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. The hourly shuttle bus is brilliant and being a little bit out of town is no hassle at all!

Sorrento is an amazing base to explore the Amalfi coast, Naples and Capri. We visited Pompeii and Herculaneum, the Isle of Capri as well as Positano (an amazing vertical town), Amalfi (an amazing cathedral) and Ravello (the best view in the world). See the pictures attached, we would recommend all of the above!

The holiday was an amazing balance of historical discovery, sun bathing at the pool, eating divine food and getting a slice of 'authentic italy'! Make sure you try the Lemon Chello liquer and eat loads of the greatest ice cream in the world!!!!

If you are undecided about visiting the area or the La Solara, stop hesitating and book immediately! We have been recommending the hotel to all our friends and will definitely be back ASAP!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonBee022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The food was good and very plentifull with plenty of choice, the room (218) on the front was a very good size. with lovely views. The staff were very friendly and helpfull.
The one downside is that it is too far to walk into the centre, but they do have a courtesy bus that runs every hour.
The place was very clean with plenty of fresh linen and towels, and we never heard a negative comment from anyone staying there with us-what more can I say!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
2.1 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
1,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £109 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing