We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel de la Ville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
1 review
“Grand Hotel de la Ville”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Spent an excellent week at the Grand Hotel de la Ville. The hotel is elegantly classic in style, spotlessly clean and many rooms have superb views straight over the Bay of Naples. Our room was spacious and well furnished, with plenty of storage and a comfortable bed. There was even a British type electric socket as well as the Contnental style.
The food was of a very high quality and the only difficulty was deciding what to choose from the ever-changing menu. We were extremely pleased with the staff in the restaurant. Not only were they efficient but they were also unfailingly cheerful and pleasant.
An added bonus was that you could walk through an orange and lemon grove into the centre of town and also buy a bottle of limoncello on the way!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The best views are from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerwilliams408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear customer,
We can't but thank you for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville and we are deeply touched by your review so Thank you!
A review like yours can only prompt us to keep doing a better job so our guests can continue to experience the most pleasurable and comfortable stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,806
    453
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
503
1,409
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thorrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed two weeks 10-24 Sept 12 with my wife and friends. Room 112/114 This was our 4th trip trip Sorrento and the first at this Hotel. Although I must say that there was nothing wrong with the previous Hotels we had stayed at this was the best to date. The rooms were clean light and airy, well decorated and a good size. The food was superb and the wine list extensive, (even the house red was very drinkable) Enzo and the staff could not be more helpful. I can only assume that anyone who criticized the food can not like Italian eating, the fresh pasta of the day was melt in the mouth, and if I could make a fresh cherry tomato sauce like that I would be a happy man. When on two occasions I was not that keen on the dish I was offered another! can't get better than that.
All of the staff were very helpful, the receptionists were multilingual and when we did have a small problem in our room the maintenance man was there in a flash, very good.
As has been said before the Hotel is in a good central position, although not right on the coast you can use the beach at the sister Hotel {The Royal, not actually a beach but a deck and patio at the bottom of the cliff overlooking the Harbor, has a lift, bar and snacks, although we went back to the Ville for lunch } 2 mins walk, that is nice if you get time with so much to do and see. Tasso square 7 mins walk.
We had a car for a few days, the Hotel valet parked it for us and were always very quick the get it when we required it. (16 euros a night charge)
There was some entertainment at night sometimes in the garden,and on the roof we enjoyed the roof, that was nice.
When we return we will stay here again. Tip if you want your red wine at room temperature order it in advance as it sometimes comes out very cold.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel during your last visit in Sorrento
We are really touched by your comments and it was our absolute pleasure having you here and getting to know you and your friends. As you mentioned, one of our special aspects is our position, a quite walk to the centre but without renouncing at the amazing view of the Bay of Naples.
We have extended your remarks to our staff members and they all send their warmest regards
We are waiting for you again here at De Le Ville, ready to make you enjoy our chef’s specialities.

Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel was recommended to us, & we were very impressed. Our spotless room overlooked the Bay of Naples & Vesuvius. This side of the hotel faces north, so there is little direct sunshine. However there is a roof terrace,with pool & bar, where you can sunbathe. There is also an outside pool on the ground floor.The food is very good, with plenty of choice. The service in the bar & restaurant is second to none. All staff we met were friendly & helpful, & spoke some English. Enzo & Carmine run a great restaurant, & treat everybody as a friend rather than as a guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDNorthantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon in september 2012 and stayed for 11 day. And it was fantastic. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are large, comfortable, decorated in a modern classic style. All have a balcony with either a sea view or a view of the back of the hotel over the garden towards the hills. The ground floor has the bar, indoor restaurant, garden access with out side restaurant and access to the ground floor pool (which is large and clean but we like the roof top pool more because of the amazing view and roof top bar).
We were staying on a half board basis. The breakfast in the morning was great. A huge buffet style with everything from toast, cakes, cereal, fresh fruit, meats, and hot breakfast. The evening meals were something else. It was all silver service with a selection of 6 starter from fruit juice, anti paster, stuffed pasta, and filled pasta. 6 main meals of different meats, fishes, and stuffed cheeses. And then a selection of dessert to choice from. My favourite meal was tortillini filled with cheese, ham and mushrooms, followed by sea bass in a lemon sauce. And for dessert a lemon sponge cake. They also had a grand buffet of all italian food every tuesday night which was amazing and a sorrento night with live entertainment. We also ate during the day at the hotel and thats just as good as night time.
The staff are wonderful, some real characters. And they always make a point of shaking your hand, asking you bout your day and chatting with you. And every single one go above and beyond to make everything perfect for you.
The hotels location is fantastic. Its on a side street so there is hardly any traffic noise. Its 5 minute walk to the bus station. And 6 minute walk to the main square along the main road which is left them left again out the hotel. You also pass the train station on your way to the main square. The hotels location is just fantastic and makes it a great bass for exploring.
This hotel is perfect for anyone going for the first time who wants a little luxury as well as a good location. Its well worth the price and and its that good we have already booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We thought that the room, and the hotel in general, was comfortable and very well maintained.
The customer service was very good, especially in the restaurant, where breakfast and dinner were excellent. We had a spectacular view from our balcony.
The hotel is situated less than 10 minutes walk from the station (train and bus), and 15 minutes walk from the town centre, so it is very convenient for both local and regional exploring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a wonderful view of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Visited this delightful hotel 24 September 2012 for 1 week.
The whole experience was a delight. The hotel was smart , clean and well run. Rooms beautifully kept and attended to on a daily basis. Food excellent with great choice at all meals and all the restaurant staff under Enzo were efficient, friendly, smart and great fun. Will we go there again - you bet we will! The Harrisons & The Baxters.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markfharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Was a decent hotel, truth be told, not quite as good as I'd hoped, but it was our honeymoon, so I was kinda hoping for the earth! Our first room was utterly horrible, very small, very little natural light and my new wife was left in tears. After asking at the desk and pointing out (as our agent had told us he had done) that it was our honeymoon, we were moved to a much better room and provided with a complimentary bottle of Prosecco as an apology (even though it was our agents fault the hotel had not been informed). The evening meal was passable, but to be honest, the difference in price was minimal and we ate out at any one of the numerous outstanding restaurants in Sorrento. The breakfasts were buffet style and well stocked - something for everyone! I cannot praise the staff highly enough, they were utterly outstanding and simply could not do enough for us, from the lad who looked after the terrace pool and bar the the guys who looked after the main bar and the maitre'd who made it his personal mission to ensure he knew every guests name within 24hrs of arrival, their reason for visit and his endless stories! Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you're not happy with the room on arrival, do ask to move. Ask for a room not overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aguynameddarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing