We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel was recommended to us, & we were very impressed. Our spotless room overlooked the Bay of Naples & Vesuvius. This side of the hotel faces north, so there is little direct sunshine. However there is a roof terrace,with pool & bar, where you can sunbathe. There is also an outside pool on the ground floor.The food is very good, with plenty of choice. The service in the bar & restaurant is second to none. All staff we met were friendly & helpful, & spoke some English. Enzo & Carmine run a great restaurant, & treat everybody as a friend rather than as a guest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDNorthantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,424 - 1,430 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon in september 2012 and stayed for 11 day. And it was fantastic. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are large, comfortable, decorated in a modern classic style. All have a balcony with either a sea view or a view of the back of the hotel over the garden towards the hills. The ground floor has the bar, indoor restaurant, garden access with out side restaurant and access to the ground floor pool (which is large and clean but we like the roof top pool more because of the amazing view and roof top bar).
We were staying on a half board basis. The breakfast in the morning was great. A huge buffet style with everything from toast, cakes, cereal, fresh fruit, meats, and hot breakfast. The evening meals were something else. It was all silver service with a selection of 6 starter from fruit juice, anti paster, stuffed pasta, and filled pasta. 6 main meals of different meats, fishes, and stuffed cheeses. And then a selection of dessert to choice from. My favourite meal was tortillini filled with cheese, ham and mushrooms, followed by sea bass in a lemon sauce. And for dessert a lemon sponge cake. They also had a grand buffet of all italian food every tuesday night which was amazing and a sorrento night with live entertainment. We also ate during the day at the hotel and thats just as good as night time.
The staff are wonderful, some real characters. And they always make a point of shaking your hand, asking you bout your day and chatting with you. And every single one go above and beyond to make everything perfect for you.
The hotels location is fantastic. Its on a side street so there is hardly any traffic noise. Its 5 minute walk to the bus station. And 6 minute walk to the main square along the main road which is left them left again out the hotel. You also pass the train station on your way to the main square. The hotels location is just fantastic and makes it a great bass for exploring.
This hotel is perfect for anyone going for the first time who wants a little luxury as well as a good location. Its well worth the price and and its that good we have already booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We thought that the room, and the hotel in general, was comfortable and very well maintained.
The customer service was very good, especially in the restaurant, where breakfast and dinner were excellent. We had a spectacular view from our balcony.
The hotel is situated less than 10 minutes walk from the station (train and bus), and 15 minutes walk from the town centre, so it is very convenient for both local and regional exploring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a wonderful view of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Visited this delightful hotel 24 September 2012 for 1 week.
The whole experience was a delight. The hotel was smart , clean and well run. Rooms beautifully kept and attended to on a daily basis. Food excellent with great choice at all meals and all the restaurant staff under Enzo were efficient, friendly, smart and great fun. Will we go there again - you bet we will! The Harrisons & The Baxters.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markfharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Was a decent hotel, truth be told, not quite as good as I'd hoped, but it was our honeymoon, so I was kinda hoping for the earth! Our first room was utterly horrible, very small, very little natural light and my new wife was left in tears. After asking at the desk and pointing out (as our agent had told us he had done) that it was our honeymoon, we were moved to a much better room and provided with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco as an apology (even though it was our agents fault the hotel had not been informed). The evening meal was passable, but to be honest, the difference in price was minimal and we ate out at any one of the numerous outstanding restaurants in Sorrento. The breakfasts were buffet style and well stocked - something for everyone! I cannot praise the staff highly enough, they were utterly outstanding and simply could not do enough for us, from the lad who looked after the terrace pool and bar the the guys who looked after the main bar and the maitre'd who made it his personal mission to ensure he knew every guests name within 24hrs of arrival, their reason for visit and his endless stories! Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you're not happy with the room on arrival, do ask to move. Ask for a room not overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aguynameddarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Booked this hotel at short notice. It was on a half board basis. Past experiences of other hotels meant my expectations were not high. I was pleasantly surprised. The food was as good as I get at 4 star Italian restaurants in London, they were kind enough to tell me how to cook some of the dishes when back home. We never ate out, and that's a first! When you are given a faultless consume or a pasta with an excellent sea food sauce, or a creme anglais with a nocino dressing (when out and purchased a bottle of the walnut liquore to try it at home) why wander out for a pizza?The rooms were spotless and service whether at reception or in the bar was always good. It may not suit younger holiday makers but if you want a place to stay with excellent views and the service associated with the grander style of hotels this is the place to go. Excellent

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Akinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Relatives from the UK had recommended Hotel De La Ville to us and their recommendation was spot-on. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the hotel immensely. Our room was a third floor balcony -- beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and balcony view to die for overlooking the Gulf of Naples ant Mt. Vesuvius. Every staff member is exceptionally personable, courteous, and enthusiastic. The dining room staff from the maitre 'd to table service staff go out of their way to greet by name, chat with and enthusiastically serve the guests with crisp efficiency. The reception staff went out of their way to answer our many touring questions and to offer excellent advice and service. Breakfasts are superb and dinner was excellent. The location is excellent for the train and bus stations and just a short walk to the main square. Staying here was a wonderful experience in every respect.

Room Tip: Splurge for a higher floor room with balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#62 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £116 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing