We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence enjoyed-again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Another visit to La Solara proved to be a holiday that we found so enjoyable and one that makes us want to return.
The hotel,management,and all the staff ,combine their expertise and friendliness to present a wonderful hotel in all aspects.In my opinion the quality of dining and the comfort of the lounges,lidos,bar areas,and guest rooms is 5***** and a credit to all
concerned..
The transport service provided by the hotel to Sorrento and return makes for easy access to so many places,if inclined have a lazy day in comfort with out leaving the hotel.
Looking forward to our next visit.
K & M

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

The hotel has spacious, clean and well appointed rooms - all with flat screen tvs and balconies. Everything is well maintained and works - and the staff cannot do enough to make the adults and children alike feel welcomed.
The shuttle bus runs every hour and takes the stress away from getting to and from town. Lovely and peaceful at the 'capo'.
The food on site iIthought a little expensive - but it was so good and so much of it that I could not say it wasn't good value!!
I'm often in this part of Italy and will definitely return. Well done!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank magsnzags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

A first class hotel in a beautiful location. Fantastic food and exceptional staff. The shuttle bus gives you easy access to Sorrento during the day and evening if you want to get out and about. The pool area is spacious and clean and there is a garden retreat. The room was cool and airy, with a large balcony looking out to sea. I have already booked my next visit . I think that says it all!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Have just returned from this magnificent Hotel the La Solara. It is without doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in within Europe and certainly those we have previously stayed in the Sorrento area in past years.
The hotel is spotlessly clean in every area and every member of staff so friendly, helpful and willing to oblige in every aspect. Being smaller than many hotels in Sorrento(50+ rooms) you get that special looked after feeling from the minute you enter at Reception, who are worthy of special praise, to entering the restaurant, bars etc.
The hotel has recently been renovated and everything is to a very high standard. The bedrooms are fully equiped for your every need. Tea and coffee making facilities will be provided, if available, by requesting at reception and these are replenished daily. The air conditioning (June to September) in the room is excellent.
Breakfast is served from 7am and consists of a wide variety of fresh fruit, cereals, variation of cold meats, cheeses, rolls etc and a cooked breakfast of scrambled egg alternating with bacon or sausage.
Dinner is served from 6.45pm and the wine and drinks are reasonably priced. You have a choice of starters, main course of fish, 2 meats and vegetarian followed by a choice of sweets served at the table. There is a wide choice of salads which are a meal in themselves and which you self serve before your starter course. The food and service is absolutely divine( make sure you are not on a diet !!).
The pool is olympic size, ultra clean with plenty sunbeds in which to relax with umbrellas and canopies.
There is an hourly courtesy bus into Sorrento from 7.50am and then on the hour till 11pm. Returning at quarter past the hour. This is very reliable and punctual.
Drinks in Sorrento are quite expensive 3-4 euros for coffee and 4-5 euros for 0.4l beer.
Food in restaurants also on the high side.
The hotel bus drops you off near the bus/railway station and the public transport system is reliable, frequent and reasonably priced.
The craft shops in Sorrento specialize in inlaid wood items which vary in price from shop to shop. I would certainly reccommend you go to the Notturno Intarsio factory, 33 Via Fuorimura which is the street running from the main square towards the shuttle bus stop (on right hand side passed Caesor Augusta Hotel). Huge selection of quality items at less than half the price of centre shops.
It is better and cheaper to change Sterling into Euros in the UK before leavingA few days ago we got 1.18e to pound. In Sorrento all exchanges were giving 1.10 e to pound. Other alternative is to get business rate on a no charge debit card such as Nationwide etc.

To conclude the La Solara is worthy of the highest accolades and we will certainly be returning for an even longer period.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spinone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I had a wonderful 3 night stay at Hotel La Solara while on vacation in Italy. The shuttle was easy to use which made shopping in Sorrento fun. The staff was the best that I had experienced while staying in Italy. Wonderful hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texteach101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

From the minute we walked into the hotel we were greeted by a wonderful friendly staff. We had 2 double rooms right next to each other. The complentary bottle of wine was very good and thoughtful. We had lunch by the pool and it was absolutely delicous and filling. The breakfast was also good. We enjoyed our bottle of wine on the balcony outside. If you want a relaxing place to stay then look no further. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Michelle94536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, Owner at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2010

A happy New Year from each and everyone of us
It was another successful season. Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! We hope to see you again in a not a distant future
Our best regards from the sunny Sorrento.
Ugo Di Maio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

La Solara is a nice hotel but unfortunately didn't live up to our expectations after reading the trip advisor reviews. The rooms are nice and we had a lovely big balcony with a nice sea view. The hotel was always clean and the staff very friendly. The downsides come by way of the food, dining room atmosphere and lack of entertainment. The food was decent but by no means amazing and got repetitive through the week. The dining room really lacks atmosphere and would benefit from a bit of background music or use of the candles (like they do on the gala night) and so meal times became quite tedious. The entertainment of the piano duo (the same duo 3 nights of the week and nothing else) was old fashioned and given you cannot walk to anywhere else makes you feel quite trapped in the evening.
The shuttle bus is great for the day so the hotel is a good base if you are happy just to relax in the evening with a book and little atmosphere. The pool was lovely and always clean and very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterUK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UGOSolara, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2010

Dear Manchesteruk 88,
We thank you for your review and for your suggestion.
We will try to give a better atmosphere in the restaurant with new lightening and also with background of music . For the food we try to give our best with tipical and italian cuisine. I can suggest, by your next visit, to ask our Resturant mgrs. to explain our menus which are not ripetitive as you have written (you will find the same food plate after 14 nights stay).
We really hope to have with us by your next visit & we will do our best to make your stay with us unforgettable.
Best greetings from all our staff
Ugo Di Maio, mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
2.1 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento

Address: Via Capo 118, 80067, Sorrento, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel La Solara)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £107 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel La Solara is surrounded by lemon and olive groves, half a kilometer from Sorrento's picturesque Puolo Beach. It overlooks the beautiful Bay of Sorrento, with views of Capri Island and Mount Vesuvius. Parking is free. The Olympic-size swimming pool and the children's wading pool are both heated in the low season. At sunset, the friendly staff serves drinks by the pool. The rooms come with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms feature a private balcony or patio, with views of the grounds, of the pool, or of the sea. Hotel La Solara is 3.2 km from the center of town, and conveniently connected by a courtesy shuttle bus leaving the premises at 8:15 am and then every hour on the hour from 9 am to 11 pm. Delight in typical regional foods in a large dining room offering splendid views of the sea. A varied continental breakfast is served buffet-style every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Solara
Best Western Sorrento
Sorrento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing