We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good choice for Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very good choice for Sorrento”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Grand Hotel De La Ville is a very good choice in Sorrento. Our Premier room on the top floor of the hotel had a large private patio and wonderful views of the bay, Naples and Vesuvius. The room was well furnished and spacious and the bathroom was very nicely done. The bed was comfortable. The room was very quiet, except for our last night when there were fireworks on the bay and this was accompanied by a band at the pool which was on the same level as our room. However, the music stopped at a reasonable hour.

Overall, the hotel is very nicely decorated. Front desk/concierge staff were courteous and pleasant. We only had breakfast at the hotel and were not overly impressed. They had a wide selection (and we did not eat the specially prepared eggs and other foods) but the bread and pastries were not great.

We notified reception that we would be leaving very early in the morning (before the dining room opened) and they graciously offered to prepare food for us to take with us (bread, pastry, jam, fruit and fruit juice).

Location is good in that it is away from the sometimes very crowded and noisy areas of Sorrento, but still convenient to the main piazzas, shopping, restaurants as well as the train and bus stations.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to those looking for a good hotel. While not inexpensive, this was likely a good choice in a very pricey hotel town

Room Tip: Best views on top 2 floors-usually Premier or Prestige rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,751
    438
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
494
1,365
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burwash, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The hotel is not far from the town centre, has a welcome feeling about it. The staff were always cheerful and helpful, nothing was "too much" for them. The room we had was always clean, it had plenty of storage space and we felt "like we were at home".
The Dining Room staff were very considerate and were always smiling, relaxed and attentive. The eveing menu had a very "English style" and we would have welcomed a more local fare; however the food was always of a high standard and served with "a style of their own" I will always remeber the 1,2,3.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We loved all the staff at the Grand Hotel De La Ville, especially Enzo, Flora and Gennaro. It was friendly and the food was delicious, and we weren't short of it! The desserts were to die for, and the pasta was the best I have ever tasted. The hotel is grand and really elegant, with a calm and relaxing atmosphere. The decor is beautiful but the sign outside doesn't compliment it!!!! The downstairs pool was lovely, and, if you could bear a few bites, the view in the evening or while sunbathing on the solarium was the best I have ever seen. Our room was adequate to accommodate four people (2 teenagers 2 adults) with very comfortable beds, and the bathroom was like being in a villa! We had plently of hot baths, no shortage of hot water, and we loved to stroll from the nearby lemon garden into the heart of beautiful Sorrento. From our balcony we could see Mount Vesuvius, Naples and the sea. It was one of the best holiday accommodation I have ever stayed in and I would definitely come back and see Enzo and the crew!

Room Tip: Front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farandwide1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We arrived at the Grand Hotel De La Ville at approximately 11PM after a late flight and transfer. At check-in Annalisa could not have been more helpful and welcoming. They were aware of our late arrival and had 2 large plates of "ante-pasta" waiting in our room when we got there. This level of friendliness and service never really stopped all through our weeks stay.

We stayed on a half board basis and found the breakfasts and dinners to be delicious. The breakfast was always the same but the choice was massive - everything from pastries, cold meats and cheeses, fruit, cereal and full english were always on offer. There was a dedicated "egg chef" every morning to cook the eggs as you wanted there and then.
Dinner was the high point of every day. Enzo, Carmine and their staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. The meals were 3 course with a minimum of 3 options for each. Service was always swift and presented under a silver "closhe". Food quality was never an issue.
On the Wednesday there was a "Buffet" evening meal which had a large range of foods, all of very good quality.

If there was 1 small problem, the drinks were on the expensive side; we soon learnt that the same drinks are served 5 minuted down the road at a much cheaper price in a nice pathside cafe. Saying that, when we did order drinks at the hotel, service and quality were always good.

The hotel is situated on a small back street near the center of town and is very well placed for an evening stroll around Sorrento town. Although the hotel is not exactly on the cliff edge, you are able to use the bathing platform at their sister hotel just a 3 minute walk from the hotel. In addition there are 2 pools at the hotel, a moderate sized ground floor pool in a "courtyard" configuration and the smaller "rooftop" pool and sunbeds on the 6th floor. My only slight niggle was that the rooftop pool seamed un-naturally cold for the fantastic weather we were having - on the plus side it did cool us down.

Al in all a very good hotel with excellent staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRMitchell69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Just got back from 10 day's in the De La Ville and loved every minute. The food was great the staff friendly and curtious with nothing too much trouble. Big thanks to Pepe, Bruno, Celestine and Enza for making our holiday so enjoyable, although all the staff are excellent. The hotel is well maintained, smart and clean and the food is varied and well presented. What a breathtaking view from the roof top pool area of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples. We met lots of couples who had returned several times to the De La Ville and we Will definatley be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badger600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at the De La Ville on our honeymoon and would definitely recommend this hotel to couples and families alike. The food was absolutely amazing, there was lots of choice and Enzo was always very welcoming and friendly. At breakfast there is an egg chef cooking whichever type of egg takes your fancy!
We had a side sea view with balcony which had the sun in the morning but the amazing shutters meant that we weren't woken by the light. It had a handy British socket too! The room was spacious, the only down side was a soft bed which wasn't to our taste! The other slight annoyance was that the table tennis table was directly below our balcony so it wasn't always the most peaceful place to sit!
This didn't matter too much as there is lots to do in the area, we visited Pompeii and through our travel agent booked a trip to Vesuvius with a wine tasting tour. Sorrento is beautiful too, the best gelato is definitely Gelateria David near the station!
On our honeymoon we stayed in 3 different hotels, in different areas of Italy and this was by far the best, we were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Just back from 2 fantastic weeks at the Grand Hotel De La Ville in Sorrento where we couldn’t have been treated better. Food, service and accommodation all top notch, with no bun fights for the sunbeds an added plus…a really great base to explore Sorrento itself and all the beauty that the surrounding areas have to offer. Enzo, Carmine and the whole team treated us like family! A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Front room overlooking the sea and mountains a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
2,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
2,993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing