We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Grand De La Ville in Sorrento with my partner and daughter last August 2012.
After a long flight and a hot day we were greeted and welcomed by really friendly staff. We had a balcony room overlooking the Bay the view was amazing. The hotel is very clean and the views from the rooftop bar and pool are spectacular day or night. The hotel is only a short walk from the main area of Sorrento. Breakfast and lunch is not to be missed the food is very good and the staff are warm and friendly. Will definately return to Hotel Grand De La Ville.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the Hotel from the 3rd floor up that way you can take in the breathta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Visited Sorrento for five days in May with my mother and daughter. The hotel was very central, short walk to nearby restaurants and shops. The hotel was spotless, we had a lovely room looking out on the gardens, with lots of orange and lemon trees. We were very pleased with our choice of hotel. There was a roof top pool which had lovely views, sun loungers and a little bar, and there was another pool in a little shaded area. There was a wonderful breakfast each morning, all sorts of meats, breads, yogurts, bacon, eggs, a very wide selection of all sorts. The reception staff were helpful, giving us advice on planning our trips to Capri, Amalfi Coast and Pompeii, with train and bus timetables. Just one thing to note if you to visit Sorrento, the bus trip to Amalfi coast is not for the faint hearted, we got return tickets but came back by boat (less scary), but definitely do visit this beautiful place.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
6  Thank Dothawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

After selecting this hotel from Thomson Travel I was, as always, a little apprehensive about what we would actually get. Fear not. This is without doubt a beautiful hotel. We were given a top floor corner room overlooking the bay of Naples (from the balcony) which was actually better than a front facing room on the top floor as the balcony of these rooms are overlooked from the roof terrace along with the inevitable noise of the rooftop swimming pool. The room itself was clean, very nice with traditional inlaid wood furniture, and a good size bathroom. My only gripe of the whole holiday, was the air conditioning unit was a bit noisy, and I thought at first there was a noisy diesel truck on the road below. But after contacting reception, they fixed it by the time we got back from a day out. Food from the restaurant was first class, and made that much better by the fabulous Enzo and his great team. The courtyard garden was lovely, restful and quite, with pagodas covered with lemon. We preferred to have lunch here rather than in Sorrento.

You can walk into Sorrento within a few minutes along the main road, but after discovering it the second day, we always walked through the lemon grove whose gates are at the end of the road turning left from the hotel.

Would I recommend? Absolutely.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view, then the top floor will be the best. However, a word of warning. The roofto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clivexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a well placed hotel for the centre of Sorrento and is also within close proximity to the train station for those trips to Pompeii / herculaneum etc.. and not far from the port for that must-do trip to Capri. The staff are friendly and helpful, there was a good selection of food available and the room we stayed in was large and well maintained with a magnificent view of Vesuvius. Thoroughly enjoyable stay at a fabulous place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here last Easter and had a fantastic time. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and there were staff on hand to greet us and show us to our room. Everyone was very friendly, helpful and accommodating and made you feel very special. We had a room with a view of Vesuvius and Naples and all for just 17p extra per night! We also ate in the main hotel restaurant on our last night and the food and wine were delicious. We would definitely stay here again and happily recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Sdunn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We chose this place because it had decent sized rooms with balconies, a roof-top swimming pool, views over the bay and was close to Sorrento centre without risking being too noisy. We weren't disappointed.
Driving there from Naples was an adventure (driving anywhere in Italy is an adventure) but the Nokia maps got us there and we dumped the car outside and went in to reception. very friendly staff inc the porter who parked the car in the underground park.
Good room for the money (mid-priced double with balcony & sea view). we had a bottle of champers and gazed over the lemon groves to the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.
Breakfast was always good in the vine clad courtyard (you can eat inside if you want) with very friendly and professional service.
We spent most days either exploring the town (10 min walk) or the Almalfi coast (short drive). Typically we'd then spend some time in/by the pool (no kids!) then head into town for dinner - plenty of good restaurants.
We had no problems at all with the hotel and would be very happy to stay there again.
Definately recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies, the ones in the front have good views and plenty of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is in two parts:

1/ Hotel De La Ville :
We had a wonderful week here, food was lovely and the staff most helpful. Central location great as could walk to the train station with the children and travel to Pompeii and Herculaneum without needing to book excursions. We all loved it.

2/ Thomson : The website was deceptive and we paid luggage charges in error. They refused to refund these for no good reason. The one excursion we booked with them was a disaster. They did not pick us up and when we called them the agent sent us on another excursion - which we abandoned when we found out they were trying to put us on the wrong boat. I advise avoiding Thomson altogether and booking instead directly with the hotel, Expedia or similar. It was easy to organise excursions and boat trips ourselves with the advice of hotel staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fourhighbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £117 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing