We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$492
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$495
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$885
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$723
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,000
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$586
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$513
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$505
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,626)
Filter reviews
2,626 results
Traveller rating
1,980
495
112
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,980
495
112
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolsister hotelbay of napleslarger poolsea viewthe ground floorrestaurant stafflovely hotelreception staffhalf boardwine waiterlemon grovetrain stationorange treesthe main squareevening mealtown centre
Filter
Updating list...
1,148 - 1,153 of 2,626 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The rooms were magnificent, with the most beautiful furniture, and the views were incredible. The pool was fantastic, with poolside service, and towels. It was never crowded, and the dining room had beautiful views as well. The breakfast buffet was the best in all of Italy!! Walking distance to everything. You will not be disappointed. Room very clean, internet works great, and bathrooms good size, and beautiful. Large sized rooms. A/C worked great as well. No negatives here. Very pleased and we will be staying here again in the future. We did not eat dinner here so I am unsure how it is. The front desk was very attentive and professional. A little expensive but well worth it. It was the end of our rip in EUrope so we wanted to have it extra special. My daughter, who is 17, and I stayed here so for family activities, I only know about the swimming.

Room Tip: we stayed on the street side to save a little money, but we were able to see the views at the outdoor dining as well as the pool and walking around the grounds. All rooms are beautiful and have balconies
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Direttore at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write this lovely review.

We are very pleased to know that you have had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our services. Thank you also for the description of our facilities, from the breakfast service till to the Internet access. We always put all our attentions in guest’s need, to make everything work in right way, and it is very important for us the opinion of our guest to improve and make it always better.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel De La Ville.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent a week at this hotel in September. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable and we had a great view of Vesuvius from our balcony - 3rd floor.
We stayed on a half-board basis. The food was unfailingly excellent.
One of the best things about this hotel is the quality and dedication of the staff. They all took a great pride in their job and did their best to make guests feel welcome.
I liked I the decor in this hotel. It may not be in the current style - but then you can get that anywhere. Give me faded elegance anytime!
I would love to return.

Room Tip: The view from room 307 was great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank midge1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Direttore at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear guest,
We’re so happy to hear you find our hotel excellent and many thanks for having trust us by choosing Grand Hotel De La Ville as the place you spent you holidays.

It’s delighting that you enjoyed the food here at the restaurant and also the service.
And it’s also wonderful that you had a great impression on the whole Staff.
Finally thank you for posting this nice review that really makes us proud of our staff even more than we already were,

Waiting for you to come back here in Sorrento
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We recently spent a week in Sorrento to see Vesuvius, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum etc and we chose the De La Ville due to its proximity to the railway station and the marina.
The rooms were great, beds comfortable, nice bathrooms etc, a little tired decor-wise (although personally I can't abide shower curtains, it was ok for a week) but perfectly ok. Being in town and off the main road through Sorrento, it was quieter, but still a lot of typical Italian moped and car horn noise, but that's Italy!
The restaurant could not be faulted, both for breakfast choice, dinner cuisine and excellent service - Enzo and his team are the stars here. We had breakfast in the gardens and altogether a marvellous experience.

On a slight negative note, the maids do start early and with tiled floors, the noise from them moving furniture around got a bit tiresome as it reverberates through walls and floor, but it didn't pose a problem for us as we were up and out early the see the sights.

One thing when booking though - if you want a clear uninterrupted view of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples, you need to book rooms on at least floors 3 and above. We thought we had booked rooms which had great views as per the brochure (Thomas Cook) but there is an extra charge for the upper rooms with a proper sea view. My wife was very disappointed as we paid a supplement for this as it was our wedding anniversary, but not the higher supplement, so we were on the 1st floor and we could just make out Vesuvius through the trees.

The rooftop terrace and pool does have fantastic views over the Bay and is a great place for a drink and swim, but the bar closes quite early...

All in all, we would recommend the hotel as a base for exploring this part of Campania - the staff really make it a special stay and its only a short walk to Sorrento town (gelato!!!) , the railway and there is a supermarket nearby for bottled water supplies etc.

Room Tip: If you want a good view over the Bay, book a room on floors 3 and above
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ragspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Direttore at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dera Guest,


Thank you for this detailed and nice review and for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville. Tradition and professionalism are the secret of our Hotel. All of us try to make comfortable and memorable as much as possible the stay with us also offering the nice atmosphere of our Roof Terrace and Dining service, amongst the best offered in the area.

Your description of our pools area and exactly what we try to create: The Roof pool to refresh moments while sunbathing in a wonderful atmosphere that only the Bay of Naples can create, and the Garden area to enjoy breakfast surrounded by lemon and orange groves.

The Hotel’s position, 5 min walking from the main square and from the train and bus station, 20 min from the harbour, offers the opportunity to move easily among the Amalfi Coast to visiting our beautiful land.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sorrento, we send all our regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at Grand Hotel De La Ville for three nights in the beginning November. Our room had a view of Mount Vesuvius. The room was very clean, spacious and the bathroom was in good condition.
The breakfast was nice and the garden beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We used both outdoor pools. The pools are not heated, so the water was quite cold during our stay. However, our kids enjoyed swimming despite the coldness. I suspect that during the summertime the pools can get crowded as they are fairly small.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EL681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Direttore at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this review and for all the nice words about our Grand Hotel De la Ville .

We’re highly pleased you enjoyed your stay here that much and it’s wonderful you found our Staff welcoming and helpful that make your holiday more enjoyable, pleasant and relaxing.
Thank you for recommending us and for the description of our facilieties.

Waiting for you to come back in Sorrento to enjoy another fantastic holiday ,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the hotel De La Ville for seven nights end of Sept early October. Let's deal with the negatives first. Yes, the room decor complete with shower curtain (Yuk) in the bathroom, the hotel interior etc. when compared to any modern city hotel of the same star rating looks a bit tired. The positives, great position short stroll through a charming lemon grove into town, relaxed unpretentious atmosphere, wonderful staff who provide great service throughout the hotel, restaurant staff from top to bottom all seem to be of a high calibre and take great pride in their profession. What can I say, other than I'm so glad that we opted to go half board as I can't recall a single meal that I didn't thoroughly enjoy. As for Sorrento, like the Hotel De La Ville to me it had the feel of being transported back to the late sixties early seventies Italy, even more so for my wife who stayed there in the early seventies and hardly noticed any changes. Yes it's manic in Tasso Square and on the train to Pompeii but I loved it and would love to go back next year. Would I stay at the Hotel De La Ville? Absolutely, as I'm very partial to great service and all the wonderful things about the Hotel De La Ville that more than offset the plastic shower curtains!

Room Tip: For us it was worth spending the extra for room with a view and what a view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Direttore at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your warm and generous review.

We can't be happier to know that your stay with us was fully satisfying and we can not thank you enough for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville. This let us feel proud of our work and efforts, also because of your experience in travel and hotels.

Sorrento is one of the most popular destination in Italy, and here at De La Ville we are ready to work and do all our best to not disappointing the expectation of our guest.
Is since 1861 that we dedicated to hospitality and we always take care of all our guests and try to keep our standards high, as per expectations for a first class hotel but in a warm and friendly atmosphere.
That’s why we choose only the best products of our land well cooked from our Chefs, served in Dining room with our professionalism and friendliness at you disposal.

We look forward to having you among us again in the near future.

Sincerely and Warm Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews