We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We chose this place because it had decent sized rooms with balconies, a roof-top swimming pool, views over the bay and was close to Sorrento centre without risking being too noisy. We weren't disappointed.
Driving there from Naples was an adventure (driving anywhere in Italy is an adventure) but the Nokia maps got us there and we dumped the car outside and went in to reception. very friendly staff inc the porter who parked the car in the underground park.
Good room for the money (mid-priced double with balcony & sea view). we had a bottle of champers and gazed over the lemon groves to the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.
Breakfast was always good in the vine clad courtyard (you can eat inside if you want) with very friendly and professional service.
We spent most days either exploring the town (10 min walk) or the Almalfi coast (short drive). Typically we'd then spend some time in/by the pool (no kids!) then head into town for dinner - plenty of good restaurants.
We had no problems at all with the hotel and would be very happy to stay there again.
Definately recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies, the ones in the front have good views and plenty of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,757
    438
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
495
1,369
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is in two parts:

1/ Hotel De La Ville :
We had a wonderful week here, food was lovely and the staff most helpful. Central location great as could walk to the train station with the children and travel to Pompeii and Herculaneum without needing to book excursions. We all loved it.

2/ Thomson : The website was deceptive and we paid luggage charges in error. They refused to refund these for no good reason. The one excursion we booked with them was a disaster. They did not pick us up and when we called them the agent sent us on another excursion - which we abandoned when we found out they were trying to put us on the wrong boat. I advise avoiding Thomson altogether and booking instead directly with the hotel, Expedia or similar. It was easy to organise excursions and boat trips ourselves with the advice of hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fourhighbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our group of six arrived on foot from the train station at night. The walk was fairly easy even with (rolling) luggage and we felt perfectly safe walking through town. Lucio was waiting for us behind the front desk and gave us a very enthusiastic and warm welcome. The location of the hotel was excellent for exploring the town (shopping, eating and swimming). The breakfast selection was huge and eating outside on the patio was a beautiful location. We were able to visit the sister hotel just two blocks away to swim in the ocean. The only dissapointment was the double bed which was just two singles pushed together.

Room Tip: One of two rooms on the top floor had a view of local apartments. The room on the second floor righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJTraveler727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

A fab holiday! Great food with a real Italian authenticity, clean and tidy bedrooms, calm and relaxing pool side with plenty of sun and the staff were exceptional. I wouldn't change a thing. Also, so many astonishing places are so close by. For example, Mount Vesuvius, Pompeii, Naples, Isle of Capri and so much more. I would highly recommend!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Harvey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We spent a week in the Grand Hotel de la Ville in October. Our room was large and very well appointed, with a lovely view of the Bay of Naples. The hotel is ideally located, with easy access to the centre of town and the harbour. We were very impressed by the friendly service of the hotel, particularly in the dining areas - the garden was a delightful spot for dinner. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SeasonedTravellers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool Lancashire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The Grand Hotel de la Ville is a good choice for Sorrento, Set back from the sea by a few hundred metres but sufficiently elevated to give spectacular views over The Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. We strongly advise booking a room at the front of the hotel (well worth the extra) otherwise this incredible scenery will be replaced by a block of flats. The Hotel is situated in a quiet area about 10 minutes stroll from the main square, The standard of accommodation is excellent. Rooms are spotless, roomy and retain a lovely traditional Italian theme, Food here is exceptional; the breakfast is an extensive choice of hot and cold buffet. The staff are without question first class and so obviously enjoy their work.

Must do trips should include The Amalfi Coast down to Amalfi Town, Isle of Capri, Herculaneum and Pompeii. We hired a car at Naples Airport; very convenient but if you're new to these parts be warned Italian drivers are insane. Make sure you cover your insurance excess.

Sorrento itself is a beautiful town packed with vibrant bars and restaurants, many with amazing views over the Bay of Naples. You will need a healthy credit card though; prices are not cheap. On the Isle of Capri 2 large beers costs 18 euros.

In summary this hotel is good and we would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Must must get a sea view room on the highest level available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel De La Ville in October 2012 as a party of 6 friends. Our room was very comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food in the restaurant was delicious. The choices available sometimes made it hard to decide what to have. Enzio and his staff were very friendly to the 'Super Six' and always had our table ready and waiting for us.One word of advice, don't eat too much on the day of the Grand Buffet - it is spectacular!!

Room Tip: Choose garden view rooms for peace and quiet and sea view rooms if you don't mind a little traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NannyRo8123419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing