We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok. Just.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Ranked #45 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hotel Location:
- Completely outside of Sorrento. There are many hotels nearby but they all seemed to have a shuttle service to the town. Villa Fiorita does not. There is a public bus service which stops outside, but these are not entirely reliable and not very frequent. When waiting for a bus in Sorrento to take you back, you could be waiting for over an hour - be warned!

Hotel Room
We had a double room which was clean and basic, with a small balcony offering views of the Bay of Naples, which undoubtedly sways its visitors. I found however that the room smelt damp as if it had not been ventilated prior to our visit. Similarly, the bathroom was damp and we were surprised by a colony of ants which decided to march across it's floor one evening.
Noise also travels very easily throughout the hotel - beware of active children running around late at night!

Food & Facilities
- Breakfast was very good. Simple Italian fare, fresh and delicious - mostly pastries, cereal, fruits, yoghurt, and of course tea and coffee. There's plenty to start you off for the day - often we didn't eat again until dinner.
- Pool food, on the other hand, was horrendous! Avoid avoid avoid! It took a bizarre 20minutes to cook my foccaccia in what looked like an Easy-Bake Oven. And it was definitely not worth the wait.
- There is a small pool which I did not use. It is shared by another residence upstairs too.
- There is wifi in the reception area, which is fairly reliable. If you do not bring a laptop then there is expensive Internet available too - about 6euros an hour I think, which is absurd.
- Staff are helpful, but (apart from Giovanni) rarely seen to crack a smile which is a shame.

TIP
Make the most of free shuttles run by local restaurants. You really can't go wrong.

Verdict
- HotelVilla Fiorita is ok, but I doubt that I will return. If I do come back to the Amalfi coast in the future, I will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talkingbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Fiorita
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

Just returned from a week long stay at Villa Fiorita. We booked direct with the hotel, and made our own travel arrangements: bus from Naples airport to Sorrento was 10 Euros & bus from Sorrento to hotel was 2.40 Euros each.
As others have stated, the bus ride from Sorrento to the hotel is a white knuckle ride. Narrow roads, with lots of hairpin bends & crazy Italian drivers. It's a long way from town. You could not make this journey on foot, unless you planned on walking for a few hours.
On arrival, the hotel itself looked a bit tired from the outside. Could do with some new signage, and a coat of paint. We were welcomed at reception, and shown to our room.
The room was simple, and a bit dated, but very clean (was also cleaned every day), and had air conditioning included in the price. Great view from the balcony of Naples bay and Vesuvius.
There is a small bar, but not really anywhere to sit with drinks unless you want to sit outside, or in reception. Drinks seemed reasonably priced compared with other places (Peroni 2 Euros).
The swimming pool was kept clean, but was fairly cold! No umbrella's to keep sun off, but some sunbeds had a small canopy to shade your head.
There is a snack bar, but when we attempted to buy something, we were told that there were only a couple of things available. Worth keeping in mind if you plan to stay round the pool all day, as there is NOWHERE else to go for food without using the bus...
The bus: this became the bane of our lives on this holiday. You are effectively stranded at the hotel without it. The hotel provide a timetable, but point out that many of the buses are unreliable. They are. We often waited 45 minutes for a bus into town, and had to stand up for the whole journey (white knuckle ride, remember). We also spent plenty of time waiting for the bus back to the hotel from Sorrento. Be warned - if you rely on public transport, you will soon get very sick of it.
The hotel have a deal with a few 'local' restaurants, all supply courtesy cars, which is a good thing. We dined at Il Borgo a couple of times, and found it very good.
Breakfast is included, but don't expect too much, as it's a very limited continental offering. The coffee was dreadful. Not something we expected in Italy.
The staff were always helpful & friendly at all times.
Wi-fi is available, but only in the reception area, and there are no plug sockets available.
Would we go back? No, but not because of problems with the hotel, but because of the location and the amount of time spent getting to & from town / restaurants etc. If it was closer to town, it would be much better, but also more expensive. The views would also not be as good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReverendBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

were surprised how far up the mountain it was situated.however, the room was spotless/ comfortable.the staff very helpful and courteous.breakfast basic but all fresh and tasty.although it is too far to walk in to town,the local bus service is cheap and frequent- a white knuckle ride at times! the beautiful views over sorrento make up for the slight inconvenience of the location.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronandlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The hotel is conveniontly located as the base for car travel around peninsula, and we were quite happy with it. On the other hand, if you need a hotel in Sorrento, this is not the case. The hotel is really FAR from the town - about 8 km by road. People who lived with us said the shuttle was OK, though infrequent. There is no restaurant in the hotel, and as for breakfast - it was the worst coffee I had in Italy.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view and aircon in advance
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey_Buzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Glad we opted for the view up at this hotel. It was easy to use the bus to get down to the village for everything else there. Enjoyed the pool and terrace the afternoon of our arrival, when we needed a little relaxation. Water in pool was chilly, but in afternoon sun, we managed to plunge in. Room was very comfortable for family with 2 teens. Big bed and bunk bed. Quiet, clean, spacious enough, nicely furnished. Loved having a terrace facing the Amalfi coast! Good assortment of breakfast choices, especially compared to many other places we stayed. From this hotel we took the bus to Positano and enjoyed a visit there followed by a boat ride back to Sorrento. Also made a trip to Pompeii from here for a guided tour. Service here was very good and free wifi available in common area. Booked this through Venere.com

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSredRidingHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I traveled a long distant to veiw the Villa Fiorita and was not able to stay here. The hotel is up on a mountain top, far away from any thing. I used the region bus and it very expensive. There are no store, restaurants up there. I had a room with the veiw of the Highway and some garden tools. The swimming pool was cold and dirty. Some of the customers I spoke with, did not like the hotel. I found out later, Booking.com would NOT cancel my reservations and charged me four nights, that was not fair.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank usaviking14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed by the service and hospitality of our hosts. This is a small family hotel, high on the hill above Sorrento.

The views are magnificent. The early morning views of Versuvius and over Sorrento are stunning.

Car is the preferrable method of transport as this hotel is do far up the hills, however many people arrived by bus - the stop being right outside!

The room was clean and comfortable and was serviced daily. The owners could do no more to make our stay as pleasant and memorable as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon210969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fiorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fiorita

Address: Via Nastro Verde 96, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £63 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fiorita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Fiorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiorita Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing