We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Holiday in Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Easter Holiday in Sorrento”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent a week in Sorrento this April and we enjoyed every minute of staying at Grand Hotel De La Ville.
The Deluxe room had a beautiful view of the Vesuvius, it was large, luminous and tastefully decorated.
The service was friendly and professional. When I had a problem with my wifi connection, an engineer was sent very quickly and solved it. It was embarrassing, because it was a fault with my software and should have noticed myself before asking for help.

The breakfast had a very good selection of cold and warm foods.

The hotel is in a quiet area and less than 10min walk to the centre , the railway and bus stations and about 15 min from the port.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marininlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,807
    453
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
503
1,410
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Well located just a short walk from centre of Sorrento (with a lovely path through a lemon grove druring the day. Beautifully finished and kept in immaculate condition. Staff friendly and helpful with great service.

Swimming pools-one on the roof with lovely views and another on the ground floor 'solar' heated so a bit chilly. Unfortunately the weather really wasn't compatible with swimming at the moment.

Food:
*Breakfast is a great selection of cooked, fresh fruit, pastries, toast, cereal, yogurt, bread, rolls, cheese, had etc.
* Dinner-we stayed half board and food was rather good, did there best to vary it each night, the staff were friendly and helpful. If anything a bit too efficient with once course appearing as soon as the previous one taken away but if you ask for a bit of time they well obligingly accomodate this. If you eat in any restaurant every night for a week you would probably get a bit fed up but they do their best to offer variety.

Drinks-expensive. Cheap beer and wine available at the supermarkets and nice to drink on the balcony!

The main disappoinment I had was that there was a safe and internet connection in the room but they charged for use of these. Euros3 per night for safe and Euro 2 for 1 hr internet, 6 for 24 hours and 12 for three days.

Overall a lovely hotel with great staff, would recommend.

NB: Masterhosts does a great cheap pizza near the hotel, on Corso Italia, in the opposite direction from Piazza tasso, family run and delicious, full of locals, would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GC_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
315 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

After quite a bit of research and based on reviews on tripadvisor I booked this hotel for a 3 night stay over Easter. After booking, I emailed the hotel to request a high floored room and in quiet location, in which they responded quickly to say they would do so. Just for your information they now charge a city tax of €1.50 per person per night if over 18. 

On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff who were very friendly and was taken up to our room on the 4th floor (426). Unfortunately the room was located by the lifts, but we thought we would see how it went. That night we did not get much sleep due to being able to hear people heading to the lifts with suitcases on both our floor and the floor above as the floors are tiled everywhere. It was very noisy. That morning I headed to reception to explain that we had not slept well due to the noise. They apologised and moved us to a room on the 5th floor at the end of the corridor which was situated below the pool so was very quiet. If only the hotel had taken notice of my request of a quiet room when booking,  we would never have had the hassle of changing rooms. The rooms are pretty average, nice flat screen tv, with 2 twin beds put together to make king beds, tiled floors and shutters for curtains. The channels on the tv are very good with plenty of English speaking channels - movies, sport and news. 

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of hot and cold foods. It was the best breakfast that I encountered whilst in Italy. They have hot chocolate as a change to tea and coffee. Waiting staff are also very friendly. 

The hotel has 2 pools, one on the roof, which has lovely views, and another ground floor larger pool, both of which I'm sure are lovely in the summer. 

Location of the hotel is very good, 5 minutes from the train station and 10 minutes from the main square, where you can find plenty of dining options, look out for Meating (great well priced food). Hotel is also in a quiet off the beaten track location. 

All in all a nice 4 star hotel in top location with average rooms at a fair price with 2 pools and a good breakfast. I would have given 4 stars if we hadn't encountered the room problems. I would recommend to a friend and would stay again as long as I was situated at the end of the corridor on the top floor. 

Room Tip: Request top floor at end of corridor if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonnym_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel is a great value for the price. It is a <5 min walk into the center of Sorrento, which goes through a lemon grove. We loved the walk, and enjoyed being a bit outside of the very center of town, as it was a bit quieter. The hotel itself is beautiful, well-maintained, and a pleasure to stay in. We paid a bit more for a room with a sea view, which was totally worth it. The morning breakfasts are to die for - huge buffet with everything you could possibly imagine! The staff are super helpful as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday staying at the Grand Hotel De La Ville. The location of the hotel is great, easy walking distance to town, the harbour and the station. The hotel was clean and comfortable and yes as others have mentioned the staff were friendly and very helpful. We didn't get out promised sea view and were told on arrival they had no other rooms but this in the grand scheme of things was not a massive problem.

The main issue for us was the food in the hotel, we were staying half board so had breakfast and evening meals included. The food was mass produced rubbish, most of it appeared to be frozen and it went against everything that is typical about Italian food. It could have been so much better and we were really surprised by how poor it was. We only had two meals in the hotel and we didnt finish either meal. The location of the hotel however means you are only a short stroll from some fantastic restaurants servinng lovely freshly prepared food including sea food.

I would return to this hotel for the location and facilities, the roof top pool is a lovely touch with great views. However I would not pay for food here and would advise others looking for a week away hoping to sample Italian cuisine to really shop around for a hotel. A chef in the town centre gave the advice to check whether the hotel you are staying in has a restaurant which is open to non residents and look at the prices of such a menu. This will give you an idea as to whether the hotel is purely serving up cheap poor quality food to those on package half board deals or whether it takes pride in it's restaurant and wants to attract others in.

Drinks prices at the hotel were higher than nearly everywhere else we found including some high end restaurants but when the sun comes out and your girlfriend says she will marry you does a couple of extra Euros really matter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bolied_egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WARWICHSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is excellent and me and my family have been 4 times, it is great for families or couples, children or adults! The waiters are funny and helpful but it's not the same without 'Gino'- the previous head bar man and 'Gennaro'- one of the entertaining waiters! I love going to this hotel because it just reminds me of brilliant, old memories! The location is in just the right spot because its near the town and just opposite the lemon gardens. We are definitely coming back again and i think everyone should be able to enjoy this experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wawickshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

4th time there and still amazing although Gennaro and Gino have gone, what a shame it is not the same without them miss them a lot.Gennaro was loved by all and Gino was a friendly and great bar man.Our room was great as always and so was the food, the staff are lovely and great location and close to the town, defiantly coming back again loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing