We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magic views”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Upon arrival we were upgraded to an apartment which was a nice surprise. The lovely gentleman on reception told us he had one spare so we could have it at no extra charge to the room we had originally booked.
The apartment was greatfully accepted. It was really clean and the views were picture postcard perfect from the smallish balcony.
The apartment itself was quite dated and lacked kitchen utensils. We arranged with reception to eat at one of their recommended restaurants and were picked up and dropped back to the hotel in a courtesy van.
I cant remember the name of the restaurant but the food was fairly ordinary and quite pricey.
Breakfast was great with plenty to choose from and certainly enough to fill you up until lunch time.

The only drawback to this hotel is that its quite far from the town centre so if you want to go into Sorrento you need to take the bus which is almost always overcrowded and the road down is very windy.
Would we stay here again? ... Probably not , only because we like to be closer to town but if youre after a quiet spot then this hotel is definiyely worth considering

Room Tip: Definiitely pay the extra and get a room with a view...its so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    183
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
107
244
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Villa Fiorita was our first choice for the dramatic views from rooms shown on Trip Advisor. And we weren't disappointed. At least not with the views. Wow. Spectacular. However this three star hotel is really a two star hotel...although description says "bar" and "restaurant", the bar is a book shelf with several bottles of not great wine, a refrigerator with a few beers and water, and an ice cream freezer. Food can be ordered and is brought in at designated times during the day from off site. A breakfast is included with reservation and most items are delivered already prepared to hotel.Presentation is basic; options are abundant. Lacks freshness we enjoyed at other hotels. Rooms are secured with skeleton keys and during our stay an apple keyboard left in a suitcase disappeared as did a souvenir. Bed linens were stained and had small holes. Two platform twin beds pushed together to make one rather uncomfortable bed. Prices quoted for transportation were higher in actuality than was quoted during arrangement. Site is remote; no options for food or drink nearby. Bus ride to Sorrento from nearby bus stop takes 25 minutes depending on stops along the way; bus stop nearby with crowded bus to Positano takes about an hour. Pool was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowtownJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This family run hotel in the hills of Sorrento is a family friendly wonderful place. From most of the rooms and the terrace the views are nothing short of spectacular. It is easily reached by both car and bus. The service is fantastic. They even arrange free transport to some local restaurants serving amazing food. Our room was small, but tastefully decorated and clean. Overall we were really impressed by the most friendly staff.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Gulf of Naples are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First of all, the views are absolutely amazing - from your balcony, or at the pool. The hotel sets up on the hillside, well above the actual town of Sorrento. The rooms are clean, with standard size European bathrooms. A typical continental breakfast is included, which was fine for all of us. Wi-fi is free in the public areas, but not in the rooms. We had a party of three families, totaling 15 of us, including alot of teenagers and young adults (14-25). We had three vehicles, one of them a 9 passenger van, which they accommodated very well, by jockeying them around between their restaurant parking area and their own private parking area. It was not inconvenient to us at all though. I thought I had read that although it was not within walking distance to downtown Sorrento, there was a shuttle that would take you down there in about 15 minutes. However, it turned out that the shuttle is a public bus and for our large group it was just not practical. We would never have gotten everyone on in one trip! It never ended up being an issue, as the staff was hugely helpful in helping us plan our itinerary during our stay - giving us tips on what do do and when. We were there for three days, so they suggested doing the Almafi Coast drive on our first full day, in the afternoon so we would avoid all the bus traffic (we were driving this ourselves so that was a really big tip!) The kids wanted to hang out at the pool and relax in the morning so that worked out perfectly. We didn't leave the hotel until around 2:30 in the afternoon, drove the coast, had dinner there, shopped alittle, and then headed back that evening while it was still light out. The hotel offers drinks, including beer and wine, at very reasonable prices, when the restaurant isn't open. We were there during the World Cup games and really wanted to see them, so they accommodated us in the late evening do be able to do this in the large TV room. The second day they recommended going to the island of Capri. They set up our ride to and from the marina, a boat to take us around the island, then drop us off, and pick us up again in the afternoon.The staff recommended taking the big 'swings' to the top of the island, which gives you the most incredible views. The boat driver also arranged to come back a little early to pick us up so that the kids could swim off the boat near the island for about an hour before heading back to the marina. This day was by far everyone's favorite. I would definitely recommend it to anyone going to this area as a must do. We also wanted to see Pompeii so the staff recommended to do that on our last day as we were heading back out of the peninsula, which was also great advice. So we never had time to just go down into town and wander around, but our days were filled and we never felt the need to. The hotel staff really made us feel at home. The hotel is older, and I read in a review that it was shabby chic in a way - and I would agree - its not shabby, its just older with very basic furniture, but very clean and comfortable. Its quiet at night, and the staff and the views are outstanding. They have several restaurants they are affiliated with, with free rides to each, since their restaurant has limited hours. We went to one of them, and was not impressed with the food, but again, had amazing views. If you do not need to be close to town for night life, etc, and need a middle ground to do the excursions in the area this is the place to stay. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Every room in our party (seven rooms) had awesome views. Try to avoid the rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TandJNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Hotel Villa Fiorita a quaint hotel, is the best place to stay in Sorrento, Italy just a short bus ride to the port and shopping area. This hotel has the best staff who treat you like family and go out of their way to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable and assist with your tours (Pompeii, Isle of Capri, Amalfi Coast, Positano, etc.) and dining plans to area restaurants that provide free pick-up and return to your hotel. The Hotel Villa Fiorita has excellent accommodations, free wi-fi and a pool. The rooms are comfortable, clean with daily maid service; an on-site restaurant with wonderful salads, wines, breads, the best olives you've ever had, etc. The Hotel Villa Fiorita also offers one of the best continental breakfasts which includes: cereals, coffee, juice, breads, rolls, fruit, eggs, yogurt and toast. Giovanni and his staff are excellent. Tell them Alicia & Wayne Moore sent you.

Room Tip: Our room faced the garden and on several occasions we saw the gardner tending to the fruit trees. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waynestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We came across this hotel after searching the internet . We had seen a TV programme featuring the Naples Bay / Amalfi Coast/ Salerno Bay area and decided we would like to visit .
The price fit our budget and the location seemed perfect . So we booked it .
After reading the reviews we became a little concerned , it was difficult to judge from them just what the hotel was really like .Some people really disliked it some absolutely loved it . So I will attempt a balanced review which hopefully will explain the issues .

We arrived at the hotel in our hire car which i drove from the airport . we had a satnav (free) in the car which was terrific because i didnt order one .....without it driving would have been a nightmare . That said , it couldnt find the hotel first time and we had to stop and ask someone where it was .
We parked on the road outside , you hand your car keys over at the reception and they remove your car . In a rather strange arrangement you tell them the day before when you will need the car and they make sure its there ready for you . If you are less organised you just ask at reception for them to bring the car to the hotel and they will have it for you within a half hour . It works quite well and is probaly essential because parking on the steep winding mountain road that leads to the hotel is not advised and there are only a few spaces .
First impressions were good , tiled steps led down to the reception through a flowerbedecked garden . It looked and smelt beautiful . The receptionist seemed to know who we were before I spoke perhaps we were the only or last guests to arrive that day (its not a big hotel) .
We were made very welcome and given a key to our room just across the dining room and we were in .

One review mentions that the staff were rude ,another aloof ....well ...Rude no , aloof , I can see what the reviewer is saying but i think the staff have it just right , friendly without being over friendly . They were always helpful with any question or query we had . We liked them .

The room , Simple decor , a mixture of furniture styles , it was old furniture , but not shabby chic , some would say shabby some would say chic ....we didnt mind it , the rooms had character and were very very clean indeed .
The mattress was very comfortable but for us the pillows a little too hard but that is personnel taste of course .
The room had a balcony and on opening the door to it we were blown away , not with the wind , but with the view .....it must be one of the best views there is in Sorrento or indeed anywhere at all . Its stunning . You will never tire of sitting with a glass of wine on the balcony and just staring at this view. The rooms have aircon , it works well and wasnt too noisy but did have quite a bright light to tell you its on .
The bathroom , more than usual despite being small .... it had a bidet ,handy for washing sand off my feet :-) ....and the big thing ....it has a window to the view so you can see it whilst having a shower ....thats a good job really because the shower is pretty poor . It seemed to me that the nozzles were blocked with a mineral build up from the water ...a seemingly easy thing to sort out . Never mind though, the view took your mind of the vagries of the hotcoldhotcold almost running water shower :-) . The towels were huge and appeared to be quite new , one reviewer was critical of them but we thought they were more than adequate .

Breakfast , continental style , cereals, coissants , bread ,cheese ,ham and jam ....the usual thing ...it was pleasant enough and filled a hole . Suited us because we never do the Full English thing on holiday . One review was scathing of the coffee ...well we thought it was very nice ...but they brought one to you which was nice but on trying the coffee from the machine found that it wasnt very good . So wait for them to ask if you want coffee and it will be decent .

The pool , its cold , but not so cold that you cannot swim in it . Just gotta plunge in and then its ok . Sometimes the pool area was busy sometimes not , we only used it in the afternoons after returning from sightseeing and it was sometimes a blessed relief to get in to cool down . there is a small bar area which sells snacks and beer etc . We recommend the Bruchetta , lovely it was if quite slow in coming (but they do tell you on ordering).

The hotel does have a bar of sorts ,Its in the reception area , but its so small no-one was ever sat at it , we only ever saw a few people sat in the conservatory next to the bar and then not every night . We tended to drink in our room or by the pool . The prices in the bar were very reasonable 2.50 euro for an Italian bottle of beer and 8 Euro for a local wine . We ate at the hotel one night , had pasta which was quite tasty . They say its only a snack but it came with a side salad and some bread with olive oil and basalmic to dip in. They truly undersell them selves here ...it was better than the restaurant we went to the following night .and much cheaper.
Location , this could be a problem to some ....its stunningly beautiful ....but its high on the hill and out of Sorrento . If night life is your thing then this really isnt the spot for you .
There is a path which runs between Sorrento and Sant Agata (on top of the hill above the hotel) . We walk on the hills back home , live up one tbh, and are quite able to trot up and down steep hills . It took us 30 minutes to walk from the hotel to Sorrento . It would take much longer to walk back up , it was far too warm to bother with that so we resorted to buses in that case . People mention how you need to catch a certain bus to go past the hotel . Well it really doesnt matter if you can walk at all because just catch one of the buses that goes to S. Agata and walk down to the hotel ...its about 700 to 800 metres down the sorrento path . and takes 10 miuntes down hill and a little longer , 15 minutes uphill to go for a meal at night .
The hotel will sort you a taxi if you require but the path is ok and you only spend the first 100 metres or so on the road . Now this is a thing , the staff will tell you about the 3 restaurants that serve the hotel with free courtesy transport and specially priced menus for hotel guests. We went once to Borgo .....Nice location but we were underwhelmed with the food and service . Also it wasnt cheap ....the night we visited they had a disaster with the gas failing ...so they could only serve things of the charcoal grill ...we ended up with some half cooked food that we didnt want and I was covered in soot which i managed to transfer to my bed that night .They came with some brouchetta free of charge because of the food situation then proceeded to charge us for it . Once we had the grilled meat we didnt want they seemed to mend the gas ...so had to sit and watch others enjoying the food we had ordered ! We never went again and didnt bother with the other 2 affiliated restaurants . Instead we walked up into S.Agata and ate like kings for half the price .

Overall , We really enjoyed this holiday and the hotel was a huge part of that . This review faces up to some minor quibbles but they are minor and addresses some issues raised in other reviews . We would recommend this hotel to people who are not bothered about nightlife and perhaps enjoy the great outdoors . Its conveniently located to access the walks around the Amalfi coast and particarily the Sorrento peninsula . Its not a modern sterile hotel but is quaint , dated yet full of character so its not going to be to everyones taste .


Ps There is free wifi in reception but not in the rooms

Room Tip: Seaview ! Request Seaview .....without seaview you would be better off somewhere else . This hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Really lovely hotel with great friendly staff. Spoke really good English and more than happy to help each time! Great shuttle bus service to and from local restaurants as well as a car to take you to and from Sorrento should the bus never arrive! Lovely views, brilliant pool and clean pool...what else do you need. Book it, you won't regret it! Thanks Giovanni and family!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, but if one isn't available a Garden view is also just as beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,096 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fiorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fiorita

Property: Hotel Villa Fiorita
Address: Via Nastro Verde 96, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fiorita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Fiorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiorita Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing