We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spot in Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spot in Sorrento”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We recently returned from a wonder trip to Southern Italy (in early October) where we spent part of our time at the Grand Hotel De La Ville. This is a great hotel with the best staff. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location….just a short walk to the center of town and Piazza Tasso. Open lobby with beautiful tile and marble everywhere. Our rooms (#410 and 411 - Premier room) were on the 4th floor with a small balcony and amazing views of Mount Vesuvius, lemon groves, Gulf of Naples and the Tyrrhenian Sea, and a local soccer stadium. Our rooms were spacious and spotless and had every comfort you need and want when you are away from home. The rooms also boast the tile and inlaid wood that the area is noted for. The lounge areas of the hotel were big and enjoyed by the hotel guests. Great bar area with excellent bar staff. Entertainment is offered nightly and we were lucky enough to be there when the Trio Mediterraneo were performing. I cannot say enough about the hotel staff. They were all so helpful and a lot of fun (especially AnnaLisa, Candida and Marianna). If you need a place to stay in Sorrento, look no further. This hotel is the best.

Enjoyed eating at Bar Syrenuse and Fauno in Piazza Tasso and also Il Leone Rosso on one of the side streets. Also go to Ristorante Bagni Delfino on the water. Great dinner there and the owners are so warm and hospitable.

Made side trips from this location to: Pompeii, Capri, and Avellino where we visited the winery Feudi di San Gregorio. All sites not to be missed!

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor for best views and spend the extra money for the Premier room. Well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ji24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,783
    446
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
495
1,390
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed half term week October 2011 with our two boys aged 15 & 12. Always dissapointed with hotels normally, but was amazed at this one as it is tastefully decorated, staff in all areas of the hotel even the chambermaid greeted us everyday with a warm smile and italian greeting. The reception staff were fantastic in helping us choose the right tours to go on and booking them for us. Candida found us to ask us how our excursions were going. Also bar staff were very friendly and were very busy but still had a smile on their faces. The restaurant staff again were very friendly and were great with the boys having joke with them. The local wine is lovely. Hotel only a 10min flat walk to centre where there are a number of bars and restaurent and lovely little shops and ice cream parlour. The harbour is a short walk down some steps if you want to go the Capri well woth the visit. I honestly counln't rate this hotel hightly enough and if I was going again would definatley stay here. The room were spacious and beds very comfortable the bathroom also spotless as was the whole hotel. It wasn't a stuffy atmosphere and we relaxed quicky into our holiday. If there was a negative it would be that both pools were very cold. Also as it was end of October the air con gets turned off and at night couldn't leave the doors open because of the noise of a barking dog through the night and general city noise(not rowdy as its away from bars). Once the patio doors were closed we heard nothing but was a little warm.

Room Tip: Maybe try and stay at the front with sea views, we stayed at the back and mabe was a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Great atmosphere. Staff absolutely spot on . Always cheerful and helpful made eveings in the bar most enjoyable and relaxing. Thanks you

Room Tip: sea view is beautiful but all of the rooms i have stayed in have been of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joemumford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Our stay at the hotel was enhanced by the excellent service from the first class staff.
Led by Carmone and Enzo, the waiters, kitchen, bar and reception staff were always
pleasant and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great food & wine, stunning roof top pool with great views. Probably the best hotel staff we have ever meet.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Grand Hotel de la Ville more than lived up to any expectations my wife and I had when we booked our holiday. The room was clean and fresh, well maintained during our stay. the sea view we asked for was there. Waking up to a picture of Mt Vesuvius is very special! The restaurant and staff, particularly the Maitre'D, could not have been more friendly and professional. Breakfast was consistent, with numerous choices. The evening meal menu was varied and contained many "local" dishes for the more adventurous. The understated formality making it an event by itself in the day. Front of House staff were extremely helpful to me on the occasion I required assistance with a local issue and when dealing with any queries that arose. Evening entertainment was on offer in the bar/lounge. Those we attended were very good, if a little on the loud side. Yes, it could be noisy at night. The walls are not very soundproof. The chamber maids start very early in the morning!
The hotel is situated very close to the centre of Sorrento. Within easy walking distance of public transport stops and any shopping one may require. There are many cafes and bars too. It's fun just sitting with a glass of wine/coffee watching the traffic!! Sorrento is a nice, safe place to visit and to use as a hub for other centres.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here half board from 7th -14th October. We had a wonderful stay in this lovely hotel! The hotel is on a flat easy walk into the heart of Sorrento, taking about 10 minutes.

We stayed in a seaview room on the 4th floor (Room 414) The view wasn't as good as we'd hoped, due to large trees in front of the hotel, but it was still a good view. It was very pleasant sitting on the balcony, watching the sun set in the evenings before going to dinner. We were glad we paid extra for this room. It was very spacious and extremely clean, with beautiful inlaid wooden furniture and tiled floor. My only gripe was that we had a twin room, but I hadn't realised there were doubles on offer too. You can push the beds together but there's a gap, so it's not an option really.

Our bathroom was spacious and had a full size bath with efficient shower over and bidet.

I took a travel kettle, as I can't survive without my early morning caffeine boost. A previous reviewer said that you weren't allowed to take your own alcohol into the hotel, but we took food and wine in and it was clearly on display and didn't cause us any problems. Air conditioning was quiet and efficient. The room safe was 3 euros a day.

Dinner was a fine event! The waiting staff were all very friendly and attentive. I don't want to mention any names because they were without exception excellent, and I would be sure to miss someone out inadvertently. The wine waiter was very helpful and informative and if you didn't finish your bottle, he would save it for the next meal for you. The food itself was brilliant. There was a good choice of around 5 starters and 5 mains every night and the variety and standard was excellent. We had expected to eat out most nights, but as the food was so good, we didn't feel the need to do this at all. There was also a good selection at breakfast - cold buffet with cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, tinned fruits, pastries, cakes, breads, yogurts etc and hot buffet with eggs (fried, boiled, scrambled + poached) bacon, sausages, fried potatoes and tomatoes. At an additional cost you could have omelettes, steaks and several other dishes. Tea, coffee, fruit juices and prosecco were also available.

There's a lovely garden where you can eat your breakfast or evening meal under the lemon trees. Lunch is also served here at a comparable cost to the cafes/restaurants in town.

The swimming pools were very underused when we we there. In fact every time we swam, we were the only ones doing so! Towels are readily available with no waiting to get them. The water was cold!! There are sunrecliners at both pools and the rooftop terrace has the advantage of seaview -and Vesuvio- uninterrupted by the tall trees in front of the hotel.

Every evening there was entertainment in some form or other. This is where the hotel doesn't score well with me. It was oudated and boring!

We had a brilliant week here. The best thing, in my view, was the fantastic staff, who all seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs, and who have the ability to make you feel like you are a very special guest. We wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview room, preferably above 4th floor to avoid the tall trees obscuring the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KillerQueen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing