We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I had a wonderful 3 night stay at Hotel La Solara while on vacation in Italy. The shuttle was easy to use which made shopping in Sorrento fun. The staff was the best that I had experienced while staying in Italy. Wonderful hotel and staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texteach101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,699
    228
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
513
1,205
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2010

From the minute we walked into the hotel we were greeted by a wonderful friendly staff. We had 2 double rooms right next to each other. The complentary bottle of wine was very good and thoughtful. We had lunch by the pool and it was absolutely delicous and filling. The breakfast was also good. We enjoyed our bottle of wine on the balcony outside. If you want a relaxing place to stay then look no further. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle94536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2010

La Solara is a nice hotel but unfortunately didn't live up to our expectations after reading the trip advisor reviews. The rooms are nice and we had a lovely big balcony with a nice sea view. The hotel was always clean and the staff very friendly. The downsides come by way of the food, dining room atmosphere and lack of entertainment. The food was decent but by no means amazing and got repetitive through the week. The dining room really lacks atmosphere and would benefit from a bit of background music or use of the candles (like they do on the gala night) and so meal times became quite tedious. The entertainment of the piano duo (the same duo 3 nights of the week and nothing else) was old fashioned and given you cannot walk to anywhere else makes you feel quite trapped in the evening.
The shuttle bus is great for the day so the hotel is a good base if you are happy just to relax in the evening with a book and little atmosphere. The pool was lovely and always clean and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterUK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Dear Manchesteruk 88,
We thank you for your review and for your suggestion.
We will try to give a better atmosphere in the restaurant with new lightening and also with background of music . For the food we try to give our best with tipical and italian cuisine. I can suggest, by your next visit, to ask our Resturant mgrs. to explain our menus which are not ripetitive as you have written (you will find the same food plate after 14 nights stay).
We really hope to have with us by your next visit & we will do our best to make your stay with us unforgettable.
Best greetings from all our staff
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Norman and Barbara, West Midlands, England - - This was a hotel that exceeded our expectations in every way. From the helpful and friendly reception staff to the restaurant, pool and cleaning staff, always cheerful and nothing too much trouble.Our room was first class,very clean, with towels changed every day and the longest balcony we have ever had in a hotel. The view from there was fabulous.The varied menus in the restaurant always had meals to suit every taste and the Sunday Gala dinners were very impressive and enjoyable. The pool area was very impressive and never crowded, free sunbeds and towels too. The free hourly shuttle to Sorrento and return was extremely valuable as the roads from the hotel to Sorrento are not suitable for foot passengers so no real place for a casual evening stroll after dinner. Sorrento itself is very pleasant with a good mixture of shopping and sightseeing and of course the Amalfi coast is a must to visit and of course also trips to Pompeii. From speaking to other guests we discovered that they had been returning to this hotel for many years which we think speaks for itself. We will be returning next year, if not before,to once again enjoy a wonderful relaxing holiday again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueblue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We were recommended to this hotel and after reading several futher recommendations on trip advisor we booked for 2 weeks, travelling with Thomson. It seemed expensive but given the glowing reviews we decided to give it a try.

The hotel is spotless, the staff are courteous and extremely helpful, the view from our sea view room was stunning. A special mention to Guiseppe and Angelo for there cheerful and attentitive service. The food was of a very high standard and there was plenty of it. The pool and surrounding area are extremely clean and well maintained, plenty of sunbeds and sunshades, to go around.

It is a little quieter than some hotels in the evening, the only entertainment being 2 keyboard players, 3 evenings a week, but this suited us and we could always take the courtesy bus into Sorrento if we wanted a more lively evening.

The location is out of the main Sorrento area, which did concern me initially, but the courtesy bus running hourly from 8 am to 11.15 pm, eleminated any issues.

The Neopolitan and Amalfi coasts are breathtakingly beautiful, we visited Capri, Pompei and Vesuvius, all very enjoyable trips. The tour of the Amalfi Coast was worth paying a little extra for and taking a minibus, it could get to places that the larger buses couldn't and the guide was very attentive.

I'm sure we will find ourselves back at the LaSolara in the future and wont hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We returned last week from a holiday in Sorrento at the hotel La Solara. We were made to feel very welcome during our stay at the hotel, the staff were extremely friendly. The food was excellent, and the rooms were very comfortable. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancslass2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2010

This hotel is really ,really wonderful .All the staff are very friendly and helpful and seem to enjoy working in the hotel .
Nothing was a bother to either the restaurant staff or the reception staff.The food was out of this world. Cannot give strong enough recommendation.
The Area is beautiful and although the hotel is out of the town centre the courtesy bus runs every hour and is very relaible.
The swimming pool was great , very clean ,in fact the whole hotel was clean .The guests toilets at the pool and reception were always perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara, responded to this review, 27 December 2010
A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,988 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara

Property: Best Western Hotel La Solara
Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi - Free Parking - Free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing