We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again. Nice staff, clean rooms, good beds, great food and ammenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2010

It's hard to find faults with this hotel, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

I had a 4-person room with 1 set of bunk beds for 4 nights. Clean room, good beds, friendly staff, and a nice free buffet breakfast in an expansive room with wait staff for drinks. Although I didn't get to use the pool, it's large, especially for the area, and overlooks the hills and ocean. The hotel includes free wifi and also has a free desktop computer available in the lobby. The only (minor) negatives are: the in-room safe is not digital, and the wall hair dryer is a little slow and loud.

The room was quiet at night, and the hotel itself is a bit outside of the center of town, so you'll have a peaceful stay.

There's a bit of a trade-off to hotels in Sorrento. If you stay downtown, you're closer to everything, but downtown can be noisy. If you get a quieter location like the Best Western La Solara, you have a bit of a walk, so the hotel solved that problem with a shuttle bus which runs every hour from around 7am to close to midnight.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,062)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,564 - 1,570 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

We arrived at 10.30pm after airport delays and were offered a three course meal with good choices at 10.45pm. This set the excellent standard of service for the holiday. The food was very good, esperecially the salad buffet and vegetarian choices, with good choices and ample portions.
The public areas are light and spacious and we had a lovely view of the bay from our surprisingly large balcony.
The local and town facilities are not safely accessible on foot, but the shuttle bus runs into Sorrento and back every hour until 11.15pm.
The external space is pleasantly landscaped, but the "lemon grove garden" advertised in the Thomson brochre is just a few lemon trees beside the hotel generator and not accessible for relaxation!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle-italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

It is rare that one comes into contact with the entire staff of a hotel, from the pool attendant to the waiters, to the front desk staff, but at La Solara, it is possible, and perhaps, even advisable. Nowhere has a hotel's staff, collectively, been as gracious, professional, helpful, and friendly as here. Travelling solo (and for a great rate,) my room didn't have the view of some others, but nor did I need the balcony to sit out on with someone. The food, while not quite gourmet, is indeed very good for a hotel of this calibre- especially for the price (though the sandwiches are rather expensive.) The shuttle to the downtown core does not take long and leaves every hour on the hour: not much of an inconvenience if you are a planner, and it allows for peaceful evenings away from the crowded main streets of Sorrento. I would definitely stay at La Solara again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioWinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Visited from Los Angeles to Sorrento for the first time, and we enjoyed the five day visit at the Best Western La Solara. It was the best hotel of our stay in Italy with the most helpful and gracious staff. Breakfast was very good in the morning, but I found the dinners we ate at the hotel to be even better. We ate in Sorrento several times, but found the hotel to be much more congenial and relaxing. Being a native Californian, I loved the very large pool to help cool off after the dusty ruins of Pompei and Herculaneum. Shuttle service to/from the hotel was prompt and a short walk to the train station from the dropoff. We missed the Sunday poolside 'Gala' dinner by one night, but there was entertainment and music to dance to on several other evenings. I would definitely recommend this hotel to fellow Americans.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfras2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

La Solara has to be the best hotel in Sorrento. Food is fantastic, so stay half board. Just a little out of town, but has shuttle bus. Reception, restaurant, indeed all staff, are just lovely. You feel like you are in a family and are important to them. Front & side rooms have fab views over bay, rear rooms look over an olive grove and garden. Can't recomend highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Cannot say enough about this Hotel. Spotless . Wonderful food. The staff are so friendly and will do anything to help you.My sister and I spent a wonderful week at this hotel.It was the best hotel we have ever stayed in.Cannot find anything bad to say about it.Will definately go again. Eve Nelson

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beesnees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

La Solara certainly lived up to its rating on Trip Advisor. Really nice comfortable hotel with great helpful staff and excellent food. No hesitation in recommending this hotel. We will definetly stay there when we return to Sorrento. The only thing to take into account is that it is about a 10 min bus ride from Sorrento. The Hotel runs a shuttle bus every hour to and from Sorrento so this isn't really a problem. Thanks to all at La Solara especially the resturant staff and the team of chefs for making our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johproc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,388 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £106 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing