We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic holiday with memories to last forever thanks to the staff at the De La Ville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I stopped in the hotel with my fiance and her family (6 of us in total) from 11-18th July. The staff at the Hotel De La Ville are it's greatest asset and they certainly go out of their way to make your stay very memorable. Extra special mention has to go to Enzo, Salvatore, Carmine, and Flora for the excellent service afforded to us and for the many jokes and laughter shared.
Our room was furnished to good standard, with air conditioning and a view overlooking the lemon garden (where you can have breakfast). We had a mini bar in the room (although a little expensive), with other facilities including a flatscreen TV, hairdryer, bath and shower.
We enjoyed the facilities in the hotel and found all areas to be clean, tidy and welcoming. Table Tennis is available as well as a selection of board games and the ground floor swimming pool has a mini hydro pool.
The roof top terrace pool has amazing views over Sorrento and extra special at sunset. We very much enjoyed the evening entertainment there on our last night (Sunday) an excellent trio band and fireworks over the bay of Naples to top the night off.
The hotel is idealy situated, about a 10-15 min walk into Sorrento and you can walk through the lemon/orange grove garden on your way under shade.
To finish I have to mention the quality and variety of food on offer at the hotel. We found ourselves really looking forward to our evening meal service, as the variety and food on offer is worth coming back for alone.
All in all a fantastic holiday and a beautiful and welcoming hotel. Hopefully, we'll return to Sorrento one day and the De La Ville will be our first choice!
Ci vediamo!
Jonathan, Rebecca (The Angel in White), Theresa (Blondie), Ray (Mr Moustache), Simon and Nanny Barbara (The Boss).

Room Tip: Better quality rooms seem to be on the top floors
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawjr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,492)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,716 - 1,722 of 2,492 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

We were there for 2 weeks and loved every second. The food is amazing, hotel is immaculate and the staff are wonderful from Reception to the Dining Room Staff and the maids and porters are always helpful. The room was always cleaned to perfection and the stafff are wonderful with children. I couldn't have asked or hoped for a more wondeful Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALKIE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I have recently returned from a one week stay at this hotel with my sister. We have been there on two previous occasions and all three times have had a wonderful experience. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the food very good. Although the decor could now probably do with a little updating, it is a good hotel in an excellent location for exploring Sorrento. It can be a little noisy because of its location, but if you want total peace and quiet, there are other hotels on the outskirts which would probably be better suited.

We've always travelled with the same tour operator, so I don't know if different tour operators have access to different rooms, but all three times we have had sea views without paying extra for them. The very first time we were there we had a fifth floor room with stunning sea views. This time, although we had a room on the first floor at the side of the hotel, we still had a reasonably unobscured view of the sea.

The swimming pools are good - the garden one a little overlooked, but no more so than if you're sat on a beach; and the rooftop pool has stunning views over the Bay of Naples.

Altogether a lovely stay yet again, and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Pay for seaview if this is an absolute must as some rooms overlook apartments to rear
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccake79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Grand Hotel de la Ville was first class from the minute we arrived to the time we left. Unfortunately we only had two nights here but it is perfectly situated, close to the train station and a 10 minute walk to town. Our room was spacious, clean, very comfortable and had beautiful views over the sea. We spent some enjoyable time at the rooftop pool where there were plenty of sun loungers and an easily accessible bar service!
The breakfasts were the best we experienced during the entire 4 weeks we travelled throughout Italy. The staff were great. Should we have the wonderful pleasure of returning to Sorrento, we will definitely stay at the Grand Hotel de la Ville!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Not worth the money. Disappointed with quality. Encountered problems with air conditioning and refrigerator which were later sorted out but problem with ants was surprising for a hotel of this caliber and price. Rooms on top floor have great view but beware of ants!!!! Attitude of one of the hotel personnel was bordering on rude and had to ask for manager (got assistant manager) to get proper service. Have vacationed in Italy numerous times and have had better breakfast (don't order omelette - 6.50 Euros and eggs were runny, charged on bill though it could not be eaten!) and service elsewhere.....overall disappointed and will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaItalia3035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel when we got married in Sorrento. The first 3 nights we had booked a standard room but were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a Superior room with sea view which was lovely of them. Our last 3 nights were spent in the Prestige room which had a magnificent view and very large balcony but I wouldn't say it was worth the extra money. We were very happy with the Superior room and I think the rooms were actually the same size and the bathroom was actually smaller in the Prestige room with a worst shower!

Breakfast was great - a good selection of hot and cold food plus there was always a bottle of Prosecco which was great for calming the nerves on the wedding morning! The rooftop pool was lovely with fab views and the ground floor pool was a better size for swimming.

12 of our family and friends also stayed here for the wedding week and all of them enjoyed their stay. The only downside is that the staff were a little 'snooty' and refused to let non-guests in on the wedding day, even the best man who was there to have his button hole fitted!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I’ve never been so depressed to leave a hotel before as I was when I had to leave the de la ville, this is the most amazing hotel. It’s a 5 minute walk from the train station and 10 to the main square. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and extremely clean. Both pools have plenty of sun loungers around them and the views from the rooftop one are stunning. The breakfast is plentiful. The restaurant staff are fantastic, with a special note going towards Salvatore, Enzo and Carmine. The food was fantastic and we always left feeling very full. I can’t wait to go back. Thank you de la ville. Prego!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brum-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £121 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing